Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost Perfect Introduction To SQL, 12 Mar 2013
By 
Joseph Scott "JJ" (Wakefield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself SQL in 10 Minutes (Paperback)
I wasn't exactly a newcomer to SQL but I'd picked up bits and pieces from using a company business intelligence program running on Microsoft SQL. This book primarily teaches "SELECT" techniques and touches on more advanced topics in the later chapters. As such it is perfect for people like myself who don't want to learn how to become a database designer but more of an analyst. The book itself is not very long at 22 chapters of about 4-6 pages each. It does get a little vague about certain concepts such as chapter 21 on cursors which I felt was inadequately covered. 10 minute lessons from this book have vastly improved my understanding of SQL. I can thoroughly recommend this to any newcomer to the language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Practical Book, 13 Mar 2013
By 
Bozza (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself SQL in 10 Minutes (Paperback)
This is a really excellent book. It has been really easy to get myself set up with MySQL, load up the learning database with the scripts provided online, and to carry out little 10 minute learning activities. I am really grateful for such a practical effective offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Godsend!, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself SQL in 10 Minutes (Paperback)
I previously tried to learn SQL from a popular yellow book, which was more full of terrible anecdotes and bizarre references vaguely linked to terms... terrible. This book is simple and straight to the point and easy to follow. All the information is there, it's just not padded out with waffle. Would reccomend to anyone that needs to learn SQL in a hurry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars brilliantly simple, 4 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself SQL in 10 Minutes (Paperback)
very easy to use and understand, laid out in a way that allows the lessons to be learned and referred back to easily. I am working on Oracle, but we are migrating to SQL server - and this book gives references to both which is helping with the translations.

Basic level users or people wanting to start using SQL should consider this a good starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 5 Mar 2014
By 
Ms. Sa Ben-arros "mioumaou" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself SQL in 10 Minutes (Paperback)
It is very easy to follow, very simple to understand and the files are provided, I think it is one of the best self help books I have ever read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself SQL in 10 Minutes (Paperback)
It says what it does. I used this book in conjunction with an online website that has free sql lessons. And my learning experience was quick and easy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well written and relatively easy to follow, 26 Oct 2013
By 
Andrew Grant (Brighton, E Sussex. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself SQL in 10 Minutes (Paperback)
I need to learn SQL for work. This book has helped enormously.
Worth the money. Even more experienced colleagues use it for reference purposes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars loosing focus?, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself SQL in 10 Minutes (Paperback)
I bought this to replace the previous edition that did not specifically cover SQLite. It remains a good place to start especially for someone who needs to retrieve records from an existing db rather than create a new one. It is well written, clear and direct. But covering so many SQL versions in one book does mean it is necessary to check that there is not a little box somewhere that says it will not work with your version of SQL.
Which is a pity, SQLite needs a book like this, concise, practical, to-the-point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good starter, 19 July 2013
By 
Jeremy Burns (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself SQL in 10 Minutes (Paperback)
I bought this for my wife who needed to understand basic SQL to help her define some reports. It's a good starter guide and got her off the ground. You can't learn the whole thing in ten minutes, but it is easy to absorb in ten minute chunks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easily accessible background to using SQL, 23 May 2013
By 
M. Elliott (N.W.London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself SQL in 10 Minutes (Paperback)
This is a really good introduction to SQL. I have been using SQL on various applications for a couple of years without formal training. This guide is easy to read and use and already has taught me some things in the first few chapters. It also points out differences in syntax for the same functions between different querying software. Everything is in bite-size chunks. Thoroughly recommended for those new to SQL querying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9ea072c)

This product

Sams Teach Yourself SQL in 10 Minutes
Sams Teach Yourself SQL in 10 Minutes by Ben Forta (Paperback - 25 Oct 2012)
12.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews