Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars25
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£33.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 January 2013
Very good book. It gives a clear and smart view of php and web developing. I have not read it completely but untill now it is not disapointing me. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2014
Useful reference and reminder. Shipped promptly and delivered in excellent condition, as described. Useful if you are looking to find out more on the subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
Easy language and flow easy to follow with real examples applicable in many situations.

I recommend it! For beginners specially.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2015
Great for learning PHP and for using as a point of reference. Worth buying if you're serious about learning PHP.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2015
The book is in very good condition but CD is missing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2009
If you're new to PHP & MySQL development, you will not find a more comprehensive resource to take you forward. Starting right off from the basics, its well paced, informative yet never confusing, and will progress nicely up to more interesting projects (online shop and an web based email client to name a few).

MySQL is well covered in addition to PHP, offering a brief setup guide (I think), how to setup users, create databases and tables, and will cover pretty much an MySQL function you would need to use day to day.

Object Orientated PHP is covered in a dedicated chaper, but disapointingly it is never used in any further examples or projects within the book (although I am using the 3rd edition rather than the current 4th), but I would say this is a minor drawback compared to the benefits of this book, esp seeing as how there are numerous online guides to OOP online.

If this is your first step into the world of PHP & MySQL, I cannot recommend a better guide to get you started.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2015
Good resource and delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2014
good product. good price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2009
I was quite looking forward to using this book based on previous high ratings but was utterly disappointed straight away. In my opinion, this is definitely not for beginners. The Unix installation instructions were just awful, and the Windows ones no better. They assumed far too much understanding of the subject and I feel cheated that this is advertised for beginners.

Also, as another reviewer has stated, the binding is cheap and marks easily. Unfortunately, I'm unable to get a refund.

My advice: save yourself the money and hassle and use a free, online resource. All the stuff given in the book is available for free on the PHP and MySQL websites anyway (and the installation instructions are actually usable for beginners). If it were possible to give this book zero stars, I wouldn't hesitate.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2009
This is an excellent book with a good layout and explainations. The added advantage is that it also comes with the source code to all examples in the book.

This is also an ideal reference book and easy to use.

I would highly recommend this PHP and MSQL book to all users at all levels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)