Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sampler of HSTs writing at its drug fuelled best
Screwjack is collection of three very short pieces of Hunter S. Thompsons prose. The first, 'Mescalito,' is a typical description of a HST mescaline powered bender written at his free flowing best. The second and third, 'Death of a Poet' and 'Screwjack' are even shorter writings of HST conversations with companions.
Screwjack is definitely of interest to HST...
Published on 16 Jan 2001

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A nice-to-have only
The stories are interesting, enjoyable and written in that style that we know and love, but still, it's hard to justify recommending this.
Mescalito clearly inspired the hotel room carnage in Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas and as such provides an interesting reference for the fans. Screwjack and Death of a Poet are even further off the wall than Thompsons usual...
Published on 30 Sep 2002 by simhartley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A nice-to-have only, 30 Sep 2002
This review is from: "Screwjack" and Other Stories (Hardcover)
The stories are interesting, enjoyable and written in that style that we know and love, but still, it's hard to justify recommending this.
Mescalito clearly inspired the hotel room carnage in Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas and as such provides an interesting reference for the fans. Screwjack and Death of a Poet are even further off the wall than Thompsons usual (unusual?) offerings, pleasingly sick and great for freaking out your work colleagues when they ask what you are reading. Enjoyable as these all are, 40 pages of large type for...[the price]is pretty steep, why haven't these been pasted into one of HST's longer compendia?
For the die-hards only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sampler of HSTs writing at its drug fuelled best, 16 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: "Screwjack" and Other Stories (Hardcover)
Screwjack is collection of three very short pieces of Hunter S. Thompsons prose. The first, 'Mescalito,' is a typical description of a HST mescaline powered bender written at his free flowing best. The second and third, 'Death of a Poet' and 'Screwjack' are even shorter writings of HST conversations with companions.
Screwjack is definitely of interest to HST fanatics to complete their collection. Newcomers to the Gonzo style would be more advised to try the good Doctors other books first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fear all, Who enter here !!, 18 Oct 2004
This review is from: "Screwjack" and Other Stories (Hardcover)
Well Mahalo,
This was written as a bit fun. And up until now there have only been 300 private press's made of this little gem. It has to be the most funked up bunch of short stories I have ever had the pleasure to spend my time reading.
It seems the good Doctor has gone completly sideways with this one... Truely bizarre! From Mescaline (Mescalito) to Domestic Violence (Death of a Poet) to Beastiality (Screwjack). It get's it all in in less than 60 pages.
If your out there looking for a ripping yarn like Fear and Loathing and know nothing of Hunter S. Thompson.. This book isn't for you! But if like me you are a fan of the Dr of Journalism this has to be featured in your collection so you can bring it out on special occasions just to shock you square friends when the start talking about classic literature..
Certainly makes you wanna go out and gobble up and shed load of Acid and Mescaline all at once and reap the consciquences..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Useful, But not stand-alone stuff, 3 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Screwjack (Paperback)
Well, before concurring with much of the previous reviewer's comments about length and content, I must admit that Hunter is still Hunter, and however small a volume, his stories are always a great read. Particular interest lies with looking at how his writing style developed from these early works to his much lauded 'Gonzo' of later years. They also stand as a good guide for beginning short-story writers.
But of course this whole book does feel like it could be a single chapter of one of his later works. I wouldn't mind this except for the fact that I bought it for roughly the same price that I bought 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' on Amazon.
Adding to the disappointment was that the physical book has a tacky feel to it, as if it were designed for Thompson fan-boys who feel like they only need his picture to understand the man. For the price/size ratio, I'd have expected something a little more genuine.
I don't regret purchasing this book, but there's nothing in here that one couldn't gain from dipping into his novels or reading from his article collections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fair assessment, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Screwjack (Paperback)
You can read this short book in one sitting. Nothing of the stories stayed with me. Not to say it wasn't a decent read, but depth isn't the nature of a journalist. Of course HST gets deep, but he's still just a journalist scratching around at the bottom of the murk. "And a thousand thousand slimy things lived on, and so did I." He seemed armour-plated and strangely immune, so like Hemingway he went out and hunted big game. Only when he thought he was scalping the American Dream, he was upholding it: the perfect con-trick of a dream. Tenderness and sentimentality are just targets he would've shot in his backyard. He's probably a hero to an army of flag-waving jackasses without much critical faculty. Generally what he's selling I don't want; I just have no use for it. It's a shame because the man could write.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous insight into the mind of Hunter S Thompson, 24 Nov 2011
This review is from: Screwjack (Paperback)
This short collection of 3 stories by Hunter S Thompson is a must read however I would suggest for his fans only. You can literally read from front cover to back cover in 20 mins. Moving, disturbing and thought provoking! However I do feel the item is a little pricey for the amount of content and compared to the price of full length Thompson books that you can buy new on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hard to justify the price., 7 Oct 2010
This review is from: Screwjack (Paperback)
If this was a review of the stories, I would give this 5 stars straight away, however, since this is a product review, I must take into account the product in general as well. The stories are brilliant, and if you like Hunter S. Thompson, I'm sure you will like these (though, the latter two stories are weird in a different way to the writings of Thompson I have read before, they made me feel a little uncomfortable, though still brilliant). The book is also quite nice, a nice softcover book, with pleasing cover art, and decent quality construction. However, my qualm comes with the fact that this book is 64 pages long, with only approximately 40 pages of actual writing, and extremely large print, if in normal sized print, with less blank pages etc, I believe this could probably be a 20-30-ish page book, and it still costs around 5. If money is no object, buy this book, though if not, I may perhaps recommend waiting a while until it (hopefully) reduces in price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Short & Very Sweet, 1 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: "Screwjack" and Other Stories (Hardcover)
An absolute gem of a book that takes you right inside the mind of this true legend, just a shame it takes 5 minutes to read the whole book.

A must for collectors of Thompsons Books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Diluting the Legend, 18 May 2010
By 
Bukowski (Worcester UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Screwjack (Paperback)
I was looking forward to this, but less than 60 pages of LARGE print barely lasted a large slug of bourbon and beer chaser. Three very average short stories cobbled together in a flimsy little book. A rip-off considering what is available on other HST collections. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Present, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Screwjack (Paperback)
My son enjoyed it, as a fan of Hunter J Thompson, I wasn't surprised. Arrived very quickly, before due date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

"Screwjack" and Other Stories
"Screwjack" and Other Stories by Hunter S. Thompson (Hardcover - 1 Nov 2000)
8.83
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews