Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class reference, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Food And Cooking: The Science And Lore Of The Kitchen (Hardcover)
First, please note that "McGee on Food and Cooking: An Encyclopedia of Kitchen Science, History and Culture" is the same book as "On Food And Cooking: The Science And Lore Of The Kitchen". The former is the UK title and the latter is the US title, the content is the same.

Don't expect to find recipes in this book. This is a first class reference work for people who want to know "how food works", from the structure of wheat grains to the effect of pH and trace metals on the colour of cooked fruit and vegetables. The writing is clear and concise and eminently readable. For geeks like me it's a page turner, just open it at random and you'll be hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concise, Interesting and Inciteful, 13 May 2009
By 
RJM "rjmghome" (ST ALBANS, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Food And Cooking: The Science And Lore Of The Kitchen (Hardcover)
The most influential and comprehensive book written on what actually happens when you cook things. McGee is the inspiration for some of the world's greatest cooks including the two widely regarded as the current best; Heston Blumenthal at The Fat Duck and Ferran Adria at El Bulli.

The book mixes history, science and geography to show not only how things cook, but why there are regional variations in cuisine. Read it to learn how to cook or read it as one the best popular science books written on food. It is worth 1000 recipe books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On Food and Cooking - The Science and Lore of the Kitchen (Harold McGee), 9 Aug 2012
By 
Franklin Murphy (St. Vincent and the Grenadines) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Food And Cooking: The Science And Lore Of The Kitchen (Hardcover)
This book is such a treasure trove of valuable knowledge, history and useful ideas. I used the original 1984 version during my college days while studying Food Technology and fell in love with the author's easy, readable style which made learning so much fun. That book is still in my collection and has been used by small scale processors as a valuable reference source for developing new products from yoghurt to marinades among many others.

The latest edition now has pride of place among my collection of reference texts. It is a book that you will find yourself referring back to time and again if you are seriously involved in food processing, cooking, or even if you just are interested to know why certain foods are cooked in a particular way or how best to prepare them. Money well spent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Food And Cooking: The Science And Lore Of The Kitchen (Hardcover)
An excellent text book. Recommended for anyone interested in science of cooking. You can see Harold McGee lecture on Youtube.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic., 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Food And Cooking: The Science And Lore Of The Kitchen (Hardcover)
If you wish to learn about food and what makes it tick then this is for you. Don't expect any recipes or the like. This is a serious book about food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing and complete guide on the link between science and food, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Food And Cooking: The Science And Lore Of The Kitchen (Hardcover)
Excellent value, and should be an essential companion for any budding chef. Let alone ones like myself who are not so budding!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My review for this book (on food and cooking, the science and lore of the kitchen., 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Food And Cooking: The Science And Lore Of The Kitchen (Hardcover)
This is a fantastic book. Harold McGee is indispensable on the science of the kitchen. I will refer to him often. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes to eat healthful food. Real food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this is an excellent book about food and the cooking of food, 8 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Food And Cooking: The Science And Lore Of The Kitchen (Hardcover)
As others have said, this is an excellent book about food and the cooking of food. The detail is remarkable and the reader cannot fail to gain much from repeated reading. Forget the lack of recipes, if you know how and why cooking affects food the rest is
obvious. .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very comprehensive is my first impression but I will need ..., 14 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Food And Cooking: The Science And Lore Of The Kitchen (Hardcover)
Very comprehensive is my first impression but I will need a lot of time to read and digest (sorry) it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THANKYOU, 26 Nov 2014
By 
B. Ansell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Food And Cooking: The Science And Lore Of The Kitchen (Hardcover)
All arrived as excepted not had a chance to read it but the service was excellent. THANKYOU.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On Food And Cooking: The Science And Lore Of The Kitchen
On Food And Cooking: The Science And Lore Of The Kitchen by Harold McGee (Hardcover - 15 Nov 2004)
Used & New from: £20.80
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews