Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In Depth and good with but some small errors
A very detailed publication by subject experts that is well written, some errors evident around the areas of the new file system ReFS which are not accurate but on a whole a very detailed and well written publication.
Published 24 months ago by CS233

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not the book to keep - try others first
having read the previous 4 and 5 stars reviews (three in number at the time of writing) I wonder if the reviewers have actually read this book or whether in fact these reviews have been written to order.
This is one of the worst books I've read (well, I read most of it anyway)I've reached chapter 25 and finally gave up.
If 'leverage' is a word that you would use...
Published 17 months ago by ondo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not the book to keep - try others first, 27 Mar 2013
By 
ondo (London, England) - See all my reviews
having read the previous 4 and 5 stars reviews (three in number at the time of writing) I wonder if the reviewers have actually read this book or whether in fact these reviews have been written to order.
This is one of the worst books I've read (well, I read most of it anyway)I've reached chapter 25 and finally gave up.
If 'leverage' is a word that you would use commonly, then this might be the book for you. Otherwise there are better books about.
The amount of useful information is minimal; it is there but you need to shift through a lot of bloat. For example every time adding a feature or a role is mentioned, the author(s) felt the need to detail every step (nody style) time and time again.
Things like "when you use x feature, resources will be used in addition to the resources required for normal operation"...duh; quotes like this appear more than once.
The book is also badly written and/or badly edited. The result feels like a copy/paste exercise hence not very coherent.
Hopefully this would be of help to some people and my few weeks of having this book as companion would not have gone to waste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In Depth and good with but some small errors, 27 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very detailed publication by subject experts that is well written, some errors evident around the areas of the new file system ReFS which are not accurate but on a whole a very detailed and well written publication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good., 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows Server 2012 Unleashed (Hardcover)
I got a recommendation from a video for learning windows server 2012 from this book.
many people in the IT world prefer this book.
and im not a big fan of ebooks on small screen when it comes to reading 1600 pages.
i recieved it about week ago and im not disapointed. for now ive learned many new tricks
and its made my life easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows Server 2012 Unleashed (Hardcover)
This book will help you study for the exam and walk you through the new operating system well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars server 2012 unleashed, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows Server 2012 Unleashed (Hardcover)
a work in progress. If you are a newbie to Server 2012 read the staneck all in one first. This book will then make a lot more sense
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written and easy to follow, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easy to use and a very good reference guide. Well written and easy enough to understand. Having worked in IT since 1994 I look for books that don't put you to sleep and this appears to be one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows Server 2012 Unleashed (Hardcover)
Great book....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows Server 2012 Unleashed (Hardcover)
Good book,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Guide to Windows Server 2012, 4 Dec 2012
By 
S. Hall (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows Server 2012 Unleashed (Hardcover)
Bought this on 8th November 2012 after downloading the 180 day evaluation from Microsoft. Initially I somewhat naively assumed the help screens and forums would provide answers to my questions but Server 2012 is so new there wasn't much out there.

It's quite obvious Microsoft are making a serious effort to dominate the data centre with a one size fits all server solution as SBS 2011 will cease in June 2013. Server 2012 is a major change from previous versions and you really do need a decent book to help guide you through the maze of options. On the whole there are lots of step by step guides on how to configure your server the way you want to work and a comprehensive index helps identify the relevant page. The fact that it's been written by a team has prevented the authors going on ego trips by explaining how clever they are which jars on other technical publications. I haven't tested every aspect of their guide as the next version of Windows Server would be released before I finished but the key components are well covered - I haven't had to go anywhere else to get an answer.

So if you're looking for a guide to migrating to Server 2012 then you could do a lot worse than this publication. I now need to roll out Exchange 2010 and I'm quite happy to order the companion book from the same publishing house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Windows Server 2012 Unleashed
Windows Server 2012 Unleashed by Chris Amaris (Hardcover - 16 Sep 2012)
25.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews