Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skrink La Da!!
Wow... What a book...
Upon seeing the 'Party Monster' Documentary, I became instantly intruiged as to who these club kids were and what their story had to tell... Especially a certain Mr Michael Alig and his part of the tale...
So I scoured the net, found this book, and bought it.
And I was more than surprised; not only by James St James dynamic and...
Published on 17 Feb. 2004 by ,Gena Dickson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Like new. On time delivery
The content was ok. the condition ok. No complaint the book cost 1 cent! Like new. On time delivery.
Published 3 months ago by kristi bailey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skrink La Da!!, 17 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Party Monster (Paperback)
Wow... What a book...
Upon seeing the 'Party Monster' Documentary, I became instantly intruiged as to who these club kids were and what their story had to tell... Especially a certain Mr Michael Alig and his part of the tale...
So I scoured the net, found this book, and bought it.
And I was more than surprised; not only by James St James dynamic and unusually induvidual writing style, but by the mind blowing content of the tale itself, and the many little off-shooting storys that follow on from it.
You are taken on a journey into an underestimated and overstimulated world of parties, drugs, eventual demise and death amongst 'friends'.
where drugs are often currency in exchange for popularity and social standing, Being caught in a K hole replaces buying groceries, and being fabulous replaces near enough everything else.
This is a fantastic book that I would advise anyone to read, regardless of taste, this book will open your eyes to something new.
James' letter to Michael towards the end is particularly enjoyable!
My only bad point about the book, is the fact that Gitsie wasn't talked of more.
For any of you that have watched the documentary; you'll know that she became michael's best friend towards the end of things, and seemed like she would've been an interesting character to add to the tale.
But, none-the-less, the book was spot on, and worth reading over and over.
And in a sick way, you'll probably develop the same love for these seedy characters as I have... here's hoping!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, crazy, tragic, hilarious, very very good, 21 Oct. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Party Monster (Paperback)
wow! this book is amazing. when you begin to read this you won't know what's hit you! like it says on the cover "this book is not for the faint-hearted"! but dont let that put you off-it is an interesting and funny book, but also sad because of the murder. i have never read a book in which the authour really includes the reader in the story like this. i was hooked-james st. james has a GREAT, if not slightly unusual way of writing, but that is what makes this book so special. and he is hilarious. trust me. he has some amazing stories to tell, they just keep getting better and better. i really didnt want this book to end, but when it did i was very pleased with it, it is well worth the money. i will definately be reading it again (something which i have never done before!) i reccomend this book if you enjoy comedy, true stories, outrageous stories, or are interested in the club kids. michael alig is a really interesting guy, charming and magnetic, but destructive. and james st. james, the author, well he's just adorable. he really is. one warning i will give you-approach with caution if you are someone who is easily offended. mainly i am saying this because drugs were a large part of the club kids scene, and play quite a large part in the book. although it is fasinating reading about james' experiences with them. also there is occasional swearing and sexual references. but please please get this book if you need a laugh or an experience to remember! it is such an enjoyable read, you don't want to put it down. fabulous! as james would say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skrink La Da!!, 18 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Party Monster (Paperback)
Wow... What a book...
Upon seeing the 'Party Monster' Documentary, I became instantly intruiged as to who these club kids were and what their story had to tell... Especially a certain Mr Michael Alig and his part of the tale...
So I scoured the net, found this book, and bought it.
And I was more than surprised; not only by James St James dynamic and unusually induvidual writing style, but by the mind blowing content of the tale itself, and the many little off-shooting storys that follow on from it.
You are taken on a journey into an underestimated and overstimulated world of parties, drugs, eventual demise and death amongst 'friends'.
where drugs are often currency in exchange for popularity and social standing,
Being caught in a K hole replaces buying groceries,
And being fabulous replaces near enough everything else!
This is a fantastic book that I would advise anyone to read, regardless of taste, this book will open your eyes to something new.
James' letter to Michael towards the end of the book is particularly enjoyable!
My only bad point about the book, is the fact that Gitsie wasn't talked of more.
For any of you that have watched the documentary; you'll know that she became michael's best friend towards the end of things, and seemed like she would've been an interesting character to add to the tale.
But, none-the-less, the book was spot on, and worth reading over and over.
And in a sick way, you'll probably develop the same love for these seedy characters as I have... here's hoping!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For anyone who has enjoyed the film, 19 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For anyone who has enjoyed the film, the book is equally as good, if not better. It's littered with hilarious anecdotes and analogies and St. James' fabulousness oozes from every page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I absolutely love the writing style of James St James, 26 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I literally couldn't put this book down. I absolutely love the writing style of James St James, he is very funny and writes in such a unique way. I would recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very funny read, 4 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book!! James St James is a talented writer and i would definitely read more of his stuff after reading Party Monster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a great book., 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great holiday read. Highly recommend to all interested in the club scene in general, especially with such a dramatic ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Like new. On time delivery, 31 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The content was ok. the condition ok. No complaint the book cost 1 cent! Like new. On time delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horrifying and hilarious in equal measure, 25 Feb. 2010
Party Monster is a totally original and riveting read - in equal parts horrifying and hilarious it details the drug-fuelled demise of New York club kid Michael Alig and his blasé murder of drug dealer Angel.

The book is written with total verve and wit and author James St James is a fascinating character by himself but once you throw in outrageous fashion, depraved drug fiends and unbelievable anecdotes you have the makings of a modern classic. Inspired, laugh-out-loud funny and totally shocking - a unique read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Party Monster (Paperback)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Disco Bloodbath
Disco Bloodbath by James St.James (Hardcover - 26 Oct. 1999)
Used & New from: £39.93
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews