Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent reference to get the maximum out of Python
The author of Python Essential Reference is David Beazley, who among other occupations created the open-source SWIG tool and the WAD mixed-languages debugger. His background is pervading throughout the book, in which the reader gets a clear sense of what is happening behind the Python programming language and learns how to use it efficiently instead of considering it as a...
Published on 13 Aug. 2009 by Tom G.

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not too bad
This is a good book if your brand new to python, however if you are looking for quick reference coding then this is not the book for you. There is a considerable about of text in each chapter which is mainly aimed at people whom are new to python, people who have used python before should buy a quick reference handbook.
Published on 21 Sept. 2012 by Mike


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for a reference, 18 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python Essential Reference (Developer's Library) (Paperback)
This book is what it says on the tin. It's a reference book. Whilst it does have examples, I still find myself looking online for further explanations. It's a great book, it has everything you'll ever need to know, however, i'll say it again, it's a reference book! If you're looking for something to learn Python from - this is not it. If you've had some Python experience, or are a developer, then you'll probably find this book really handy, so you can look up any command you can think of and see exactly what it does. If you know what you're buying, go ahead, you'll not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best book on Python, 13 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Python Essential Reference (Developer's Library) (Paperback)
I have been coding Python for many years, butI read this book from cover to cover during a couple of evenings learning a some new details in every chapter, If you are a serious Python programmer, you need this book.

Only regret is that I did not buy it sooner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Python reference, 20 Jan. 2010
By 
W. Baer (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python Essential Reference (Developer's Library) (Paperback)
I ordered this the other day from Amazon but I've been using it on Safari Books Online as well. It's rare to find a decent programming book these days that have quality examples within the book rather than making you reference their source code in a download from their site.

If you're interested in Python, I'd recommend checking out the Python website's tutorial and if you like it most definitely pick up this book.

The fourth edition has also removed the outdated version 2 only code and does a nice job of telling you what you'll have to do in Python 3. In my opinion you'll want to stick to Python 2 for now but it's nice to have a book that's slightly future proof and will help you out when you find you're going to have to make that move to Python 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Python users!, 8 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python Essential Reference (Developer's Library) (Paperback)
Actually one of the best Python books I've had. It's not for rookies but for more advanced users. If you want to quickly understand some topic or need a comprehensive reference then go for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 3 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great reference book! simple and concise, recommending it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 25 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A goo reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great., 23 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Python Essential Reference (Developer's Library) (Paperback)
Great resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Python book, 2 Feb. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python Essential Reference (Developer's Library) (Paperback)
I fully recommend this book for everyone interested in Python language. I have checked about 10 other Python books but this is in a class of it's own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One of the worst Python books out there, 16 April 2010
This review is from: Python Essential Reference (Developer's Library) (Paperback)
I'm really disappointed. I expected to find some good comparison between version 2.x and 3.x, but that's not the case. The (few) examples are like 3 lines long. It doesn't really tell you anything you can't find on the official reference (it actually does the opposite).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Python Essential Reference (Developer's Library)
Python Essential Reference (Developer's Library) by David M. Beazley (Paperback - 9 July 2009)
£25.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews