Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books you will ever read
A spectacular account of a life lived by a truly extraordinary person. Whether its the best written book or not is immaterial as the words are genuine, highly compelling, thought provoking and display the level of regard the people that met this man hold him in.
His coach Mike Ditka summed it up best when he said, 'He had a far greater impact on my life than I ever...
Published on 4 Dec 2003

versus
1 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lazy and Fawning
A truly lazy piece of work - by both author and publisher. Also, one of the most fawning books I have ever read. Did I need to be told twenty times each page how great a man Walter Payton was? If you're thinking of reading this book because you're interested in football, forget it. Too much sugar makes people sick....
Published on 31 Aug 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books you will ever read, 4 Dec 2003
By A Customer
A spectacular account of a life lived by a truly extraordinary person. Whether its the best written book or not is immaterial as the words are genuine, highly compelling, thought provoking and display the level of regard the people that met this man hold him in.
His coach Mike Ditka summed it up best when he said, 'He had a far greater impact on my life than I ever did on his. He's the best football player that I've ever seen, and he's one of the best people I ever met.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The man, the legend., 26 Jan 2004
Every football fan knows about Walter Payton the football player, and the title of the book best sums up his football playing life, 'Never Die Easy'. He played hard and never took the easy way out. What people may not know is that this title could equally well be attributed to Walter Payton the man. Tragically torn from this world by cancer at a young age, this book gives an insight into Walter Payton, not only the great football player, but the great man. A truly inspirational story and a true lesson on how to live your life and to conduct yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Man Behind The Football Player, 16 Feb 2003
By 
TheHighlander (Richfield, PA United States) - See all my reviews
Everyone knows about Walter Payton, the hall of fame football player. They know that for years he single handedly carried the Chicago Bears on his back all the while working his way towards becoming the NFLs all time leading rusher. But the fans could not know the man Walter Payton, the father Walter Payton, the man under the football player.
This book is made up of thoughts, feelings and quotes of Payton's closest friends and family members as well as himself. It is insightful and emotional. These are people that cared for him deeply and it shows. Beginning with his childhood and progressing to his death, this book covers a lot. It was origionally started as his autobiograhpy but unfortunately he passed away before it's completion. So they added the perspectives of his friends and family, in their own words to round the book out.
I remember Walter Payton, the football player, and was a fan. I now know Walter Payton the man, and must say that I am a fan. He was an outstanding individual. Read this book and you will see a refreshing look at a professional athlete and a refreshing look on life and death. Walter Payton is truly a man to remembered.
Bottom line - you can't go wrong with this book. Read it an enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweetness makes for a sweet read, 7 May 2003
By A Customer
A inspirational and sometimes sad tale concentrating on Walter's passion for life and Football. Great moments such as his enshrinement in the hall of fame and the breaking of Jim Browns rushing record are all relived in detail as are the setting up of his lasting legacy the Walter Payton Foundation. In short a great read about a great man. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rivetting story, an incredible man!, 2 July 2001
By 
gazcrossley@aol.com (Manchester, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Never Die Easy: the Autobiography of Walter Payton (Hardcover)
Even if your vocabulary of American football stops at "quarter back", this book will take you right inside the mind of one of its greatest running backs in NFL history, and also one of the strongest people, denied a fuller stretch of life. Giving an insite into the incredible life-moments of Walter Payton, from his goal-less appearance at the national Super Bowl, to his deep, and fatal struggle with cancer. Apart from being a book you won't put down, this is one you will not pass on easily, the book carries real soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Never Die Easy : The Autobiography of Walter Payton, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would recommend this book to any fan of Walter Payton great insight into the man very good value, arrived quickly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Payton is a legend, 18 April 2013
If you're a Bears fan then this is a must read. Inspiring on every page. The greatest running back of all time, and an even more amazing person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sweetness!, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really nice guy in the end and an example for young people and other sportsmen on how to behave and give back to the community. Couldn't see the likes of some of our footballers ever stepping up to the plate like this bloke did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book!, 25 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
awesome gift. was nice to be able to buy it from america but have it shipped directly to my family in england
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One very happy husband made up for a naff Christmas presant, 7 Jun 2010
My other half worships Walter Payton so I was suprised he did not have this already. One happy Bear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Never Die Easy: the Autobiography of Walter Payton
Never Die Easy: the Autobiography of Walter Payton by Don Yaeger (Hardcover - 30 Sep 2000)
Used & New from: 1.28
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews