Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply excellent
Zillions of beautiful colour illustrations, perfect colour photography, plus a modern, clear and efficient text and layout approach. Few books are put together this well. I'm treating it as my "little" encyclopedia of woodworking. Fantastic value for money.
Published on 11 Nov 2005 by L. Vanhelsuwe

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars American Version
This is a slightly adapted version of the original Colin's edition intended for sale in the States. Whereas this may be fine for most, there are some differences between the two eg, "Rabbet" instead of "Rebate" etc which can be confusing for folk from the other side of the Atlantic.

Still suitable for the amature woodworker but I'll stick with the Colin's...
Published on 23 Mar 2011 by A customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply excellent, 11 Nov 2005
By 
L. Vanhelsuwe - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Manual of Woodworking (Paperback)
Zillions of beautiful colour illustrations, perfect colour photography, plus a modern, clear and efficient text and layout approach. Few books are put together this well. I'm treating it as my "little" encyclopedia of woodworking. Fantastic value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive guide to creating wood furniture & cabinetry., 16 April 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Complete Manual of Woodworking (Paperback)
This is a truly comprehensive guide to how a tree is turned into a beautiful piece of furniture or cabinetry. First, from the basic science of how wood grows, to how it is milled and cut and selected for various uses, the book includes dozens of photos of wood species and discusses their respective qualities. The author next turns to the basics of wood design and construction, with many photos of finished pieces. Following are chapters detailing every conceivable joint, the features of each wood-intended hand and power tool, construction and finishing techniques, etc. etc. If you had to turn an oak tree into a set of museum-quality wood creations, this would be the one book to which to turn. Highly recommended both as a primary read, and as a long-term reference manual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent encyclopedic resource for beginning woodworkers, 24 Aug 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Complete Manual of Woodworking (Paperback)
Covers it all, from a description of popular wood species, to the art of delicate inlays. While it may not show you how to create your first piece of furniture, it will give guidance on the various steps and problems along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book has it all, 15 Jun 2007
By 
John Hayes (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Manual of Woodworking (Paperback)
This is a thorough introduction to woodworking, and a truly useful and very attractive book. It covers wood selection, woodworking techniques and setting up a home workshop, and there's a huge amount of advice on tools and tool selection/use. Space is even found for some inspirational designs to get you thinking. The content gives the impression that it has been whittled down so that every one of the 320 pages contains the essence of ten ordinary pages... it is just crammed with concise, usable information. It really is the only book of its type you'll need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


81 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and comprehensive., 12 Mar 2004
This review is from: The Complete Manual of Woodworking (Paperback)
I must first state that I know nothing about woodworking. I bought this book because I was under the delusion that I could hand build a nice server cabinet. If I wasn't so clod-handed, and if I had a bit of room for a workbench, this book would certainly help me to achieve such a goal.
It is loaded with photographs and sketches. Every page is crammed with information. It is very much a reference book - each section has plenty of text, but it's not the sort of book I'm used to as a computing person. One section lists the softwoods and hardwoods of the world with photographs and wood properties. Another section goes into the many hand tools that woodworkers use, with many guides to using each type of tool. A section on power tools. A section on home workshops. A section on finishing wood in different ways. A section on every type of end-to-end, corner, and t-junction joint, including dovetail joints, biscuit joints, dowel joints...
It's got everything I imagine a budding woodworker would want to read about. Me, though: I'm too lazy to make a great deal of use of such splendid tips. I find a keyboard strenuous enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars American Version, 23 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Manual of Woodworking (Paperback)
This is a slightly adapted version of the original Colin's edition intended for sale in the States. Whereas this may be fine for most, there are some differences between the two eg, "Rabbet" instead of "Rebate" etc which can be confusing for folk from the other side of the Atlantic.

Still suitable for the amature woodworker but I'll stick with the Colin's edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY JUST THIS BOOK, 22 Aug 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Complete Manual of Woodworking (Paperback)
This book is a complete guide with topics ranging from the orgins of wood (how it is cut, different woods etc) to carving. It includes an extensive section on tools, standard measurements etc....
It is complete. I bought 4 other books I found out that this was enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 4 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Complete Manual of Woodworking (Paperback)
Really good book, explains everything from the starter to the advanced level. i liked it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!!!, 18 Nov 2007
By 
CARI JONES "D&T teacher" (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Manual of Woodworking (Paperback)
I am a design and teachnology teacher and wanted a resource to encourage my pupils to carry out research. This book explains everything in great detail and has step by step images of how to create various joining methods and the tools needed to create them. It has a clear section on timbers detailing where they can be found and working properties, listined under hard and softwood headings with clear pictures of each.
I would recommend this publication as one of the best reference materials I have ever bought.....excellent!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars basic overview but outdated, 6 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Manual of Woodworking (Paperback)
I included this book in an order to qualify for super saver delivery.I made the usual mistake, judging the book by its cover.
The first impression is that of excellent graphics, similar to the Collins book on wood.
After that its an odd book. Its published by an American publisher with a strong UK emphasis. Its essentially a beginners book including enough detail to be useful.
However it is clearly outdated, illustrating many machines that are obsolete - a DeWalt planer/thicknesser, a Startrite table saw and a Tyme cub lathe all of which have long ceased production.
The lack of any information on Miter saws which have essentially replaced the Radial arm saw and the woefully old fashioned chapter on cordless tools and screw technology are laughable.
Its not all bad. The chapters on joints and timber will be useful to any beginner.
All in all a good stocking filler for an absolute beginner but stay clear if you have a modicum of experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Manual of Woodworking
The Complete Manual of Woodworking by David Day (Paperback - 31 Jan 1997)
16.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews