Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best biography I have ever read, and I read alot!, 9 Mar 2004
By 
lovemurakami "tooty2" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robert Kennedy (Paperback)
This is one of the best books that I have ever read. Although flawed, Robert Kennedy at least attempted to alter the course of American politics in his lifetime. Often seen as the ruthless, Kennedy, Robert was in fact a reformer, fighting for black civil rights, the poor, campaigning against the gun lobby, equality for all, a fair health care system, etc.He served his country, brother and family loyally. He would have made an interesting and demanding president. This book needs to be read by everyone, I defy anyone not to enjoy it, and to be overwhelmed by the ending. I also think that if Simon and Schuster are listening, they need to have a print run in the UK and market it, I'm a bookseller and I would recommend to all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, factual, non-sensational, insightful and revealing, 25 Oct 2000
This review is from: Robert Kennedy: His Life (Hardcover)
If anyone thought, like I did, that Arthur Schlesinger Jr's book, 'Robert Kennedy and His Times' was the best book on RFK in the 32 years since his death, then this is a must read.
Thomas does not pretend that RFK was without flaws but this is neither a hagiography nor a character assasination. Where others, past their writing prime (e.g. Seymour Hersch), have taken the easy option of using circumstantial evidence, hearsay and rumour to come to 'scandalous' conclusions and hence sell more books, Thomas deals with the facts objectively and allows the reader to draw their own conclusions. With interviews conducted in the 1990's (some as recent as last year) this is tantamount to an updated version of Schlesinger Jr's authoratative account. Much has come to light since 1978 (when Schlesinger Jr's book was first published) and Thomas includes this here. The author also appears to have had access to some of the people closest to RFK who are alive today, or at least who were alive until recently, and there are some new revelations in this book, which will be of interest to academics, historians and anyone with an interest in RFK alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant bio, 22 April 2008
This review is from: Robert Kennedy (Paperback)
This biography is absolutely brilliant! The author's style keeps the reader engaged throughout, and you get a true balanced picture of RFK, who was a great hero to many. Thomas doesn't judge and allows the reader to draw their own conclusions. I've read many biographies in my time, and this is certainly one of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read!!!, 30 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robert Kennedy (Paperback)
I could not put this book down, once I started reading it. It provided a great insight into the political history of a great leader, who sacrificed so much for his family. It was well researched and well written and left me wanting to read more about the Kennedy family, but Robert in particular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Great, 17 Dec 2007
This review is from: Robert Kennedy (Paperback)
This was a great read. I ordered it with the hope of widening my knowledge on RFK and his campaigns, policy and life as a whole. The author does a great job, combining information on RFK's personal life and childhood along with his political achievements and aims. I have no criticisms. It was well-researched, well-written, well-formatted. Just great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Visionary and ahead of his time..easy read of a facinating man, 26 July 2011
This review is from: Robert Kennedy (Paperback)
I dont often write book reviews so bear with me!

I felt compelled to write to help people decide to read this story - I'm not someone who follows or is interested in politics (lets face it who is these days!) but I watched the recent TV Drama with Greg Kinnear and Katie Holmes as JFK and Jackie O, and I was amazed that I fell more for Bobby in the background than anything else.

The programme left me feeling that it was Bobby pulling the strings in the background, and the book merely reinforces that fact. It was easy to read, didnt go into too much jargon about the American Political system but aside of actual historical fact, looked at the complexity of his character, the enormous pressure he put himself under to protect JFK through his political career, the guilt he felt over his death over and how he was at heart a real family man.

I knew how the book was going to end, but it left you with a sinking feeling that his untimely assassination whilst trying to run for President, robbed the world of someone who might actually have been successful in making a difference. Some might say its all part of the Kennedy myth machine, but I would implore anyone to read it - I took it on holiday and it was nearly finished in 5 days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What if?, 1 April 2014
By 
H. Rogers - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robert Kennedy (Paperback)
An excellent,well researched and even handed account of Robert Kennedy's life. In a way it is remarkable - and it is a strength of the book- that the author remains so even handed. Robert Kennedy, in his early days, was a classic case of arrested development. His puerile behaviour (petulance, arrogance and incredibly rudeness) continued well into his adult years and when he was Attorney General. Some of his actions were almost criminally irresponsible- continuing to press for covert action against Castro after the Cuban missile crisis had brought the US and the Soviet Union close to war is perhaps the best example. It is not surprising that Robert Kennedy inspired hatred in so many of his opponents,not least LBJ. However, as he got older, and with his increasing focus on civil rights, Kennedy did mellow. Would he have made a good president? The author wisely remains neutral. On the negative side Robert Kennedy was not his brother, a born politician for good or bad, and there are hints that the presidency might have been a step too far and he might have proved ineffectual, aka Jimmy Carter. However, had he won he certainly would have tried to end the Vietnam war early than Nixon and promoted civil rights. And,many people would argue, anyone would have been better than tricky Dicky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling., 24 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robert Kennedy (Paperback)
I'm drawn both to people who are a mass of contradictions but also to those driven, and RFK was both. However, setting such personal considerations aside, this seems to me a fine biography. Thomas is wonderfully accomplished at his trade. With great skill he remains personally reticent while exciting interest and thought at every turn. "The Prologue" is a tour de force in itself. Throughout, the author keeps attention focused on his subject. References to JFK (and to the whole supporting cast) are measured and disciplined. They never threaten to divert attention away from Bobby. Without at any point manipulating the reader's responses, Thomas evokes a great range of feelings towards his subject. In the central section of the book these are often negative, but then we witness the growth in maturity and judgement that compels admiration, fascination and ultimately pathos. I can't easily imagine a more engrossing subject. Thomas' intelligence, research and humanity shine through as, on this reader anyway, RFK takes a unrelenting hold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent portrait of a complex personality, 18 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robert Kennedy (Paperback)
Evan's biography of Robert "Bobby" Kennedy is a well-written and well-researched book that gives a fascinating portrait of the complex personality of the "little brother" of the Kennedy clan. It is a human portrait, of virtues and flaws of a man of whom perhaps not much was expected in terms of public limelight/service, and perhaps because of that reason emerged from the shadows of his brothers more as an individual, emotional human being. The book offers an interesting history of especially 1960s politics.

Robert Kennedy's life was cut short, and we do not know what kind of a president he would have made. The book ends at the Los Angeles hotel restaurant kitchen floor. It might have been an interesting final chapter to try to evaluate Bobby Kennedy's life and times, and his "legacy", on the basis of the history books and biographies since written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robert Kennedy (Paperback)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Robert Kennedy: His Life
Robert Kennedy: His Life by Evan Thomas (Hardcover - 25 Sep 2000)
Used & New from: 1.65
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews