Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The way to learn PHP
Thid book is the best way to learn php I have encountered. After spending over 100 on books, the one i ended up learning something from was this book. Covers everything from the basics to the more advanced aspects of php. Ony bad thing is that it assumes a bit to much that you have access to php 5. But if you don't you can just skip those parts of the book, for now...
Published on 11 Feb 2005 by mgyth

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Uni book
Needed this book for uni as was reccomended by tutor, good book, helped a lot with assignments and studying for exams
Published 4 months ago by Miss A Lakhdar


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The way to learn PHP, 11 Feb 2005
This review is from: PHP and MySQL Web Development, 3rd Edition (Paperback)
Thid book is the best way to learn php I have encountered. After spending over 100 on books, the one i ended up learning something from was this book. Covers everything from the basics to the more advanced aspects of php. Ony bad thing is that it assumes a bit to much that you have access to php 5. But if you don't you can just skip those parts of the book, for now.
A must have if you wanna learn php.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, so much useful code, 17 Jun 2005
This review is from: PHP and MySQL Web Development, 3rd Edition (Paperback)
This is an extremely well written book, with an abundance of useful code that can be modified to suit all sorts of projects. I am new to PHP and MySQL and this book has served as an excellent introduction. It guides you through building all sorts of web based applications step by step and explains the code clearly. It has been the most useful and accessible computer book I have ever bought. I would have been lost without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic learning aid and a great reference tool too, 30 April 2006
By 
Mr. C. Oliff "cosmicata" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PHP and MySQL Web Development, 3rd Edition (Paperback)
"PHP and MySQL Web Development, 3rd Edition" is a a beast of a book, weighing in at a hefty 960 pages and covering everything from the very basics to database design & creation, web services, security and XML and beyond.

It's thoughtfully written, with many code examples and very well designed and explains everything you need to know in detail.

A fantastic learning aid and a great reference tool too. It includes a CD-ROM which contains all the code examples as well as a PDF of the entire book. It's sometimes useful to have the PDF open on the side of the screen and learn by editing and creating code in your favourite code editor at the same time.

Highly recommended for anyone with an interest in learning PHP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 23 Jan 2006
This review is from: PHP and MySQL Web Development, 3rd Edition (Paperback)
I've started my own web design company. This book really helped me when I decided I needed to learn php and mysql. Good for the beginner and still for those experienced with php. I still find it useful now. My advice is if you want to buy one book on this subject then this is the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant introduction!, 17 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: PHP and MySQL Web Development, 3rd Edition (Paperback)
Brilliant introduction to PHP. Clear and consise examples and explanations, and pretty much covers everything you need to know in a simple and easy-to-learn manner. Includes useful practical projects.
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 13 May 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PHP and MySQL Web Development, 3rd Edition (Paperback)
Very good introduction to PHP although it doesnt include some of the obvious basics you might want to use.

Note: It covers PHP 5 - and most hosting online is still running PHP 4 (as of June 06) - so you will have to adapt areas of your code quite considerably to run on the older version.

On the whole a good book with good example code - best used in tandom with online resources such as php.net
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly reccomended primer, 25 July 2007
This review is from: PHP and MySQL Web Development, 3rd Edition (Paperback)
The first thing to note about this book is it's fantastic readability.

I have an object-oriented development background and wanted a book to get me started in PHP and MySQL for a large scale web site I am developing. I picked a copy of this book off the shelf in a bookshop in Cornwall got on the train and by the time I arrived in Suffolk I had devoured the first 200 or so pages.

I have found it to be an exceptionally useful book, clearly explaining many aspects of web development and how to implement them using the powerful combo of PHP & MySQL. I have already recommended it to three other people, who having no previous experience in the subject matter are starting to create useful work.

I would say that to a complete newbie it might be a second book but once you have a basic knowledge and understanding of web development and object-oriented development then this book will catapult yo to the next level and beyond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 Nov 2008
By 
M. Bradshaw "MarkB" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PHP and MySQL Web Development, 3rd Edition (Paperback)
I bought this to learn from scratch PHP. It's an excellent book and has brillient examples. I had a working web site up and running within a week including security and personalisation options.

If you want a PHP based web site and have just a bit of HTML knowledge then you'll not get a better book then this to help you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Uni book, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PHP and MySQL Web Development, 3rd Edition (Paperback)
Needed this book for uni as was reccomended by tutor, good book, helped a lot with assignments and studying for exams
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PHP AND MYSQL WEB DEVELOPMENT, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PHP and MySQL Web Development, 3rd Edition (Paperback)
Lots of detail and examples of code. Goes from the basics of PHP and MySQL to more advanced stuff. Thorough coverage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

PHP and MySQL Web Development, 3rd Edition
PHP and MySQL Web Development, 3rd Edition by Laura Thomson (Paperback - 29 Sep 2004)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews