Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Book of Spells - Spellbinding!
This book is beautifully put together, from content to cover - just looking at the silver writing inscribed on the black, & untying the ribbon puts you in the mood for mystery & magick! De Pulford has presented this collection of spells from around the world, & interspersed it with facts, history & other related things, as well as dividing it all into nice, neat little...
Published on 14 April 2003 by mabontitania

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Been on my shelf for many years
I bought this book when I was just 14 years old, and while I look back on it today as more of a 'fun' collection of of spells with candles and meditation, it truly is a beautiful looking book, tied with ribbon and gorgeously illustrated.
Not for the serious witch.
Published on 4 May 2010 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Book of Spells - Spellbinding!, 14 April 2003
This review is from: The Book of Spells (Hardcover)
This book is beautifully put together, from content to cover - just looking at the silver writing inscribed on the black, & untying the ribbon puts you in the mood for mystery & magick! De Pulford has presented this collection of spells from around the world, & interspersed it with facts, history & other related things, as well as dividing it all into nice, neat little sections. She has included several spells which are in sealed sections with the warning that they are only to be used in an emergency. Of course, the reader is compelled to jump straight to these sections to see what they're all about, but that's part of the charm, isn't it? The spells are simple & fun to follow with almost all the ingredients readily available. In short, this book is essential for any Witch's bookshelf - if only to make it look more beautiful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Been on my shelf for many years, 4 May 2010
This review is from: The Book of Spells (Hardcover)
I bought this book when I was just 14 years old, and while I look back on it today as more of a 'fun' collection of of spells with candles and meditation, it truly is a beautiful looking book, tied with ribbon and gorgeously illustrated.
Not for the serious witch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Book of Spells, 14 Sep 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Book of Spells (Hardcover)
Although slightly childish and looks upon spells as more of a "fun activity" than a lifestyle, this is a simple book for people that need to practise magic for the odd bit of luck. Nicely laid out with some sealed spells for those emergency moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Spells (Hardcover)
good book can really learn and appreciate new books about different subject can not wait to try some of the spells
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 16 Jan 2014
By 
J. Moyr "MoonSpirit" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Spells (Hardcover)
I bought this and the Book of Spells 1 together and as I like the layout and the colours and almost "bohemian" feel to the book the spells require expensive equipment and does not seem to have an alternative for things - more of a how to book than a guidance...wouldn't recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A waste of time, 23 Feb 2008
By 
Althaea Medea (Lowestoft, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Book of Spells (Hardcover)
Really, it is a waste of your time and money. If you're truly interested in Spellcraft then there are far better books out there. The spells detailed are fairly standard. They usually require lots of items, which you then have to spend money on acquiring. I really don't see why anyone would pay for them (I was given the book as a gift), as one can find millions of others just like them, free online. The `emergency sealed spells' are pretty useless, because unless you know what's in them you don't know if they're going to be suitable for your needs. No serious magical practitioner would find this useful, or for that matter particularly entertaining. Besides, most serious practitioners write their own spells.

If you're just a dabbler and want a giggle it has lots of pretty pictures, looks good on a bookshelf and might keep you entertained for a bit. But seriously you can find better information elsewhere, on the Internet (where you can get it free), or in other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars but she loves it and I like it: ), 27 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Spells (Hardcover)
Some of the ingredients are not what you would have in the cupboard and it was only a small gift for my daughter so we inprovised and made our own potions rather than go out and buy the things needed. but she loves it and I like it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars airy fairy rubbish, 18 Nov 2001
This review is from: The Book of Spells (Hardcover)
This is wannablessedbe heaven! These daft little spells are perfect for a twelve year olds sleepover but no good for anything much else. Its far too dictatorial, Spellcraft is about spontaneity and freedom. And as for the sealed emergency spell section- HOW patronising? The readers and writer of this should get a grip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spells of the world, 9 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Book of Spells (Hardcover)
This book is great.I think it shows that the world of magic is real.A fantastic book for all ocultists!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Book of Spells - Nicola de Pulford, 22 May 2006
By 
Katrina Tori (S-O-T, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Book of Spells (Hardcover)
Looks nice on the bookshelf and is interesting to read about international customs, but not practical as it is difficult to obtain the some of the ingredients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Book of Spells
The Book of Spells by Nicola De Pulford (Hardcover - 1 Nov 1999)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews