Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


118 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wisteria Lane meets Sex in the City
An amazingly yummy book, just oozing with all the 'bad' stuff - sugar,butter,cream...but oh so very yummy! Real recipes for real indulgence. An absolute must.There are also lovely homey annecdotes and very useful practical advice.All the recipes are easy to follow and work perfectly. You are guaranteed to receive lavish compliments.
The only very minor...
Published on 14 Feb 2006

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Magnolia Bakery Cookbook
OK, the actual recipes sound yummy but what a disappointing book. Often for such baking you need a photo so you can conjure up the image in your head as to how it is meant to turn out. There are a handful of colour photos in this book and even though I have the hard cover, it is a flimsy book. I would recommend instead the Humminbgird Bakery book (Magnolia's London...
Published on 25 Nov 2009 by Mr. G. Hewitt


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

118 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wisteria Lane meets Sex in the City, 14 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Magnolia Bakery Cookbook: Old-Fashioned Recipes from New York's Sweetest Bakery (Hardcover)
An amazingly yummy book, just oozing with all the 'bad' stuff - sugar,butter,cream...but oh so very yummy! Real recipes for real indulgence. An absolute must.There are also lovely homey annecdotes and very useful practical advice.All the recipes are easy to follow and work perfectly. You are guaranteed to receive lavish compliments.
The only very minor downside is the measuring system if you dont have US cups, but you can get a conversion chart off the net for accuracy. Equally corn syrup isnt easily available in the UK. It can be substituted with a sugar syrup made with 1-1/4 cups sugar and 1/3 cup water, boiled together until syrupy. If your recipe calls for dark corn syrup, add a dash of dark treacle to the basic sugar syrup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars magnolia bakery, 23 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Magnolia Bakery Cookbook: Old-Fashioned Recipes from New York's Sweetest Bakery (Hardcover)
I have had this book only a couple of weeks and i've already tried about five of the recipes. If you dont have any american measuring cups its worth buying a set just so you can use this book. I found the recipes very easy to follow, and the layout of the book old fashioned and charming. All of the recipes i tried worked out great, apart from one, and i think that was a botch on my part. I will most certainly consider buying another book by the same author. The only problem i had was finding 'corn syrup'in this country, which is included in a few of the recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Magnolia Bakery Recipe Book, 24 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Magnolia Bakery Cookbook: Old-Fashioned Recipes from New York's Sweetest Bakery (Hardcover)
This book gives a wonderful insight into old fashioned american baking. I find the american cup measuring system extremely easy to use. The recipes are almost foolproof and I haven't yet made anything from the book that has not been delicious. I would recommend this book to anyone who is interested in american style baking and particularly recommend you try the cupcakes, maple walnut cake, breakfast buns and orange vanilla chip cookies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HOW Sweet?!!!, 26 Aug 2007
By 
D. Robinson (Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Magnolia Bakery Cookbook: Old-Fashioned Recipes from New York's Sweetest Bakery (Hardcover)
I bought this book and the Buttercup Bake Shop one about 2 weeks ago but have only just got around to making things. I chose the Caramel Pecan Cheesecake and the Vanilla Birthday cake which you can use for fairy cakes or a big cake. I made fairy cakes.

The recipes are sooo easy to follow. I was a little confused with the cheesecake one tho', it says to leave the cheesecake to cool down for an hour in the oven, holding the door open with a wooden spoon, which I did, and then put it into the fridge for 12 hours.

I was always always told by my mum not to put food that's still warm in the fridge but I did it anyway with this Cheesecake because it didn't say otherwise, and it's turned out really well.

When I decided to make these things, I quickly checked up on my ingredients and went off and bought what I thought would surely be enough, based on British recipes you see, I honestly didn't think there would be that much diffence between the UK & US measurements. Turned out my estimate for the cream cheese was waaaaay off, I bought 3 200g tubs and in the end needed nearly 1kg and as for the icing on the fairy cakes,......HOW much?!!!,....I had a little bit left in the cupboard and thought I'd buy a 1kg bag of Icing sugar so I would have some left for future cakes.

After sitting down and working out how much 8 cups were, after I'd bought the sugar,......It worked out to be 1.8kg of Icing sugar!!!!!! I had to improvise and half the quantities and I'm glad I did. I made 23 fairy cakes and the halved icing (900g Icing Sugar, 110g Butter, 1/2 cup of milk, tspn Vanilla Essence)made enough to cover them twice over. Looking at the cakes now, it's at least 50/50 cake/Icing. Can you imagine what they'd have been like had I made the full amount?!

Overall, the books are fabulous, the recipes are so easy to follow and they are divine. The cakes taste lovely, properly American if you get me?

I would recommend them to anyone but personally I'll be keeping these recipes as special occassion jobbies!

Oh, and one other thing, get yourself a set of US measuring cups. I had to keep Delia's website up on the computer the whole time I was baking so I could convert!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bakery Book of Dreams, 4 Nov 2003
By 
Andres M. Weber (Boston, MA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Magnolia Bakery Cookbook: Old-Fashioned Recipes from New York's Sweetest Bakery (Hardcover)
I live in New York right down the street from the Magnolia Bakery and every time I select a recepie from the book, it has yielded delicious results. Just like the real thing, it's a great book to have for one of the best bakeries in the city! Highly reccomend the book and going to new york just to eat there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Bakery in New York, 11 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Magnolia Bakery Cookbook: Old-Fashioned Recipes from New York's Sweetest Bakery (Hardcover)
Magnolia Bakery has a cult following in New York. Ask anyone who lives in the Village - people flock to hang out at this delightful little bakery and eat cupcakes and other treats. The joy of being able to replicate their otherworldly hummingbird cake, or coconut cake, is worth the effort in translating the measurements...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive recipes that are simple to follow, 16 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Magnolia Bakery Cookbook: Old-Fashioned Recipes from New York's Sweetest Bakery (Hardcover)
I have really enjoyed using this book because the recipes are so simple to follow and the results are delicious! I've tried Chocolate Cookies with Heath Bars, Vanilla Chips and Pecans, the Peanut Butter Cookies, and the Fudge Brownies. So far, everything has turned out amazingly good. My colleagues at work say my goodies look like they've come right out of a cafe.
The only downside about the book is the amount of butter and sugar in the recipes. Yes, it tastes wonderfully yummy, but if you are on a diet, stay away from this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sugar,Sugar, Sugar., 9 April 2007
This review is from: The Magnolia Bakery Cookbook: Old-Fashioned Recipes from New York's Sweetest Bakery (Hardcover)
I purchased this book fairly recently. The Cake recipes sound just wonderful! I decided to make the Hummingbird Cake which was a 'breeze' I then turned to the Cream Cheese icing, which is described as not too sweet, perfect for the Hummingbird cake. Not too sweet, 5 cups of confectioners sugar (icing sugar) just for one 2 layer 9" Cake? I went ahead and made it anyway, sooo sweet, I was asked if I had poured condensed milk over the cake? Maybe I made a mistake. I followed instructions very carefully.

It may sound as though I'm being overly critical, I hope not.

I will try other recipes from this book, as they are very inviting, in future I will add sugar to the icing/frosting recipes to taste!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for the faint-hearted!, 12 Feb 2007
By 
A. Yoshida (Beijing, China) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Magnolia Bakery Cookbook: Old-Fashioned Recipes from New York's Sweetest Bakery (Hardcover)
I bought both this book and the follow-up ("More from Magnolia") as a Christmas present to myself, and I haven't stopped baking since! The recipes are very easy to follow and once you get the hang of things it's really fun to mix and match - I've taken to combining recipes from both books to get the results I want. Apple cake (from book two) frosted with Caramel Cream Cheese Icing (from book one) was a huge hit at my boyfriend's birthday party.

It's definitely not for those on a diet - I was initially shocked at the amount of butter and sugar each recipe calls for - but if old-fashioned American baking is what you crave, then this is the book for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet treats, 6 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Magnolia Bakery Cookbook: Old-Fashioned Recipes from New York's Sweetest Bakery (Hardcover)
The recipes in this book are fantastic and absolutely delicious, from the best cup-cakes you'll ever taste to wickedly good biscuits and brownies. However, the book uses American measurements, with no coversion tables anywhere. For example, butter is measured in 'sticks' and pretty much all other ingredients in US cups. Please don't let this put you off though - the conversions might be a bit of a hassle, but the results FAR, FAR outweigh any inconvenience!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Magnolia Bakery Cookbook: Old-Fashioned Recipes from New York's Sweetest Bakery
£15.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews