Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oldsouls
One of the most amazing books I have ever read. This is a book you simply can not put down. I think even those who are not open minded can appriciate the in-depth research and beautiful language in this book. I have read Oldsouls many times and would highly recommend it for those with an interest in this subject.
Published on 16 July 2004

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much unnecessary descriptive writing
I have found this book a little tedious. I bought the book as I have an interest in reincarnation and the afterlife, but found that I had to wade through pages of boring descriptions of the author's travels in between the encounters with people who remembered past lives. My feeling is that the author, a journalist, has written the book like this so as to make it his own...
Published 12 months ago by beany


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oldsouls, 16 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Old Souls: Scientific Search for Proof of Past Lives (Paperback)
One of the most amazing books I have ever read. This is a book you simply can not put down. I think even those who are not open minded can appriciate the in-depth research and beautiful language in this book. I have read Oldsouls many times and would highly recommend it for those with an interest in this subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book but just lacking that little bit...., 9 Dec 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Old Souls: Scientific Search for Proof of Past Lives (Paperback)
As a believer in reincarnation but still quite sceptical, I found this book to be a very interesting read. The author does a good job of documenting the research of Ian Stevenson but it's the research that leaves me with doubts. I was expecting (and hoping for) case studies where the interviewee would be able to come up with verifiable facts without the possibility of intervention and subsequent coercion from their families to change the evidence to suit the facts. Of the few cases where this happened, I wasn't convinced of the results. Given that 90% of the cases in this book were secondary visits to past-life people originally spoken to 17 years previously, I feel that the chance to change the evidence to be too great to make the cases fully believable.
The book itself is well written and entertaining and worth reading, certainly raising questions about the whole aspect of reincarnation.
After reading the two books by Michael Newton (Destiny of Souls and Journey of Souls) I find it difficult to reconcile what he said (that souls usually take many years to prepare for their next incarnation and rarely incarnate back into the social group they have just left) with the plethora of cases in this book where the majority of souls reincarnate in the next village.
I'd recommend the two books mentioned above, the consistency throughout both is outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant combination of science and scepticism, 7 Dec 2000
By A Customer
Tom Shroder manages to combine his own scepticism of reincarnation with on-the-edge scientific research into the lives of children who claim to have existed before. The reader is not only drawn by the evidence and the way in which it is matter-of-factly presented but also by the insight into Shroder's own changing viewpoint and the reasons behind those changes as the book progresses. For believers and sceptics alike, this book does not offer any far-out, New Age explanations for reincarnation. It simply details Shroder's involvement, as a well-respected journalist, in the culmination of a man's life work on the subject of reincanation. Taking the reader from Lebanon to India, Shroder's descriptive talents allow the reader to almost smell and touch the places that he visited, to feel his terror on the muddy single tracks which pass as roads and have been the place of many a spirit's passing and to smell the stench of India's open sewers. His insight into a personal "coincidence" in his life will raise a smile on the face of anyone who has read the "Celestine Prophecy". The one thing which seemed to be missing from the book was any kind of difinitive ending. Let's hope a second book isn't too far off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much unnecessary descriptive writing, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have found this book a little tedious. I bought the book as I have an interest in reincarnation and the afterlife, but found that I had to wade through pages of boring descriptions of the author's travels in between the encounters with people who remembered past lives. My feeling is that the author, a journalist, has written the book like this so as to make it his own observations, not just a report about professor Ian Stevenson's work.
But it's Mr. Stevenson's findings that I am interested in. I also found the author's comments about Dr. Brian Weiss's work slightly offensive. Dr. Brian Weiss is a psychiatrist who discovered an ability to regress his patients to past lives. He seems to believe that Dr. Weiss does not have enough proof in order to substantiate his belief that many of his clients (one in particular, Catherine) have truly remembered past lives whilst under hypnosis. He cites one example where Catherine has her dates muddled, yet later, while considering one of Mr. Stevenson's cases he is ready to excuse a similar memory slip. He also remarks that Mr. Stevenson's subjects were probably not fantasising, as their remembered lives were so mundane, yet fails to note that this is also one of the strengths on the side of Dr. Weiss's subject, Catherine, and indeed most of his subjects.
In short, I find Mr. Shroder is over opinionated about a subject he knows little about, and I would much rather have heard more from the person actually conducting the search (Mr. Stevenson). I have skipped great chunks of detailed description about each person's clothing, the scenery, the author's feelings as he was going along the road etc. and will not be finishing the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Didn't grab me, 31 May 2013
By 
W. S. Stoddart "History Buff" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Souls: Scientific Search for Proof of Past Lives (Paperback)
I'm very interested in the subject but unfortunately the writing style is such that there is more information on where the researchers were going and how they felt, etc than on the subject at hand. I gave up after fifty or so pages. Never a good sign.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Truthful, but not exciting, 8 Nov 2011
By 
Crabbypink (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Souls: Scientific Search for Proof of Past Lives (Paperback)
In praise, the author's enthusiasm for the research really shows. He recounts his travels with a professor who studies children with past life memories. Intriguing. However, in criticism, the excitment for the subject is dampened by the inconclusive cases described, and even moreso by the description of cultures where past lives are not a mystery, but taken as fact. It's not particularly well written, and many of the cases amount to nothing at all. Truthful writing, but not exciting stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sure to give you goose pimples if you have never believed in re-incarnation, 18 Jun 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Souls: Scientific Search for Proof of Past Lives (Paperback)
This guy knows how to write. I am yet to read Ian Stevenson's original books but this guy has certainly stimulated my interest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars engaging, balanced and mind-blowing!, 23 Jan 2010
By 
J. Wood (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Old Souls: Scientific Search for Proof of Past Lives (Paperback)
This is an excellently well-written exploration of a year in the life of a prominent researcher's study of apparent cases of rebirth. The author, journalist Tom Shroder, accompanies Ian Stevenson to Beirut, India and the USA interviewing people who claim to remember past lives. The author begins sceptical (though open-minded) and both he and Professor Stevenson come across as balanced and careful in their examination of evidence for and against rebirth. Discussions are thought-provoking, the experiences of those they meet frequently deeply moving, and Schroder also conveys the backdrops of Lebanon and rural India in great vividity, so that the book is a pleasure to read. The evidence in favour of rebirth is quite astonishing, though tantalisingly no case is without odd flaws and contradictions. Whatever is going on here, as Schroder concludes, does not seem to be explicable in an ordinary way, however, and we're left with a choice between either rebirth or something seemingly even more mysterious. A truly eye-opening book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm sure you will enjoy reading this book, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Compelling reading, I had no previous interest in the subject and chose to read it on a whim while waiting for a plane, I was pleasantly surprised. This is a delightful, well written and researched book, it attempts to provide a balanced look at a subject which one would not normally consider worthy of scientific investigation. It charts the attempts by one academic to bring this phenomena which is so distant from Western concepts of reality under the scientific lens and gets as close as is possible to offering a convincing case. I'm sure you will enjoy reading this book, no matter what conclusion you reach for yourself at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Souls: Scientific Search for Proof of Past Lives (Paperback)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Old Souls: Scientific Search for Proof of Past Lives
Old Souls: Scientific Search for Proof of Past Lives by Tom Shroder (Paperback - 25 Aug 2001)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews