Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Thesis Developed Oddly
Lorraine Evans gives us a fine view of some very stunning (but hypothetical) events from some 13 centuries before Christ; her development, while clear, has some peculiarities that keep the material more distant than necessary.
An example: Having established that the mythical "Scota" was based on the very historical Meritaten, eldest daughter of Akhenaten,...
Published on 23 April 2001

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars wishful thinking
After reading this book, I was reminded of an expression; "Knows enough to be dangerous." In her desperation to "prove" that the ancient britons, irish an scots (though the latter two are one and the same) are descended from Egyptians, the author turns to every possible discipline for evidence, however scant or vague.
She ignores or reinterpits...
Published on 19 July 2002 by Timothy McNamara


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Thesis Developed Oddly, 23 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Kingdom of the Ark: That Startling Story of How the Ancient British Race is Descended from the Pharaohs (Hardcover)
Lorraine Evans gives us a fine view of some very stunning (but hypothetical) events from some 13 centuries before Christ; her development, while clear, has some peculiarities that keep the material more distant than necessary.
An example: Having established that the mythical "Scota" was based on the very historical Meritaten, eldest daughter of Akhenaten, Evans continues to call her Scota. It makes us wonder whether Evans trusts her own research. Nor at any point does Evans evoke what Meritaten's voyage to the British Isles might have meant in cultural or religious terms. If this voyage was real, it would make Meritaten one of the most remarkable royals of the ancient world, far eclipsing Nefertiti and Cleopatra.
That said, the book soars when it gives us just the facts, maam, and Evan masterfully crafts her case so that, even those of us who were a bit hostile to the idea at first, are now convinced that something like Evans' scenario must be true. No small feat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 7 Feb 2003
By 
This review is from: Kingdom of the Ark: That Startling Story of How the Ancient British Race is Descended from the Pharaohs (Hardcover)
I was recommended this book by a friend who had heard about the ground breaking research of Miss Evans from his University. I have to admit I was a sceptic when I first began, after all Egyptians coming to Britain..what an absurd thought! However, Miss Evans presents the evidence in such a clear and concise manner that, at the end, you truly believe there is a case to answer. From the ancient Egyptian palaces at Thebes, along the amber trade routes of old Europe to the Ferriby boats in Yorkshire, Miss Evans successfully takes you on a journey of true academic proportions.
Unlike other book of a similar ilk, Miss Evans transends a numbers of disciplines, from her obvious archaeological expertise, to the latest DNA testing from Ireland whilst managing not to befuddle the reader with science. Whatever your own beliefs, I thoroughly recommend that every bookshelf should have a copy of Kingdom of the Ark glued to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Are you descended from the Pharaohs?, 3 Dec 2000
By 
E. G. Fishlock-Lomax "helenalomax" (Stratford-upon-Avon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kingdom of the Ark: That Startling Story of How the Ancient British Race is Descended from the Pharaohs (Hardcover)
Whether or not Meritaten escaped before the end of the Amarna Period (Ancient Egypt) does not affect the importance of this book which provides very strong evidence of Ancient Egyptian emigration to Europe and, eventually, to parts of Britain and Ireland.
The author is described as an Egyptologist but may not have endeared herself to others of her profession. Nevertheless it needs pointing out that academics live by their reputation and if they choose a "blind alley" they are liable to turn a "blind eye" to new evidence which contradicts their theories.
It is entirely plausible that highly placed Ancient Egyptians "saw trouble coming" and escaped. Egyptian boats were found near Hull. Faience in other British locations.
Are they YOUR distant relatives? Are you O blood group or does your DNA correlate with Tutankhamun's? Fascinating reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A hard subject to reasearch., 6 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Kingdom of the Ark: That Startling Story of How the Ancient British Race is Descended from the Pharaohs (Hardcover)
I think the author did well in reasearching this subject especially as there is so little to go on and most academics are not inclined to give of their true opinions for fear of ridicule by their peers and fellow colleagues. I first come across this train of thinking that the Egyptians sailed to Britain in the book by Keith Laidler called The Head of God. In it he mentions Princess Scoti, but more importantly and I am surprised that Lorrain Evans did not mention it, was the reference to the true Stone of Destiny i. e. the Gaythelos stone which was reputedly brought by Princess Scoti. this stone or throne would be a further link in the chain of evidence that was the main theme of this book. I wonder if the author knows of this, if so why did she not mention it as it would be further proof especially as it is supposedly inscribed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent......Excellent........Excellent!!!, 8 Feb 2004
This review is from: Kingdom of the Ark: That Startling Story of How the Ancient British Race is Descended from the Pharaohs (Hardcover)
Wow!!!! What an amazing read. Do not be put off by the sub-heading as Miss Evans presents a quite remarkable piece of research that will have you questioning all your preconceptions about ancient history. Backed up by the latest archaeological finds and genetic research, it is hard to find fault in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kingdom of the Ark, 29 Mar 2013
By 
J. R. Goddin (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom of the Ark: That Startling Story of How the Ancient British Race is Descended from the Pharaohs (Hardcover)
A brilliant insight into life in Egypt and some of the loose ends regarding Tara/Scota.
Disappointed that the Brythonic connections were not further discussed and particularly Ollamph Fodla.
Jeremy Goddin mab Gododdin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Egyptian influence on British Prehistory, 23 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom of the Ark: That Startling Story of How the Ancient British Race is Descended from the Pharaohs (Hardcover)
Lorraine Evans puts forward a very convincing case, based on archeology and document review, for contact between Ancient Egypt, Continental Europe, Britain, and Ireland. This book challenges conventional Eurocentric views of history. Here are some links: Egyptian Romany: The Essence of Hispania Exiled Egyptians: The Heart of Africa
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Linking the UK with the Akhenaton Legacy, 15 Oct 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom of the Ark: That Startling Story of How the Ancient British Race is Descended from the Pharaohs (Hardcover)
Being British and having personally developed a system of Egyptian Alchemy healing, I was delighted to learn that there may be evidence for the British being directly descended from, not just any Egyptian Pharaoh, but, Akhenaton himself! Akhenaton being the monotheistic Pharaoh most linked to the roots of Christianity. My work was inspired by an indigenous oral tradition wisdom keeper, called Hakim Awayan, who lived close to the Sphinx until he died in 2008. I think he would have been really fascinated by the subject matter in this book.

I've been most impressed by the arguments presented in this book, opening many other avenues to follow up myself based on correlating Lorraine's hypotheses and Hakim's tutelage. I'd recommend anyone with an interest in Egyptian (particularly Khemitian philosophies which outline the alternative history maintained from the oral traditionalists) or ancient British history, especially pre-Bronze Age, to give this book a read with an open mind! Hakim's major message to me was a strong warning "don't be fooled by history as presented by mainstream historians since the written records will always be biased in favour of the attitudes prevalent at the time they were written. Archeologists also tend to interpret their findings in the light of current understanding." I found it extremely refreshing to find Lorraine willing to start with a clean slate and then see what she could piece together herself, much of which is from data not previously analysed in a meaningful way. Collectively her evidence is pretty compelling and I think yet more corroborative evidence will be uncovered...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Challenging the establishment with style, 1 Mar 2004
In the "Kingdom of Ark" Lorraine Evans sets her case with such an ease and elegance that you cannot but congratulate her. Not only does she tell us a wonderful story of an Egyptian Princess that had to flee her country, but she challenges some established beliefs. Particularly worrying in her account is to find out how some of the academic circles were more than sceptic and downright negative towards her attempts to shake some cobwebs off "the historical facts" of the early history of Britain.
Although too often the recorded history has been at the mercy of "winners", isn't it time to view history as our common heritage and thus view all channels of information openly?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommend. Wonderful book about the history of Egypt., 20 Sep 2014
By 
D. Broome - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Love this book. I had not read or heard of Lorraine Evans before buying this book, so I had no idea if it would be good. I love her style of writing, she makes Egypt come alive. A lot of books on Egypt are written like encyclopedias, completely lacking in feeling for their history. Lorraine Evans does a brilliant job with this book, really draws you in and you appreciate the hard work she has done to bring you this info. I would def read/buy any other books she has written after this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kingdom of the Ark: That Startling Story of How the Ancient British Race is Descended from the Pharaohs
£17.06
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews