Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading
Sams Teach Yourself Microsoft SQL Server T-SQL in 10 Minutes
A great little book. It has Chapters on some of the new Xml and Full text Searching stuff that is good. It also has the standard stuff. It is products specific as the name suggests.
It covers what can be quite a heavy subject in a very readable way.

So it's simple.

SELECT [Book]...
Published on 5 Feb 2009 by Mr P

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Condition of the book
Vile.
Some pages have been scribbled on in ballpoint pen.
Selotape used to reinsert a page.
Appalling condition. I would decline give or even to lend such book to a friend, let alone sell it as "in Good condition"
Published 8 months ago by Mr Joe Lamont


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading, 5 Feb 2009
By 
Mr P (Surrey , England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself Microsoft SQL Server T-SQL in 10 Minutes (Sams Teach Yourself...in 10 Minutes) (Paperback)
Sams Teach Yourself Microsoft SQL Server T-SQL in 10 Minutes
A great little book. It has Chapters on some of the new Xml and Full text Searching stuff that is good. It also has the standard stuff. It is products specific as the name suggests.
It covers what can be quite a heavy subject in a very readable way.

So it's simple.

SELECT [Book] WHERE [BookName] LIKE '%SQL Server T-SQL' AND Author = 'Ben Forta'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 15 May 2009
By 
Mr. D. Singh (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself Microsoft SQL Server T-SQL in 10 Minutes (Sams Teach Yourself...in 10 Minutes) (Paperback)
If you have been dropped in at the deep end and need to learn T-SQL commands quick then this is the perfect book. Each chapter is 10 minutes long and is written in a very clear manner so you'll be learning in no time. Great book for those new to the subject or those who want to expand their knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick and uncomplicated reference, 25 Mar 2009
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself Microsoft SQL Server T-SQL in 10 Minutes (Sams Teach Yourself...in 10 Minutes) (Paperback)
Exactly what I wanted - a short reference I can flick through and pick up the basics from to get me started on things like stored procedures and triggers. Nothing too involved or complicated. Although the description states, "Includes SQL Server 2005" like it was something new, I was able to use this basic grounding on SQL Server 2008 as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Condition of the book, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself Microsoft SQL Server T-SQL in 10 Minutes (Sams Teach Yourself...in 10 Minutes) (Paperback)
Vile.
Some pages have been scribbled on in ballpoint pen.
Selotape used to reinsert a page.
Appalling condition. I would decline give or even to lend such book to a friend, let alone sell it as "in Good condition"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself Microsoft SQL Server T-SQL in 10 Minutes (Sams Teach Yourself...in 10 Minutes) (Paperback)
Easy to follow instructions for the beginner, I purchased this and another book for my staff at the office,. who have never really use SQL, these guys are now flying and are now quite advanced
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overall book on T-SQL, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having had some experience of T-SQL, I wanted to understand some of the other fundamentals, and work out where my knowledge base is. This book gave me exactly that, an overview of the basics which although I knew most of this, helped solidify my understanding, and then an expansion into some of the other tricks of the trade. Very pleased with this, and it will be a sort of "SQL bible" for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great starting point, 17 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself Microsoft SQL Server T-SQL in 10 Minutes (Sams Teach Yourself...in 10 Minutes) (Paperback)
This book gives an excellent grounding in the basics of T-SQL. Each chapter takes around 10 minutes to work through and is accompanied by practical exercises so you can learn by doing. The writing style is superb - every concept is explained in a very clear and accessible way. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good starting point, But you'll need a more detailed book, 2 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself Microsoft SQL Server T-SQL in 10 Minutes (Sams Teach Yourself...in 10 Minutes) (Paperback)
First don't think you'll lead SQL Server in just 10 minutes! I think the tile is a bit misleading. The idea of this book is they've broken the learning down into 30 lessons that should take about a 10 minutes to read. Now I'm a slow reader and took my time with each lesson and reckon a couple may have been about 10 minutes but most were probably double or more than that.

The lessons are roughly broken down like this:
- 3 basic introductory chapters
- 14 on components of the select statement (including sub query and full text search)
- 2 on changing data (insert, delete update)
- 2 on Table definition and changing (create, alter, drop, view)
- 5 programming, stored procesure, cursors, triggers , transactions
- 4 mixed bag chapters: XML, Globalisation and Localisation, Security, Performance
- Plus 5 useful appendicies: getting started; Exmaple tables; TSQL Syntax, DataTypes, Reserved words.

The chapters are good and cover not just the basics but some neauances to bear in mind but you'll definitely need another book that goes into more detail, also this book covers virtually nothing about how to use these the statments in the interactive application. If you know SQL already from using other databases (like me) you'll know much of this anyway and may fine it a bit irritating but I found it useful to plod through them and recap and take on the specific's of SQL Server.

Your probably wondering why it got 4 stars well I've just found the short format to be an excellent introduction of SQL Server. I got through the book in 15 days; if I started with the more substatial book I'd probably still be on chapter 4 or may have even stopped.

If you can only afford one book a more detail one will probably be a better buy I do recommend this for getting a quick overview of the language. Should be especially good for people new to databases but I found it had value too. One or two additional lesson on how to run these statements would have been a very good idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great quick reference book!, 14 Nov 2011
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself Microsoft SQL Server T-SQL in 10 Minutes (Sams Teach Yourself...in 10 Minutes) (Paperback)
New to SQL and bought this book as a quick reference guide. Great value for money. Easy to use with great examples and detailed explanations.Only critisism would be that the statments covered in the book are limited - but this makes the book durable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book great value for money, 26 Sep 2011
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself Microsoft SQL Server T-SQL in 10 Minutes (Sams Teach Yourself...in 10 Minutes) (Paperback)
Content of the book is short and snappy enough to get the point across without overloading with information. An excellent book for anyone seriously considering learning T-SQL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews