Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maddening..., 25 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Linux Kernel Development (Developer's Library) (Paperback)
This book covers a lot of the kernel API and inner workings in depths and use-cases that the kernel's own Documentation tree and general online discussions don't even begin to cover. (Good Luck googling kthreads, for example!) And few, if any, other books match it.

As such it's indisputably required reading for anyone in their first couple of years of kernel hacking, and is handy for people who've done it before but need reminders...

But it has problems! Introduction of terminology is patchy. (For example process groups and namespaces are mentioned in an early chapter, but aren't explained until much later.) Cross referencing swings between excessive and non existent, prior knowledge leaps between basic compsci principles to experienced linux developer, and I've found more than a few typos and other glitches. Despite these the book is still a damn fine resource.

It waffles, but then enthusiasm always does, and I've a high enough opinion of this book that I wouldn't be ashamed to lend it to someone who needed help, indeed I've annotated my copy against that time.

None of the glitches in this book will waste much time of a good reader, my only complaint would be that it's a shame that the author didn't have enough respect for his own (remarkable!) expertise to check the details, this is a third edition, the wrinkles should be out by now! And it is for those reasons that I must give this four, rather than five, stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for novice kernel hackers, 17 May 2011
By 
This review is from: Linux Kernel Development (Developer's Library) (Paperback)
This book gives an excellent overview of the modern (2.6.35+) kernel series. It's aimed at developers wishing to make their first foray into the kernel, and assumes a good knowledge of C (the programming language) and architectural concepts. It does a great job in explaining not only the design of key parts of the kernel, but also the reasons for the design. There is some historical discussion as well, to allow legacy pieces of kernel design to be understood, but if you're planning to hack older kernels, this probably isn't the book for you.

Great sections on locking, memory access, devices, etc. - although it's not primarily a reference book, it can certainly act in that capacity as well. The author notes that the book _can_ be read non-linearly, but as there is quite a lot of back-referencing, you'll probably want to read it from the front to the back (at least first time round).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Readable even for a newbie, 17 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I know C but am no expert. But this book was easy to understand and written in an entertaining fashion. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good overview of the kernel and the "Linux way", 5 Oct. 2011
By 
A. J. Gauld (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Linux Kernel Development (Developer's Library) (Paperback)
This book does most of what I wanted in that it describes the why of the kernel features as well as the how. The focus is on the how and there are many code snippets but to put them in context it does help to open up the files in $EDITOR and see how it really looks. The coverage is broad and detailed enough to get you started. For real in-depth knowledge the answer is in the code.

The one area I thought slightly weak(hence 4 stars) is in that most hands-on area of all, actually putting together a patch and submitting it. This is covered very briefly(3 pages), presumably because its assumed that if you can work on the kernel you can probably figure out the process for patching yourself! A step by step example would have been useful here. This section also includes a short section on kernel coding style (and the use of indent/Lindent which I thought would have been better at the front alongside the stuff about the GNU compiler C enhancements/features.

A few more diagrams might have been useful too, to illustrate the data structures and calling sequences (Some activity diagrams or sequence charts maybe?). There are a few but there could have been far more. Or am I the only programmer who thinks mainly in pictures? But overall this is a worthy attempt in an area which has little else of note.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid, 9 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Linux Kernel Development (Developer's Library) (Paperback)
I did not buy this book in order to immediately start writing kernel software. I wanted to learn from a "nuts and bolts" point of view how kernels (and the Linux kernel in particular) work. The book does an excellent job of the material that it covers. It avoids being dry as far as possible and is generally well-written, with useful code extracts sprinkled in liberally. My only concern is (given the size of the kernel) it gives no hint to what it does not cover... Presumably not a problem for those with more kernel experience than I.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Probably the most essential information about linux kernel, 28 Oct. 2013
By 
Vitor Silva - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Linux Kernel Development (Developer's Library) (Paperback)
I found it very enlightening, presenting the most essential, well documented, information about Linux kernel. I'm using it as a thorough guide in my PhD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Linux Kernel Development (Developer's Library) (Paperback)
Comprehensive introduction to the kernel you need to read this before diving into the code, I wish I had bought this book sooner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This book is a must, 28 Jun. 2014
By 
S. Javaid "Cout << "What"!" (Milton Keynes) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Linux Kernel Development (Developer's Library) (Paperback)
Very very well written, gets through the concepts in a clear and concise manner. A must have book for all linux users wishing to expand their horizons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Linux Kernel Development, 26 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Linux Kernel Development (Developer's Library) (Paperback)
I am still reading / studying this book but can see why it has been highly recommended. Easy to read and systematic. Covers all aspects of Kernel hacking for those familiar with computer terminology and are interested in playing around with Kernel structure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 3 Nov. 2010
By 
P. Ryan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Linux Kernel Development (Developer's Library) (Paperback)
I've not read it all just yet, but this does seem like a great introduction to the Linux kernel. Also, it seems nicely typeset to me and the paper weight is good!
+1 Would read again! ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Linux Kernel Development (Developer's Library)
Linux Kernel Development (Developer's Library) by Robert Love (Paperback - 22 Jun. 2010)
£30.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews