Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars12
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 June 2012
This book was great for helping me to quickly get up to date with iOS 5 development! It is superbly illustrated and broken up, it displays the important information for the particular chapter in a clear way, whether that be chunks of code or simply the size values for the hardware's screen you are developing on. One small criticism would be that the previous books contain most of the same stuff found in the first few chapters so if you have read another book or are already familiar with iOS development just a heads up that the first few chapters may seem like class test revision!

All in all a very helpful book and reasonably priced considering that it may well lead to a world class app!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
I am now at Hour 21 of this book and, for me its pitched exactly right. I have worked methodically through the chapters and the structure of the book works really well. Its worth building the example apps from scratch rather than just copying the code that you can download (although that's handy when you cant get an app to run - you can use as a comparison). As we are now at Xcode 4.5 and IOS 6, the book is slightly out of date and some properties etc are deprecated and you need to do some on-line research to find out how to change the code (although examples still work with deprecated methods etc)- this is actually an advantage in my view, as it means you cant just slavishly follow the examples - you have to put some thought into it. In terms of time as there are 24 chapters and each chapter is an hour you could theoretically complete the book in 3 days - I wouldn't recommend that though - its worth taking more time over each chapter and going back to them so you fully grasp the concepts.

I would highly recommend this book and for someone new to Object Oriented programming and Objective C, then buy it in conjunction with Stephen Kochan's excellent 'Programming in Objective C'.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2012
This is a fantastic book for anyone, no matter their level of expertise. It divides what is a complex and difficult art into manageable, and above all readable, sections. It's written like a book, not like a reference guide. Sure you may have to re-read a few things a couple of times, but I'd be surprised if you didn't with any book on this topic. An excellent foray into making your iPhone do things for you!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2012
Don't be misled - it will take you a lot longer than 24 hours to do this book. I am currently spending about 3-4 hours for each of their hours and think you could possibly do it in a week but only if you have a very fast internet connection and a following wind! But is very good and takes you through a good basic training course which would cost £1000s if you had to buy it from one of those organizations...
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2012
I picked up this book after being away from iOS development for a few months. Happy to see it is updated for both iOS5 and XCode 4.2.

Some chapters are a little heavy to digest in an hour but overall the book is well written and clear, pictorial examples are easy to follow.
Definitely worth the purchase.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2012
This was my first book about iOS and iPhone development. And just what I needed, very simple examples, easy to follow and understand. Also with at lot of screenshots which is nice when your are new to Xcode. If you are just starting out, and want to get going fast, I would take this one to the basket and hit buy!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2012
This is the best Tutorial book out there. I have bought the first (ios 4) edition, the ios 5 edition and i am going to buy the ios 6 edition as well. Very easy to understand and well structured. It covers almost everything for a starter & intermediate user.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
i have some basic coding experience and this book explains everything really well taking you step by step through the whole process. definitely recommend to anyone with an interest in ios development
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2015
For dyslexic reader and first time coder it didn't help with uni put it that way. Got brownie points because I bought a copy and took it in uni but thank god for YouTube videos put it that way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2013
If you have used a Sams guide before then you know what to expect. Great for novices like me who just want to know about developing systems but do not want to go further.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)