Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book - good fun and NOT just for children!
On the face of it this book is best suited to children up to 7 years old... but it really has a lot to offer ANYONE who doesn't know what the nine planets are and where they are in relation to the sun! My son (almost 8) found it a great read, although he did comment that it wasn't 'exactly' like a 'proper' Dr Seuss... almost though... he still loves it.
I then took...
Published on 16 Jun. 2004 by BC-Cheshire

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars solar system cat
I was a little disappointed with this book as I thought it tended to get a bit too complicated in parts for a 4 year old, not enough story line.
Published 23 months ago by louisa


Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book - good fun and NOT just for children!, 16 Jun. 2004
By 
BC-Cheshire (Cheshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There's No Place Like Space: All about Our Solar System (Cat in the Hat's Learning Library) (Hardcover)
On the face of it this book is best suited to children up to 7 years old... but it really has a lot to offer ANYONE who doesn't know what the nine planets are and where they are in relation to the sun! My son (almost 8) found it a great read, although he did comment that it wasn't 'exactly' like a 'proper' Dr Seuss... almost though... he still loves it.
I then took it into work where it was well received and two colleagues had learned their planets by the end of lunchtime. Great fun! I'd also recommend 'Inside Your Outside', also by Tish Rabe, we loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


92 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for introducing a 4 or 5 year old to the solar system, 29 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: There's No Place Like Space: All about Our Solar System (Cat in the Hat's Learning Library) (Hardcover)
I bought this book in the Washington Space Museum - when my 4 year old twins took it to school it became one of the main books used that term to introduce the reception class (age 4/5) to space and the solar system. It's great fun, lots of rhyming, and now my children can recognise each of the planets and tell you the names of the planets in order (Mallory Valerie Ellery Meetzas Just Sold Us Nine-hundred-and-ninety-nine Pizzas!) I'm going to buy a second copy for the school so we can get ours back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars informative and entertaining, 22 April 2006
By 
Binka - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There's No Place Like Space: All about Our Solar System (Cat in the Hat's Learning Library) (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my 4year old as her class were "doing space" at school. She took it into school one day and the teacher read it to the whole class who apparantly all enjoyed it. My daughter certainly loves it and its helped her rememeber things about the different planets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cats in Space, 27 Jun. 2010
By 
Lovely Treez (Belfast, N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There's No Place Like Space: All about Our Solar System (Cat in the Hat's Learning Library) (Hardcover)
I think I benefitted as much from this book as did my two children, one boy, one girl. It is fun, has a great rhythm (as per Dr Seuss usual standards) and has a terrific mnemonic for remembering the planets and their positions. I don't know if it has been reviewed since Pluto was demoted but it's still a fount of information about what's up there including key facts about each planet which I, to my shame, hadn't known prior to my reading. It's a most definite keeper in our household and is still returned to (even by me!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars solar system cat, 23 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was a little disappointed with this book as I thought it tended to get a bit too complicated in parts for a 4 year old, not enough story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars There's no place like space, 14 Mar. 2010
By 
Jose Antonio Ochoa Gonzalez (Madrid, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: There's No Place Like Space: All about Our Solar System (Cat in the Hat's Learning Library) (Hardcover)
Great book to teach about the planets and the SOlar system. Good for second graders
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Out of date., 8 April 2009
By 
This review is from: There's No Place Like Space: All about Our Solar System (Cat in the Hat's Learning Library) (Hardcover)
The book mentions the nine planets - it is no longer valid as Pluto has been declassified & proved to be a 'twin' body since this book was published.
The american wording of this book might also be annoying to some.
Other than the order of the solar system, there's little else in the way of factual enlightenment. Each page has a (very) brief rhyme about each planet which doesn't really impart much knowledge.
For ardent Seuss fans or early readers who are just confident to go it alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

There's No Place Like Space: All about Our Solar System (Cat in the Hat's Learning Library)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews