Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Start for Beginners
This book is extremely good for beginners wanting to learn the foundations of DirectX. It starts with the Basic Windows APP right down to an Ultima style RPG game. Being a beginner i think its damn good book but for any one advanced i would get something else.
Published on 3 Jan 2003 by berridgeab

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good intro to the subject - but lacks substance
A good introduction to programming graphics & sound with DirectX, but there is a lot of "I'm not going to explain that here..." which leaves you feeling slightly cheated.
You are hand-held through all the introductory steps of setting up DirectX and carrying out basic operations like drawing simple graphics and playing music. However straight after talking about how...
Published on 5 Feb 2004 by James Adams


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Start for Beginners, 3 Jan 2003
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself Game Programming with DirectX in 21 Days (Paperback)
This book is extremely good for beginners wanting to learn the foundations of DirectX. It starts with the Basic Windows APP right down to an Ultima style RPG game. Being a beginner i think its damn good book but for any one advanced i would get something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good book for mediore programmers, 6 July 2003
By 
W. Dalmijn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself Game Programming with DirectX in 21 Days (Paperback)
This is an excellent book which explains the real basics of game programming in easy to follow steps. It is clear written and uses a game as an example which you help building from the scratch and it learns! most books give you mini examples, but this book is actually giving you a full fledged game you help programming by following the author.
This really helps anyone who wants to start programming games since it gives you a taste of how intruiging it is to do.
The only downside however is that you need to have good knowledge of Windows programming and C++ and some C
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good intro to the subject - but lacks substance, 5 Feb 2004
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself Game Programming with DirectX in 21 Days (Paperback)
A good introduction to programming graphics & sound with DirectX, but there is a lot of "I'm not going to explain that here..." which leaves you feeling slightly cheated.
You are hand-held through all the introductory steps of setting up DirectX and carrying out basic operations like drawing simple graphics and playing music. However straight after talking about how you could do something really useful, then the topic is dropped and your off to the next thing.
If you are looking for a first book on DirectX then you could do a lot worse than this one, but an experienced programmer would do better to look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In only 9 days, 29 Dec 2004
By 
M Johnson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself Game Programming with DirectX in 21 Days (Paperback)
This book is easy for anyone who wants to learn how to program in DirectX. The book starts with some background theory along with simple tutorials to follow. This book follows the same style as many other SAMS teach yourself books and a chapter teaches you just what it says. After only 9 tutorials/days you can start to program a game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, but not for beginners, 19 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself Game Programming with DirectX in 21 Days (Paperback)
This book is well written, and code is explained thoroughly, my only criticism, is the assumption that the reader must already have previous knowledge of C++ programming
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars sam way to teach you bollacks, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself Game Programming with DirectX in 21 Days (Paperback)
worse book to learn and read im just glad it only coz me a couple of pound you must need full knowledge of c++ and even then you not learn any thing ha
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor. Skips over a lot of detail. End game not so good., 6 Nov 2005
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself Game Programming with DirectX in 21 Days (Paperback)
This is a poor book on DirectX programming. The aurthor skips over a lot of detail with the annoying "Not required for the level of this book", which left me feeling cheated because of only getting half the knowledge of the subject. Which I thought the other half should of been included in the scope of the book, at this level and cost of the book.
The end game is so poor that you will think your back on your old 8bit computers of the 80's. Let the title of the game guide you "The Adventures of Jasper Bookman"??? Which the aurthor admits is an 'old-fashioned role-playing game', and I confess that it's the worst £28.99 I've spent this year.
OK so the book is only aimed at the Beginning-Intermediate level, and anyone who is interested in starting to write DirectX programs will get a very basic knowledge of the subject from this title. But would do best to find a different title covering this subject.
With so many gaps on the subject in this book I'm not sure that I really have the skills I was hoping to gain from this title, and as such I am now looking to buy a different book covering DirectX programming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sams Teach Yourself Game Programming with DirectX in 21 Days
Sams Teach Yourself Game Programming with DirectX in 21 Days by Clayton Walnum (Paperback - 26 Aug 2002)
£28.83
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews