Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and well thought out.
The Uninvited brings a studied and methodical aproach to an interesting and, at times, bizzare subject, alien abduction. He writes with an obvious profound knowledge of the area with the discipline of the serious researcher, letting the data lead to the conclusion, rather than the reverse - a rare trait in this subject. He brings to the subject the ability to search the...
Published on 27 Jun 2001

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars oh dear
I confess I got this in a charity shop for 50p and it is now in a bag to go back to them, at least it may help the charity...
I accept the book was written several years ago but it does show its age; ufology must have moved on a lot as so much is not included.
I found the book tedious and not terribly well written. Too much speculation by the author who clearly...
Published 19 months ago by Mal


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and well thought out., 27 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Uninvited (Paperback)
The Uninvited brings a studied and methodical aproach to an interesting and, at times, bizzare subject, alien abduction. He writes with an obvious profound knowledge of the area with the discipline of the serious researcher, letting the data lead to the conclusion, rather than the reverse - a rare trait in this subject. He brings to the subject the ability to search the material, without trying to fit it to an allready formulated theory, for the revelant facts. In this he is reminiscent of Timothy Good, openly stating and anylising the facts, while not letting imagination take the lead. Pope also avoids the more fanciful theories of UFOlogy and Abdution theorists, which can only help a subject full of imaginative ramblings. I thoroughly enjoyed The Uninvited and highly recomend it to anyone with a healthy, yet questioning down to earth attitude to the Abduction phenomena, as well as the study of UFO's and related subjects generaly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Real X-Files, 25 July 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Uninvited (Hardcover)
Nick's second book on UFO's focus's in on the specific subject of 'the visitors'. Again it is a well presented report on plausible cases of encounters with extraterrestrial around the world. I'm sure that there is far more alarming fact and truth in the encounters, than fiction. Another must for anyone interested in Alien interaction with the Earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uninvited, but definitely not Uninvestigated by the Man from the Ministry: an excellent essay with a UK perspective, 13 Nov 2010
By 
The Guardian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Uninvited (Hardcover)
Nick Pope's "The Uninvited" - apart from having a great title - is an excellent overview of the abduction phenomenon and especially good as a primer for those with little knowledge of the subject outside the occasional lightweight History or Science Channel TV documentary. It's intelligent, deeply considered and contains a lot of original source material investigated by the author which you won't find anywhere else.

Pope first became acquainted with the abduction issue after being parachuted into the MOD's UFO desk job in 1991 and facing the responsibility of responding to numerous letters received from people all over the UK reporting UFO sightings and accompanied by the usual missing time episodes, disorientation, partial memories and odd body scarring. To his credit, he got out into the field and investigated many of these cases personally, only to discover the reporters to be on the whole responsible, level-headed and functional members of society in no way welcoming any publicity or exposure, just wanting to know what had happened to them. Pope gradually became persuaded by the near-identical narratives and markers in all these cases that this was some kind of real phenomenon, and decided to study the subject.

The book is in two parts, well-organised and written in a highly readable, literate style spiced with frequent good-natured humour. Nick pushes no particular agenda but looks at all the evidence in the round. He investigated individual cases, read extensively on the subject and took the trouble to contact and interview both abductees and prominent researchers. He runs the reader through the evolving nature of the phenomenon from centuries of folklore of people being abducted by small beings ("elves" or "fairies") to a different environment accompanied by "missing time"; through the contactees of the 1950s and 1960s; to the emergence of the modern phenomenon with the Villas Boas case and the most comprehensive 10-page summing-up of the Hill case I've ever read anywhere. He is particularly good in reporting the changing attitudes of the UFO research organizations to the abduction issue through the 1970s and 1980s from outright hostility and denial to reluctant acceptance as the evidence began to relentlessly pile up.

One value of reading "The Uninvited" is in its detailed examination of some extraordinary UK cases. In addition to the better-known Aveley, Oakensen and Alan Godfrey cases many others seldom reported elsewhere - like the very early case of James Millen (starting in 1944), with lifelong multiple abduction events involving several witnesses - are related in some detail. Nick met, interviewed and got to know all these people and relates the details in his straightforward, informative and non-judgmental style.

The author accepts that hard evidence to conclusively prove abductions are a reality as reported is hard to come by, but that the circumstantial evidence is "good enough to carry the day". In chapter seven he explores the challenge to official scientific paradigms and the problem of evidence, and in chapter eight philosophical issues such as the legal and constitutional responsibility of government to defend its citizens if this phenomenon is real - a can of worms indeed.

In the second part of the book, Nick devotes a chapter to each of several interesting cases from his own investigation file where the elements are complex and do not follow a simple classic abduction narrative. These contain elements such as OBEs, ghosts, terrified house pets and multiple-witnesses, and he observes that the dividing line between the physical and paranormal aspects of this phenomenon is a narrow one. Some have quite weird aspects and support the later work of Budd Hopkins (whom Pope rightly acknowledges as the most groundbreaking pioneer in the history of this research field), Dr. David Jacobs and others who uncovered information that human-alien hybrids are being produced and are sometimes encountered by abductees here on Earth. They're in London too - it seems.

Chapter 15 is titled "The Usual Suspects" rand runs through the commonly held theories about the origin of the phenomenon: ETs; the collective unconscious; the "shared earth theory" postulated in the past by John Keel and Jacques Vallee (and recently in 2010 recycled yet again by the late Mac Tonnies); inter-dimensional beings; time travellers from the future; government mind control experiments; various barely believable debunking theories like sleep paralysis and hypnagogic states (none of which even begin to address the complex evidence) - and so on.

To his credit, Pope nails his colours to the mast and writes in the concluding chapter:

"...careful study of the available data on abductions shows beyond a shadow of a doubt that there is a genuine phenomenon at work...from the variety of theories in circulation, I believe the extraterrestrial explanation best fits the data. My own work together with careful analysis of the work of others leads me to the conclusion that a literal interpretation of reports from witnesses is the correct one..."

So, "The Uninvited" is a refreshingly intelligent and original examination of the abduction phenomenon spiced with personal investigations and a lot of original material, and well worth reading whatever the level of your current acquaintance with the data. One minor criticism might be the absence of any illustrations, even in the hardcover edition - but by now we all know what Gray aliens look like, don't we?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hello fellow amazoners!, 15 Jun 2009
This review is from: The Uninvited (Hardcover)
Im not very good at this stuff but always use the reviews to decide what to buy. Bare with me. (o:
Firstly im not sure about mister one stars review. Being a loony myself i have never reported being abducted by aliens. Abductees though are rarely anything but normal and are always confused by their experiences. But you know this already.
The Uninvited is an excelent book for anyone interested in ufos, aliens, and the paranormal. And is in a class of its own when compared to Open Skies, Closed minds.
I think that most people who have already read into this subject will be glad to hear that Pope only makes breif referances towards the contactees and does not delve too deeply into the famous abductees.
Most of the rest of the book is taken up by cases of abduction and alien encounter not yet seen before. All in all this is a good alround read.
What attracts me to this book most of all is that the witness acounts often involve a good degree of high strangeness which is refreshing and makes the book differ to most others. I expect that most other authors and investigaters stay away from the oz effect because it takes credibility away from the encounters themselves and the reliability of the abductees is already under enough doubt.
If you are interested in the subject i highly recommend this book!
If you are interested in the more surreal aspects of the paranormal then i point you in the direction of John Keel, famed author of the mothman prophesies. The book is not like the film. Our haunted planet is my top favourite book!
Blessings
(o:
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars oh dear, 21 Jan 2013
By 
This review is from: The Uninvited (Hardcover)
I confess I got this in a charity shop for 50p and it is now in a bag to go back to them, at least it may help the charity...
I accept the book was written several years ago but it does show its age; ufology must have moved on a lot as so much is not included.
I found the book tedious and not terribly well written. Too much speculation by the author who clearly shows a lack of knowledge of the history of the subject he is writing about. I quickly found myself scanning paragraphs and then pages. I think I eventually found one chapter that held my interest but the feeling grew that I was not going to find any signs of intelligence...
It could probably be revised and updated by Mr Pope who over the last many years will hopefully have learnt more in terms of his subject and in his general education. Can't recommend this book, but it is probably out of print anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Uninvited, book, by Nick Pope, 17 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Uninvited (Hardcover)
This is a very interesting read on a subject matter that attracts conflicting views. Nick Pope always attempts to find a logical explanation, in his investigations, and concedes there are some events which cannot be explained away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars UKs UFO Expert, 1 Nov 2011
By 
M. L. Shannon (bristol england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Uninvited (Hardcover)
Nick Pope was comissioned by our goverment here in the uk to see if there is any truth to the claims that "there be flying saucers appearing in our skies" his study was for a few years in the 80s who after his stint decided to write a book on the subject i will say he is typical englishman who is reserved in his judgement and this book reads more like a catalogue of events and stories rather than focus on one aspect, although in his favour he does cover a broad spectrum of issues regarding this subject is an alright book to start out with..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Uninvited by Nick Pope., 8 Jun 2010
By 
Mrs. A. Rhodes "angie" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Uninvited (Hardcover)
Nick Pope, used to work for the goverment, and has written quite a lot of books about U.F.O.s, and Alien Abduction, this is informative, well written, and once again, a must read, for all you Fox Mulder, fans out there. Fox Mulder favourite saying was "The Truth Is Out There!" and Nick Pope,gives a lot of answers, to the many questions, we have all thought about. READ IT!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Alien abduction phenomenon, 3 Nov 2009
By 
Dr. Rhys Jones (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Uninvited (Paperback)
'The Uninvited' presents both the history and evidence for the alien abduction phenomenon in a lucid and intelligent writing style. I was completely hooked after the first chapter. It is a must read for anybody who is seriously interested in the alien abduction phenomenon written by one of the world's most authoritative and respected researchers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A real let-down. All hearsay. Lacks any credibility, 13 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Uninvited (Paperback)
Sorry Nick, it didnt work for me.
Basically its one account after another of people who claim to have been abducted with a bit of speculative commentary. If you interviewed a bunch of loonies you'd get a similar testament. Maybe Nick believes these people but he gives the reader no reason to do so. I wish I could say more, potentially I could believe this stuff, but only if I had a reason to. Too many people in this book are claiming to be abductees and psychics and witnesses to ghosts.. you name it. I put it down in disgust twice, and then decided to try it out properly and carried on after a few days. it's frustrating. I think there might be real facts behind this phenomenon but this book gives me no reasons to reinforce my suspicion. Sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Uninvited
The Uninvited by Nick Pope (Hardcover - 2 Jun 1997)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews