Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't hesitate - just buy it
As a relative newcomer to PHP and MySQL (but with some experience in older programming languages) I started by purchasing separate, basic books on PHP and MySQL. Both were fine, but soon failed to take me far enough.
"PHP and MySQL Web Development" looked to be an excellent 'second stage' text book, and I have not been disappointed.
Worthy of particular...
Published on 14 Jan. 2004 by N. Utting

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Out of date
The book is too old and technology has moved on.
You're better off spending the bucks and buying a new release !
Published on 17 Feb. 2012 by KingRav


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't hesitate - just buy it, 14 Jan. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PHP and MySQL Web Development, 2nd edition (Paperback)
As a relative newcomer to PHP and MySQL (but with some experience in older programming languages) I started by purchasing separate, basic books on PHP and MySQL. Both were fine, but soon failed to take me far enough.
"PHP and MySQL Web Development" looked to be an excellent 'second stage' text book, and I have not been disappointed.
Worthy of particular mention, is that fact that this book is relatively formal: no jokes or rows of exclamation marks. Frankly I don't want a jokey atmosphere in a text book, so this feature gains the book at least one extra star just for being aimed at an adult audience.
The introductions to PHP and MySQL are excellent, as are the examples, and every few pages I found myself thinking "Now I can add that feature to my website" or "That answers a question that's been bugging me for a while". Even regular expressions now make sense.
Advanced users - a stage which I doubt I will ever reach - will need a book that takes them further, but this is the perfect book for intermediate-level users, and thus far I haven't found any part of the book which I would criticise.
Summary: A PHP and MySQL manual for grown-ups. Highly recommended.
Nigel Utting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars do not look any further if you look for a PHP/mySQL book, 12 Dec. 2003
This review is from: PHP and MySQL Web Development, 2nd edition (Paperback)
This is a marvellous book for both newbies to programming and experienced programmers who are forking out into PHP/mySQL. I'm a developer / webdesigner with 10+ years experience in app development and think this book is great. I especially like the case-study like chapters in the back which talk you through eCommerce and web-typical different scenarios such as Shopping Cart, Online Content Management System, User Authentication, etc. Just what you need. I second the other reviews and say that you can't go wrong with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely top class, first rate book!, 28 Nov. 2003
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PHP and MySQL Web Development, 2nd edition (Paperback)
This book is a no-nonsense, cut-to-the-chase, teach you all the essentials for the novice + plenty of advanced principles and source code for the seasoned developer. I love it! Well done Luke and Laura, I own plenty of PHP and MySQL books and this is by far one of the best, if not, the very best. I purchased both editions of the book and both times I have never been disappointed. It serves as a fantastic programmers guide and reference, and the CD that comes with the book contains tons of code for use in your own projects. A MUST BUY! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic for experts and beginners alike, 9 Dec. 2003
By 
This review is from: PHP and MySQL Web Development, 2nd edition (Paperback)
Having used several programming languages in the past I wanted to move into PHP and MySQL. Unlike other scripting languages, PHP is fairly easy to pick up especially for those with a javascript background. This book makes it even easier by being a very quick read by programming standards and everything is well explained with useful examples.
I cannot fault this book, it is superb. If you are not sure which PHP / SQL book to choose, you cannot go wrong choosing this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best programming book ever, 19 Aug. 2003
By 
Mr. P. D. Garner "phil911e" (Lancaster, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PHP and MySQL Web Development, 2nd edition (Paperback)
This is far and away the best programming book I have ever read. If you want to make a site using PHP and MySQL DB backend this is the book for you. I thought the level was just right, you'd need some programming experience but not to an advanced level to get on well with it.
I felt it was laid out well and as I would achieve something with my site and was ready to move on to the next level, it would be there in the next chapter (e.g. Session control with PHP). Excellent examples are another strong feature, with everything (including a FULL e-book) you would want comes on the CD too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No fancy cartoons just good instructions, 3 Mar. 2004
This review is from: PHP and MySQL Web Development, 2nd edition (Paperback)
I hesitated starting this book as it looked so huge and didn't have the cutsy cartoons in many other beginners books but I was pleasantly surprised.
The instructions are very clear and set out in a logical manner making it very easy to use. If you have a little understanding of PHP already you can jump straight to one of the well explained examples. Another good point is the examples are of practical use. Rather than making you create a pointless loop to count from 1 to 10 it starts straight off with teaching you how to add up an customers order and add shipping and tax!
Later the examples include making shopping carts and customer accounts that they can login to etc.
Also includes a CD with the examples mentioned in the book as well as aphache server, php and MySql to get you going. The instructions for setting this up are also much better than in other PHP books I've read.
In summary Very Practical and easy to understand despite no cartoons or colour pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 19 Aug. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: PHP and MySQL Web Development, 2nd edition (Paperback)
This is one book that can't be beaten, even by O'Reilly. No matter what stage of the learning curve you come in at, it still shows you something new and usefull with excellent example source code to help further. If you want to learn more about PHP and/or MySQL BUY THIS!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book/reference manual., 18 July 2004
This review is from: PHP and MySQL Web Development, 2nd edition (Paperback)
This book is ideal for those beginning PHP who want simplified examples to follow. The book does not go into much depth which I personally found dissapointing(the reason i gave it only 4 stars). The last few chapters are devoted to project ideas (forum,email,shopping cart) with code explanation, which you can extend if you wanted.
I would desribe this book as for beginners looking for there first book but not for those who have developed in PHP before. Coupled with the PHP manual(a brilliant resource in itself) you will soon be developing web applications.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking!, 17 Jun. 2004
By 
toychicken (Cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: PHP and MySQL Web Development, 2nd edition (Paperback)
A usefully organised book for beginners. It starts with exploring some of the basics of PHP, before introducing MySQL. It has helpful projects, to get you used to the concepts and practices, and best of all, the entire book is contained on a CD-ROM (including the project code)
A must for anyone learning PHP and/or MySQL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny..., 20 Jun. 2003
This review is from: PHP and MySQL Web Development, 2nd edition (Paperback)
This is an excellent book for intermediate level developers who use PHP/MySQL. Starts of with a brief intro to PHP/MySQL, literally the very basics so previous knowledge is assumed. This book does not serve as a reference point, but rather shows you how to practically devise solutions for the modern day (e.g. Content Management, e-commerce, user administration/tracking etc). A definite must read for anybody who has a little HTML/PHP knowledge and wishes to further it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

PHP and MySQL Web Development, 2nd edition
PHP and MySQL Web Development, 2nd edition by Laura Thomson (Paperback - 12 Feb. 2003)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews