Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tao-te-ching By Gia-Fu Feng and Jane English
With the Chinese language a direct word for word comparison is not always possible.I feel that this translation is the best that I have seen of the Tao-Te-Ching
Published on 26 Jun 2009 by J. P. Pardoe

versus
26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars words but no photographs
Please be aware that this paperback version is the text only and does not include any of Jane English's beautiful black and white photographs. It is only 107 pages and not 144 as stated on Amazon. Its a nice pocket size travel companion but unfortunately it's not all that I was expecting. I wish I didn't have to be so negative about such an influencial and enlightening...
Published on 27 Mar 2007 by SubseaTree


Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars words but no photographs, 27 Mar 2007
This review is from: Tao TE Ching (Paperback)
Please be aware that this paperback version is the text only and does not include any of Jane English's beautiful black and white photographs. It is only 107 pages and not 144 as stated on Amazon. Its a nice pocket size travel companion but unfortunately it's not all that I was expecting. I wish I didn't have to be so negative about such an influencial and enlightening text, however the description of this edition of the book is not complete on Amazon and I wish other potential buyers to be aware before they buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tao-te-ching By Gia-Fu Feng and Jane English, 26 Jun 2009
By 
J. P. Pardoe - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tao TE Ching (Paperback)
With the Chinese language a direct word for word comparison is not always possible.I feel that this translation is the best that I have seen of the Tao-Te-Ching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Warning!, 3 Mar 2011
This review is from: Tao TE Ching (Paperback)
If you order the paperback version under formats at the top of this page, you will end up buying a different book!
There seems to be a glitch. Try it. If you click on the paperback version the next page that loads will show a different book cover.It is the Tao TE Ching translated by Dwight Goddard and edited by Sam Torode, not this one. I didn't notice and got the wrong book.

If you go to Amazon.com you can "Look Inside" both books and compare the translations. Personally I find the Goddard/Torode version, though it wasn't the one I intended getting, is much easier to comprehend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, quick delivery but Be Warned!!, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tao Te Ching (Paperback)
This is a remarkable edition.

The translation is my favourite of all English translations I have read, and it is presented beautifully with fantastic and fitting photographs,
however be warned this is not a travel-sized book.. I was hoping to take it on a bike trip but it's much larger than I had in mind, it is quite a big book!

If you are considering buying this, I highly recommend that you do. It is, quite simply, brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a keepsake, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tao Te Ching (Paperback)
beautiful photography, calming and philosophical. would recommend this book to anyone wanting to find some sense of calm in their lives
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My all-time favourite book., 18 April 2013
By 
George Marsh (Southsea United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tao Te Ching (Paperback)
This translation is very fine. It is a beautiful blend of the original ideas and readable, sensitive English. I also love the photography. Jane English has an eye for the elusive Tao!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PURE POETRY, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tao Te Ching (Paperback)
THIS IS MY SECOND COPY MY FIRST IS WORN OUT i love the illustartions and the style, well recommended to share with friends and enthusiasts. Inspires to look further
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 18 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: Tao TE Ching (Paperback)
An excellent translation, in a beautiful jacket, however, I recommend you purchase the translation by 'Stephen Mitchell' before having a go at this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice translation, 22 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Tao TE Ching (Paperback)
i wouldn't dare to criticise this book - god would probably strike me dead for such presumption. but this is a nice translation (though i know no chinese, so am not really qualified to say how accurate it is) - it has a nice balance between poetry and clarity. some versions are obviously more literal from the chinese, but they read strangely in english: the authors of this have used a bit of creativity in their translation, and it really works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tao TE Ching
Tao TE Ching by Lao Tsu (Paperback - 1 Dec 1991)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews