Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb analysis of a possible alien invasion!
When the MoD's 'UFO officer' starts writing these sorts of books, the world should take note. Pope follows up his success with 'Open Skies, Closed Minds', with this work of fiction, postulating an alien invasion of Earth, and the human resistance to that attack. Pope skillfully seeks to give the reader an insight into what would occur behind closed doors, as alien saucers...
Published on 1 Sep 2001 by Dr. M. R. Davis

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars so-so SF
This book is poor SF mainly because NIck Pope is not an author of fiction. The characters are poor, the dialogue stilted and formal and the plot meanders all over the place. Being the author of Britain's x-files was obviously useful to a publisher but the least they could have done is get one their editors to give him the crash course in plot-tightening and the art of...
Published 8 months ago by peter macnab


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb analysis of a possible alien invasion!, 1 Sep 2001
By 
Dr. M. R. Davis (Faringdon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When the MoD's 'UFO officer' starts writing these sorts of books, the world should take note. Pope follows up his success with 'Open Skies, Closed Minds', with this work of fiction, postulating an alien invasion of Earth, and the human resistance to that attack. Pope skillfully seeks to give the reader an insight into what would occur behind closed doors, as alien saucers intrude into UK airspace, shooting down Eurofighters in a second 'Battle of Britain', and Grays kidnap citizens. As governmental and military officials begin to reluctantly accept the truth, and the US Government betrays the UK in its time of need, the reader cannot put this book down. The sequel, Operation Lightning Strike, is just as good.
Malcolm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fact dressed as fiction?, 8 Oct 2000
By 
Mr. Paul J. Stephen (Leeds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have to admit that I have a serious interest in this subject and at first I was unsure about the whole concept of this book. Nick Pope has had a serious role to play in the field since his publication of non-fictional work over the past few years and being cast as Britains answer to Fox Mulder.
Although many of the scenarios in this book are clearly based on the better known UFO cases like Rendlesham Forest I feel that the authors background in the MOD gives the story a little reality as the meetings between the various departments as the situations unfold are really well handled. I am very cautious as to dressing up fact under fiction especially since this subject is open to ridicule at the best of times but I have to admit that Pope has written a highly readable and interesting novel - a real 'hypothesis' of what if this really does (or has) happened. There is real logic and plausability about the whole thing - and I for one thought that the ending was pretty good - although very 'X-Files'.
My opinion is that this is a good piece of Sci-fi and that that is how the book should be read - if the reader wants non-fiction choose Timothy Good,Nicholas Redfearn or indeed Popes previous books. Lets not mix the genres too much as Ufology may suffer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant, 11 Nov 2000
By A Customer
Absolutely brilliant. Having read many UFO investigation books this belongs among them - where does the truth finish and the fiction begin, if in fact it does, There is an awful lot of truth in here. Excellent plot, delivery, pace and some very cleaver cross references to reality and past ufology. A must for all ufologists - the sequel has a lot to match up to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Gripping, 23 Oct 2000
I had mixed feelings when I picked up this interesting and at times disturbing book.
The biggest problem was that the book has the word "Truth" printed on the front. In my experience this is UFO speak for "meaningless garbage" however if you treat this book like a work of fiction then you are in for intriguing and suspenseful ride.
Saying that, some of his characterisation is a little weak and many of his fighter pilots all seem to share the same traits in that "were the centre of social and sporting events".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars so-so SF, 22 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is poor SF mainly because NIck Pope is not an author of fiction. The characters are poor, the dialogue stilted and formal and the plot meanders all over the place. Being the author of Britain's x-files was obviously useful to a publisher but the least they could have done is get one their editors to give him the crash course in plot-tightening and the art of dialogue in human. I could forgive the first volume, Operation Thunderchild, for having the same faults - everybody's entitled to a ropey first novel - but not two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Would an ET invasion be like this? Maybe., 31 July 2010
By 
The Guardian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
In addition to his literate, grounded and well-informed non-fiction writings exploring the UFO and abduction issues, "Thunder Child" published in 1999 is confirmation that ex-MOD official Nick Pope's literary talents stretch to the fiction genre. And he turns out to be a pretty competent novelist too.

"Thunder Child" is a full-length sci-fi novel about the early stages of a threatened alien invasion experienced from a uniquely British perspective, extrapolating what the author learned about the ET/UFO and abduction issues whilst working at the MOD into a fictional scenario for the near future. In addition to good plot development (with unexpected twists) and a well-drawn cast of characters, the book is interesting because it reveals real insider-insight into the workings of government and the military; exactly how such a crisis might be managed behind closed doors and kept out of the public eye by stonewalling and media management for as long as possible.

At the beginning of the book are three and a half pages of military acronyms and abbreviations, used in the real world in virtually all dialogue between armed forces personnel, official and unofficial: Nick's decision to employ this kind of detail gives the story more realism. The book is particularly good in describing the standard operating procedures of RAF Strike Command, the early warning radar system, the SAS on operations and the daily interactions between elected ministers and unelected government officials.

The author is quite skilled in how he weaves together some of the persistent obsessions of UFOlogy with his knowledge of exactly how government and officialdom works into a good yarn. The reported deep underground facilities under Bentwaters/Woodbridge stretching out under the North Sea, the modus operandi and purposes of the apparent alien abductors, the differing perspectives about benign or not-so-benign ET intentions are all explored through the characters and dialogue and made to serve the plot. A blow for gender-equality is struck by the author's decision to make a female RAF pilot the leading top-gun, revealing the combat action through her eyes. There's a dig at the Americans too, suggesting that in such a crisis they may prove to be duplicitous and behave from self-interest, and the "special relationship" is in reality one-sided. From someone with such deep inside knowledge of the UK MOD, this is kind of revealing don't you think?

The book ends in such a way as to point the reader to the sequel - "Operation Lightning Strike", which effectively continues the same narrative with some of the same characters (and some new ones) and takes the invasion idea to the next stage.

If you're interested in the UFO/ET issue, or if you like sci-fi as a genre, you'll probably enjoy this book. "Thunder Child" had a good print run so second-hand copies are cheap and plentiful. Find a good one, read it in a weekend, and add it to the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invasion: Britain, 8 Oct 2000
By 
C. G. Nuttall (Edinburgh, Scotland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Nick pope has created one of the best alien invasion books I have ever seen. The technical details and characterisation were superb. My only gripe is that we don't get to hear all the PMs speech and that there is no map. I await the sequal with baited breath!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars X-Files re-visited, 10 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Operation Thunder Child (Paperback)
Found the book compelling reading until I realised the underlying conspiricy regarding the UFO's was straight from the X Files. What a disappointing end to a could have been original book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent British Sci Fi or is it?, 21 Mar 2000
By 
Mr. John B. King "JK" (Camberley, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Operation Thunder Child (Paperback)
A refreshing read from an extremely knowledgeable writer. The book is full of suspense and is so realistic that it must be true. The best thing about this book is that it is full of information relating to the military and how they operate in times of war and the measures taken to inform the general public. The book is so real that it does throw open the question, 'Has this already happened?..' A real thought provoker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent insight into how the MOD work., 25 Nov 1999
By 
Mark (Redhill, Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Operation Thunder Child (Paperback)
I have just finished reading this excellent book and would highly recommend it to anyone with an interest in ufology or the paranormal. Nick's knowledge of how the UK MOD would approach an event like the one he describes, really adds the element of believability, I had to keep reminding myself that this was a piece of fiction. The only down side was the ending, it would almost seem that Nick reached his page limit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Operation Thunder Child
Operation Thunder Child by Nick Pope (Paperback - 4 Oct 1999)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews