Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amidst the tsunami of information, where's Barbara?
I agree with many others who have also reviewed this book. This could have been and should have been a great biography if only Victoria Wilson possessed the highly developed skills of a raconteur - or had a better editor -- because Barbara Stanwyck's life during the span of Wilson's coverage (1907-1940) is among the most interesting of those who became major film stars...
Published 11 months ago by Robert Morris

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars over-detailed bowdlerised look at a great actress written by the worst kind of 'fan'
Dreary , over-detailed bowdlerised look at a great actress written by the worst kind of 'fan'.
Published 4 months ago by J. V. Gardiner


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amidst the tsunami of information, where's Barbara?, 10 Feb. 2014
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Life of Barbara Stanwyck: Steel-True 1907-1940 (Hardcover)
I agree with many others who have also reviewed this book. This could have been and should have been a great biography if only Victoria Wilson possessed the highly developed skills of a raconteur - or had a better editor -- because Barbara Stanwyck's life during the span of Wilson's coverage (1907-1940) is among the most interesting of those who became major film stars. Wilson provides a tsunami of biographical information, including much that will be new to those who such as I who already knew a great deal about her life and career.

Although identified as "a" biography, it really is -- in my opinion -- "the" biography of Stanwyck in terms of scope and detail of detail. The biography that brings her to life, however, has yet to be written. By all accounts (at least of which I am aware), she was an exceptionally decent person. For better or worse, much of her life and career were a series of traumatic adventures. Having read this book, I know a great deal more [begin italics] about [end italics] her without knowing her better, if that makes any sense.

Some who read almost every word of this one - as I did -- will do so because they were already an admirer of Barbara Stanwyck and eager to learn more about her, especially her childhood and the career path that led to her stardom. Others will note the heft (1,040 pages), check the detailed index, and then cherry-pick whatever is of greatest interest to them. Still others, perhaps most others, will have no interest at all in the book.

Surely Barbara Stanwyck's life (during the 1907-1940 period) was much more interesting than this first of two volumes suggests. Hopefully, Victoria Wilson's second volume will provide a much livelier, more engaging narrative and fewer (if any) facts that are, at best, of only minor significance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN ABSOLUTE MASTERPIECE, 15 Feb. 2014
By 
B. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life of Barbara Stanwyck: Steel-True 1907-1940 (Hardcover)
I have just finished this book,which is massive and i am compelled to say a masterpiece,taking you from her early life in vaudeville to talking films and finishes just before the involvement of America in the 2nd World war .This is highly recommended along with the book i read before that "Spencer Tracy" by James Curtis,this another large book and a pleasure to immerse yourself in !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but could be better., 22 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life of Barbara Stanwyck: Steel-True 1907-1940 (Hardcover)
This is a good book but it could have been a great one.It is a very readable story of one of the best actresses ever but it is vastly overwritten with pages of extraneous information which is completely irrelevant to her story.Ms Wilson should get a good editor and with luck the second volume will be a masterpiece.Having said that,i enjoyed it very much and learned after a while to skim the pointless bits which is not what I like to do but the little mini bios of nearly everyone does get rather tiresome.If youre a fan, which I am,youll enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A riveting and definitive Hollywood history, 29 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At over 1,000 printed pages that cover less than half the subject's life, this true tome transcends simple biography by illustrating a greater American and Hollywood story page after page. There is an incredible amount of lively detail about NY vaudeville, early Hollywood studio heads, and the rise and fall of stars the world has now forgotten, all accompanied by effective doses of American political and economic history.

Stanwyck was not always a peach (she ditched her NY friends once they all arrived in Hollywood), but her legacy is as important as those of Hepburn, Davis and Crawford. You can open at any chapter and be riveted.

Wilson's thoroughness is a gift to film historians. One only wishes there were a way to watch clips of Stanwyck's movies without having to search for them on YouTube.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars over-detailed bowdlerised look at a great actress written by the worst kind of 'fan', 23 Sept. 2014
By 
J. V. Gardiner "Film Buff" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life of Barbara Stanwyck: Steel-True 1907-1940 (Hardcover)
Dreary , over-detailed bowdlerised look at a great actress written by the worst kind of 'fan'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life of Barbara Stanwyck: Steel-True 1907-1940 (Hardcover)
excellent book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 5 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Life of Barbara Stanwyck: Steel-True 1907-1940 (Hardcover)
Couldn't get on with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Life of Barbara Stanwyck: Steel-True 1907-1940
Life of Barbara Stanwyck: Steel-True 1907-1940 by Victoria Wilson (Hardcover - 21 Nov. 2013)
£20.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews