Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This book will make a great movie!, 7 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Cobra Event (Paperback)
Overall this is a great thriller and will make a terrific movie. I can already see Julia Roberts as the heroine, Austen and someone like George Clooney as the male hero Will Hopkins.
This is a plot driven book that has been extremely well researched by Preston. His previous non-fiction work "The Hot Zone" fired his interest in the threat of viruses and in this book he develops the idea of genetically modified viruses being used as an offensive weapon. In my opinion he has switched from writing non-fiction to writing fiction, fluidly. This is definitely a page-turner in the image of another great storyteller Michael Crichton.
However I disagree with the previous reviewers is their assertion that there are deeply drawn characters. In my opinion Preston does not match Crichton is this area. For most of the book I did not feel I really knew Austen at all. I didn't empathise with her much because there was little reference to her feelings and emotions as the Cobra Event unfolded. Crichton manages character development and compelling story telling at the same time. I think Preston is still developing this skill. Having said that this is Preston's first stab at fiction and in my opinion he's done a great job. I liked "The Hot Zone" for the scary reality. I loved "The Cobra Event" for the even more frightening potential reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A thrilling intense read from page to page, 14 April 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Cobra Event (Paperback)
This story examines the events surounding the use of a biological weapon for terrorist purposes. It follows several key characters through their investigation of the events leading up to and following the 'Cobra Event'. I found this book to be absolutely fascinating, both in terms of how it actually reads, but also for the depth of real life background the author goes into. As far as the story is concerned, the characters are well fleshed out and significant to the plot line, however they are always secondary to the main element of the story, that being the biological weapon. What made this book so enjoyable was not so much how you waited to find out what was going to happen, but the fact that so much of it could actually happen in real life. Richard Preston has invested a great deal of time into examining how events like this can be created in todays world, in fact he actually states in the appendix he has had to over simplify his descriptions of making the toxins because they are really that easy to do. This above all else adds to the realism, and the sense of fear about this story. I also found a great deal of similarity between Mr Prestons writing and that of Michael Crichton. Both have an eye for factual writing, which I find very enjoyable. So to summarise, I would strongly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a fast pased, well written, science fact based story, but with still plenty of gung ho action from a surprising cast of characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frightening, 23 Feb. 2003
By 
TheHighlander (Richfield, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Cobra Event (Paperback)
Richard Preston has written yet another frightening book about the possibilities of bioweapons. About the world we now live in. This book centers on the testing and attemtped release of a biological agent in New York City.
As the Centers for Disease Control, The FBI and the Military all scramble to identify the virus you see the daunting task that such an operation actually is. You see the fear and the concern of the experts. You see that even if you do everything right, it still may go wrong.
This book is frightening because of its realistic possibility today. It centers around Dr. Alice Austen and her dispatch from the CDC to investigate the event in the early stages. The story line follows her through the tracking and identification process of the virus. The description of the effects of the virus are also frightening.
Bottom line, this book is engrossing and reads easy. The author does a great job and communicating both the impact of the subject he is writing about and the depth of the characters that he is creating. A very good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So scary that you will never dare blow your nose again, 30 Jan. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cobra Event (Paperback)
For a long time I have been facinated by the premise of BW (biological warfare) having read a battered, dog-eared copy of Biohazard by Ken Aliban whilst on a train to Cardiff. I have read many others now but until this book I have always thought of BW as what is possible, rather than probable - now I am really scared.
The Cobra Event takes the reader on a journey through the technical background of BW and into the here, now and very real. I urge anyone with an interest to read this, but please, don't dwell too long on the possibilities - you will have nightmares !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Paranoid if you do, naive if you don't, 9 Mar. 2005
By 
Sally-Anne "mynameissally" (Leicestershire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Cobra Event (Paperback)
Someone is testing a very nasty, deadly virus on unsuspecting New Yorkers. What kind of psycho would do such a thing? The US authorities are understandably eager to find out and they throw everything at the problem: CDC, FBI, OCME, HMRU - you name it, they throw it. All the cleverest and most dedicated agents are on the case, equipped with the most sophisticated tools and communications, state of the art technology and heroic, self-sacrificing attitudes.
A friend gave me this book and I didn't really expect to enjoy it very much because I thought I'd read similar stuff before and found it irritatingly badly written with unconvincing characters and bad science. So I was surprised to find this particular book compelling reading, disturbingly believable and pretty well written. At times I thought: you'd have to be paranoid to believe this could happen. At other times I thought: you'd have to be naive to think this couldn't happen. On balance, it seems better to be a little bit paranoid than naive. At the end of the book, where Richard Preston gives an account of 'the reality behind The Cobra Event', he quotes a person called Thucydides, who said that 'hope is an expensive commodity' and 'it makes better sense to be prepared'. Very sensible attitude. Another nice touch that I appreciated was the provision of a glossary. Not many fiction writers are so considerate to their readers.
I recommend this book. It's clear that the author went to considerable lengths to make sure he knew what he was talking about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly amazing thriller, not to be missed!, 26 Sept. 2000
This review is from: The Cobra Event (Paperback)
I don't know exactly how I came about finding this book when I was searching on the Amazon site for something to take on holiday with me. After reading the reviews I thought this has to be good...let's check it out. Well I did and it is one of the best books that I have ever read - not only a great thriller that keeps your mind on the book 24-7, but it also teaches you many things and includes a little bit of history that's not boring in the least... I seriously recommend this book - you can't go wrong, it's worth every penny! Me? I'm gonna buy his other book 'The Hot Zone' next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling!, 23 Jan. 2003
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Cobra Event (Paperback)
Alice Austen, M.D., is an Epidemic Intelligence Officer for the Centers for Disease Control in Atlanta, Georgia. When she is sent to New York City to investigate several unusual deaths, she hopes to follow in the footsteps of other epidemiologists, who have solved the causes of mysterious disease outbreaks in the past. Little does she know, however, that this unusual (and deadly) disease is going to take her a good deal farther than she ever hoped...or feared. There are a number of nations and companies that are working on using genetic manipulation to make dreadfully dangerous diseases, and one of their biologists has decided that it is now time to deploy one of these horrific viruses.
This book, by the author of The Hot Zone and The Demon in the Freezer, is absolutely enthralling, keeping you on the edge of your seat, throughout this roller coaster of a book! The author may perhaps paint too frightening a picture of the potential of biological warfare, but he does go a long way toward explaining the job being done by UN inspectors in Iraq, and what has the United States government so frightened. So, if you are interested in bioterrorism, or just want to read a really good thriller, then I highly recommend this book to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terrifying - the more so for being fact-based, 19 Oct. 2003
By 
Keith Appleyard "kapple999" (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cobra Event (Paperback)
This is the 2nd book of what Richard Preston now refers to as his Dark Biology trilogy. He is undoubtedly one of the most informative writers on this topic, which certainly should be giving great cause for concern.
This novel is all the more effective because of the background information accumulated for his 1st book, painting a terrifying picture of what could happen.
I would also recommend the other 2 (non-fiction) books : The Hot Zones is about Ebola; The Demon in the Freezer is about Anthrax & Smallpox.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hmmm, 26 Oct. 2004
This review is from: The Cobra Event (Paperback)
This is on the surface a scary, scary book. In many ways this fear is founded upon scenarios that could happen, however speaking as a microbiologist there are yawning gaps in the science. However as high tech thrillers go this is second in my experiance only to the master, Michael Crichton. However, this book being the sole reason i am on my Microbiology course is praise enough. A book to terrify you and inspire you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frightening because it is fact-based, 19 Oct. 2003
By 
Keith Appleyard "kapple999" (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cobra Event (Paperback)
This is the 2nd book of what Richard Preston now refers to as his Dark Biology trilogy. He is undoubtedly one of the most informative writers on this topic, which certainly should be giving great cause for concern.
Whilst the other 2 books are non-fiction, this novel is great for applying the information that Preston uncovered in his research, to great effect.
I strongly recommend you also read the other 2 books : The Hot Zones is about Ebola; The Demon in the Freezer is about Anthrax & Smallpox.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cobra Event
The Cobra Event by Richard Preston (Hardcover - 27 Oct. 1997)
Used & New from: £1.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews