Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book
This is a good book for the beginner. Just remember that you won't be a Java programmer 24 hours after starting the Introduction! Treat it as 24 lessons of 1 hour spread over a period of days or weeks.

As an experienced programmer, it is difficult to throw away old habits and learn the O-O way. Even so, I was able to grasp the concepts easily.

It is...
Published on 17 April 2012 by HA

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Excellent to begin with, feels like your skimming by the end.
I nearly gave this 1 star as i became so unhappy with it by the end but as it did a very good job in the beginning i pushed it up to 2 stars as i did learn something which allowed me to have an idea of what i was looking for when trying to find answers relating to the last half of the book.

What i found most perplexing is that at the start of the book it was...
Published 22 months ago by Thefluffyrocker


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 17 April 2012
By 
HA (Manchester) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself Java in 24 Hours (covering Java 7 and Android) (Sams Teach Yourself...in 24 Hours) (Paperback)
This is a good book for the beginner. Just remember that you won't be a Java programmer 24 hours after starting the Introduction! Treat it as 24 lessons of 1 hour spread over a period of days or weeks.

As an experienced programmer, it is difficult to throw away old habits and learn the O-O way. Even so, I was able to grasp the concepts easily.

It is important to follow the sequence, do the Workshops and carry out the extra-curricular activities at the end of each "Hour". If it takes longer than an hour, so be it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Optimistic, 2 May 2012
By 
Bob (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Kindle Version
Although a very good book the 24 hour claim should be viewed with suspicion although you could work through the book in that time it would only be possible if you download all of the programme examples in the book otherwise even typing time would take longer than that. Also learning a programming language from scratch with no other knowledge, which this book attempts to teach is a daunting task which does take time and practice. However the thing that annoyed me about the book and prevented me giving 5 stars was the poor attempt at humour throughout the book, at the end of each hour's section there is a questionnaire with answers which is very useful when trying to judge if you have retained any of the information taught but I found some of the question in the multi choice sections such as "With all this talk about throwing and catching what do the Texas Rangers need to do in the off season?" to be neither funny or helpful.
I find the Kindle version very useful as I can carry the Kindle with me and easily use this book as a reference if I need to the only problem is that some screen shots and light grey text within programme examples are not that easy to read on the Kindle.
However the Kindle version has the advantage that at the end of the book there is a very comprehensive index which is hyperlinked to the text so everything is just a click away without flicking pages and losing your place.
If you stick with it and it does go from the very easy "hello world" type of programme to the complex however once you have got there other books follow with more complex concepts.
If you are buying this as there is Android in the title once you get to Hour 24 you realise that you have learnt Android programming as Android is an operating system and you need to know Java to write programmes to run on Android.
In summary a very comprehensive book that teaches most things you would want to know except for some of the very advanced concepts. But it does itself no justice by saying that it can be done in 24 hrs, Einstein could perhaps but I am not sure about the rest of us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Excellent to begin with, feels like your skimming by the end., 18 Oct 2012
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself Java in 24 Hours (covering Java 7 and Android) (Sams Teach Yourself...in 24 Hours) (Paperback)
I nearly gave this 1 star as i became so unhappy with it by the end but as it did a very good job in the beginning i pushed it up to 2 stars as i did learn something which allowed me to have an idea of what i was looking for when trying to find answers relating to the last half of the book.

What i found most perplexing is that at the start of the book it was very well written, every program or example you were given had a detailed explanation of what it was doing but as you get deeper into the book and subjects become more complicated you increasingly get a brief description of the whole program and are left t figure out the individual parts by yourself. I spent many hours on a single piece of code, messing with it to try to figure out what each piece of code actually does. This is specifically important when you come to write your own code as the code you write will be in many ways specific to what you are trying to achieve so you can't just copy and paste in the example you have been given, even if it is a case of changing the order that parts of the code are inserted.

As i said in the title i think the real problem overall is you feel more like your skimming through the last half rather than truely understanding, seemingly because the task of learning a chapter subject is too big for the limited space available.
A classic example is a problem i am currently encountering which is trying to retrieve data i have stored in an xml file.

He has shown me how to write an XML file so i can save my data. Which is very simple.

He then tells you how to retrieve data from an XML file, but not this file you have just created, instead using a much more complex xml file gathered from a website and using an open source library you have to download and install.
So i can write an xml file using the basic java libraries but don't know how to read an xml file in basic java and i know how to read certain information from a complex xml library but don't know how to write a xml file using that library so i could recreate my basic xml file using that library and likely know how to retrieve it or in the very least know how to retrieve this basic data using that open source library.

Started off nice and simple at step one, went all the way to step 10 but missed out steps 2-9.

I think the title of this book is very apt in the sense that you do teach yourself. I have spent many times more hours on forums, reading online tutorials and simply googling for information to understand some of the lessons in this book than i have spent reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book to get you started with Java, 6 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself Java in 24 Hours (covering Java 7 and Android) (Sams Teach Yourself...in 24 Hours) (Paperback)
Got this book I must say it is great book to start teaching you Java . The book starts out explaining what The History of Java and how it is used to today. Which I feel is good beacuse it good to know what you are programming with and how it use. Then you will be quickly programing your first Java program then you would be advanceing to more harder topics.To get your Java Skills up and running great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing as a beginners book, 2 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself Java in 24 Hours (covering Java 7 and Android) (Sams Teach Yourself...in 24 Hours) (Paperback)
As a new developer I have done a lot of learning in the past couple of years. You can use this book even if you have never done any programming in your life. Clear, very well structured, non-technical and still detailed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this book started off really well but about half way through it seemed like the author was in a rush and not explaining things as well.

if you have prior experience with Java then you might be ok but if you are looking for something to get you started then i would suggest that you start off with something from the dummies guide series as these are much better suited for people who are literally just starting to learn Java.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Really wish it was more concise!, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself Java in 24 Hours (covering Java 7 and Android) (Sams Teach Yourself...in 24 Hours) (Paperback)
For me this author spends too much time waffling about quite straight forward concepts. I found I was having to constantly slap myself across the face to stop my mind from wandering. The fact that key points are buried in paragraphs of text also makes reference more difficult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent tool, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself Java in 24 Hours (covering Java 7 and Android) (Sams Teach Yourself...in 24 Hours) (Paperback)
I give this book 5 stars because it does what it says. You just don't learn it all in a straight 24 hour period, that would be silly.

I have dipped into other languages, but this is the first one I have had a serious attempt at trying to learn and this book has been great. So far I am on "Hour 7: Using Conditional Tests to Make Decisions", and I have completed most of the hours in less than an hour however that may be because I already understand some of the more basic concepts from when I had a look at C++ last year.

The book is informative, and explains everything you really need to know. I don't find the humour in the book particularly annoying as I know other people have, but instead think that it helps keep the book "light" and interesting as I find it hard to concentrate on one thing for a long time.

I have taken each hour one hour at a time, giving myself a long break in between each to let everything sink in and so as not to overload my brain, because as I said previously trying to do too much all at once is not a great idea, as some of the concepts may be hard to get your head around. And it also gives you time to think of ways in which you might use those concepts in any ideas you have for programs of your own.

Good for beginners, and experienced programmers alike. I highly recommend this book.

Jamie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I learned a lot !, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself Java in 24 Hours (covering Java 7 and Android) (Sams Teach Yourself...in 24 Hours) (Paperback)
A very good book if one wants to learn Java! Cheap for what is offers ! Anyone looking to program should invest in book like this .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Beginner's Manual, 16 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself Java in 24 Hours (covering Java 7 and Android) (Sams Teach Yourself...in 24 Hours) (Paperback)
Confucius once stated that he gave his students a portion of the required knowledge for their lesson and if they did not go and discover the remainder for themselves he would not teach them again _ I don't know of any book that completely covers all of the aspects of a programming language_ and Java in particular has so many facets that it would need an entire Encyclopedia Britannica!
That said_ this book makes an excellent attempt to give comprehensive coverage of Java_ and importantly_ is backed up by an up-to-date and pertinent website (the same cannot be said of all Sam's websites!) _ the teaching necessarily cuts some corners but everything to get an aspiring Java programmer is included_ so i recommend it for anyone starting out to learn 'how to do Java' _
I should add that each chapter ends with a Q&A section that includes a general knowledge question as well_ so you won't just be learning Java!
Enjoy : )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews