Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a funny and informative book., 17 July 2001
As a diver, I had an immediate interest in the topic of this book and actually found it quite informative as to the ways of serious commercial diving. Keith manages to give a good humoured account of his life and indeed it made me laugh to myself on many occasions, there are some excellent anecdotes in here as well as a detailed and gripping retelling of the salvage of the Edinburgh gold. Some of the underwater potential incidents had me truly sweating with horror. Keith Jessop is a truly awesome fellow and I just hope he has managed to make his fortune with this book too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspirational, 21 Oct 2002
By 
simon gurney (london United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
an amazing book, Keith Jessops passion of diving and particuliarly wreck salvage, leave indelible memories.
the books balance is great, enough early details to establish his character, the book really picks up pace with the various wreck salvages leading up to the edinburgh, the background and research is well documented, as are the details of setting up expeditions for locating and then salvaging the wrecks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A thumping good read!, 2 Sep 2000
Yup, this book is a pretty good read.
I was in the dive biz for a long time (my wife tells me toooo long), and I bailed out of the offshore scene some 5 years ago. I've got a fair selection of books on Commercial/Offshore Diving and also Salvage Diving and I'm pleased to add Goldfinder to my collection.
I bought the original book on the Edinburgh salvage: "Stalin's Gold" which was an OK read, but after reading it, Mr Jessop didn't come over looking too good ..... and that is an understatement. The writer of that book (a Times' hack called Barry Penrose) clearly had a problem with Mr Jessop, and also some of the divers, and the Ship itself, and the rest of the ship's crew. Not forgetting the sinister Russians etc, etc... and it showed in what he wrote.
Anyone in the dive business at the time of the salvage couldn't help but pick up bits and pieces about this king of salvage ops. It was a really big deal. I knew just three of the dozen or so divers who were involved in the operation, and over 2-3 years following the salvage I got to hear what they had to say about it all. And it was quite a different setup to that written up in "Stalin's Gold".
Reading Keith Jessop's "Goldfinder" was a real pleasure, and sets the record straight on a number of points. Also Keith's earlier career makes for interesting, and occasionally very funny reading. His story-telling ability is a good as it comes when telling "sea-stories" about "the good-old-days" of the diving industry: when the North Sea diving business was very young and new, and every dive job was a bit "hit-and-miss", with work progressing in the usual "making it up as you go along" mode. For me, his stories about this particular time in the dive industry bring back some wonderful memories. Scary memories, but good memories...
And never forget what the guys on the Edinburgh salvage did: 850ft down in the Barents sea, diving from a very small, and by today's standards, very primitive Dive vessel, using oxy-arc cutting torches to burn their way into the Gold room that was full of unexploded ordnance ....
Hmmm, good stuff methinks. Just a touch hairy... just a touch.
The Edinburgh salvage was then, and remains now, the Ultimate deep-diving salvage attempt ever. And they succeeded. Heroes all...
Anyone interested in commercial diving, saturation diving, or salvage diving really should buy and read this book. It's a thumping good read written by a fellow who's done just about all you can do in the commercial diving arena.
It doesn't appear to be ghost-written either. So well done Keith.
Excellent book.
Dennis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for anyone intersted in the sea or ships & salvage, 14 Aug 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Goldfinder: A True Story of One Man's Discovery of the Ocean's Richest Secrets (Hardcover)
Keith Jessop started diving in a rock pool in North Yorkshire, and ended up salvaging millions of pounds worth of gold bullion from HMS Edinburgh, sunk during WW2 with 5 tons of Russian gold aboard, to pay the British for armaments. Compelling reading, I was bought it for my birthday without knowing anything about the man or the story, but I still enjoy this excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Gripping, 8 April 2013
This is the moving story of a man who grew up in abject poverty and through sheer, determination overcame all obstacles to become known as "Goldfinder" the most successful treasure diver. But it's much more than an adventure story, the descriptions of his early "belt and braces" days in a second-hand diving suit and using home made equipment including a compressor cobbled together forom his wife's vacuum cleaner and washing machine, and ducking and diving like the Del Boy Trotter of the Deeps are very funny. The story of his recovery of the gold from HMS Edinburgh at the bottom of the Arctic is a gripping as any thriller and there are enough spies and shady characters hovering around to keep the most avid conspiracy theorist happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An impressive blow by blow account of a salvage diver., 3 Jan 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Goldfinder: A True Story of One Man's Discovery of the Ocean's Richest Secrets (Hardcover)
Goldfinger is an impressive story which chronicles Keith Jessops experiences over a lifetime of salvage diving. It appeals in one sense because of the diving situations which he seems to regularly get himself into and with which divers can empathise, but on another level it also appeals as a story about 'the boy from a rough neighborhood does good'. His defining goal is to raise HMS Edinburgh which sailed from Russia with over $100 million dollars of Russian gold and was sunk by a German U-boat. Through a series of close scrapes and exceptionally hard graft he gets very close and the end of the story is an interesting, but disappointing one. I am a diving instructor and I loved it. Read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 5 Jan 2010
By 
Keith (East Riding of Yorkshire.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goldfinder: A True Story of One Man's Discovery of the Ocean's Richest Secrets (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book written by a diver with many years of experience diving, sometimes diving in the worst conditions imaginable.

Because Keith is a diver he makes none of the basic technical errors some writers make, which tend to spoil an otherwise good book.

He explains the physics of what happens to the human body when diving, without turning it to a school lesson, and how saturation divers can descend to 250 metres. The chapters on salvaging the gold were fascinating.

His Yorkshiremans sense of humour comes through well.

I hope he writes another book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, what more can I say?!, 8 Feb 2011
Having been pointed in the direction of this book by a work mate I have to admit I was some what sceptical. How wrong could I be?!!!

From working class roots to rich beyond anyones wildest dreams and back again in one book is how I would describe it.

Keith Jessop has you hanging on his every word, unable to put this book down and wanting to know more and more. I found myself sat up in bed at 3am reading, much to the annoyance of my better half!

If you want to read a riveting true story and one that will keep you glue right to the end, this is the book for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars clive cussler, 8 Jun 2012
This review is from: Goldfinder (Hardcover)
I have read almost every book by Clive Cussler, especially those about Dirk Pitt. Surely he must have had Keith Jessop in mind when he created the character. He is a mixture of Dirk Pitt, Bluebeard the pirate and the best buccaneer ever to draw breath. The book itself has everything. It is informative, humorous and also gives an insight into the pettiness of burocracy and the childish levels of jealousy of those who did everything possible to prevent him achieving his dream. Fortunately sense prevailed and we have on record one of the best treasure books ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dreams come true then turn to Nightmares, 3 Aug 2012
By 
Mr. A. R. Gage "Tonygagey" (Merseyside,UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goldfinder (Hardcover)
This man never gave up,always kept his eyes on the ball and did over twenty years ago , what would be considered almost impossible today, more over he was entirely self taught ,before the internet he found obscure sources of information and earned the respect of all in the diving community , do I recommend this book ? HELL YES!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Goldfinder: A True Story of One Man's Discovery of the Ocean's Richest Secrets
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews