Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative guide on how to combine Access and SQL Server
Having developed Access applications for a number of years, I was asked to create a system utlising SQL Server as the backend with a windows interface for the client. I knew Access was able to communicate with SQL server, but how that was achieved was unfamilar territory. The book guided me through the intracacies of the subject revealing the different mindset that was...
Published on 24 April 2002 by Mark Lidster

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good structure but outdated
This book was certainly great when it was first published. Unfortunately, it is outdated. Still I learned quite some interesting techniques. It would be great to have an adapted updated version of this book.
Published 11 months ago by Luc F. Appelmans


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative guide on how to combine Access and SQL Server, 24 April 2002
By 
Mark Lidster (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Access Developer's Guide to SQL Server (Professional) (Paperback)
Having developed Access applications for a number of years, I was asked to create a system utlising SQL Server as the backend with a windows interface for the client. I knew Access was able to communicate with SQL server, but how that was achieved was unfamilar territory. The book guided me through the intracacies of the subject revealing the different mindset that was necessary to achieve the desired result. Loads of useful code examples, all downloadable from the web. One comment, the Index at the back wasn't comprehensive enough. However I read the book from cover to cover so was able to locate all the subjects I needed. Not recommended for those who are unfamilar with Access or database terminology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely invaluable for upsizing from Access to SQL, 23 Sep 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Access Developer's Guide to SQL Server (Professional) (Paperback)
If you've been tasked with upgrading an Access 2000 database to SQL Server and you're not experienced with SQL Server then this book is invaluable.
I've had this book for a little over six months and it's never left my desk. A complete guide that at the very least provides a good introduction (and often a lot more) to all the topics you'll need to know - and it's very readable to boot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for anyone upsizing from Access to SQL Server, 13 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Microsoft Access Developer's Guide to SQL Server (Professional) (Paperback)
This book contains many useful tips and covers everything about the move from Access 97/2000 to SQL Server 2000. It's very well written and explains everything clearly for the intermediate/expert user. The book has no CD with the source code, but all the code can be downloaded from the website. Definitely recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, Informative, well documented, 21 Mar 2002
This review is from: Microsoft Access Developer's Guide to SQL Server (Professional) (Paperback)
I picked up this book and read through the chapters. I have Access 97/2000 developer experience albeit on a small scale. We need to move to SQL Server 2000 to cope with increases in Databases and Users. This book has enabled me to plan the transition and has pointed out most of the pitfalls, I would definitely have met.
Great for intermediates upward for whom upsizing to SQL if a concern.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book - dreadful binding!, 19 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Access Developer's Guide to SQL Server (Professional) (Paperback)
A really good book for Access to SQL Server - a little dated now as all references are to SQLServer 2000 (note: SQL Server 2008 has debug for T-SQL which speeds up the learning process).

I'm glad I bought it - apart from the binding being really poor so all the pages gradually come loose.

I'm sure book binding was sorted sometime in the middle ages - another lost art!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very good structure but outdated, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Access Developer's Guide to SQL Server (Professional) (Paperback)
This book was certainly great when it was first published. Unfortunately, it is outdated. Still I learned quite some interesting techniques. It would be great to have an adapted updated version of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fine, 15 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Access Developer's Guide to SQL Server (Professional) (Paperback)
Just what you'd expect when ordering, what more can you say other than it does pretty much what it says on the tin...what more you could ask for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant book for developers, 6 July 2011
This review is from: Microsoft Access Developer's Guide to SQL Server (Professional) (Paperback)
This is definately a book written for developers, I was really pleased with it. So many books just don't go in depth enough. I was tasked with creating a front end for a sql database utilising all the stored procedures that were already written in SQL. Using this book I was able to achieve this goal quite easily. I would highly recommend this book if you are a developer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Look like someone had eat their dinner off it, 8 April 2013
By 
B. Welch (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Access Developer's Guide to SQL Server (Professional) (Paperback)
I guess it was not reviewed for condition too closely as I had to use anti-bacteria wipes on the cover before I would even pick the book up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Microsoft Access Developer's Guide to SQL Server (Professional)
Microsoft Access Developer's Guide to SQL Server (Professional) by Mary Chipman (Paperback - 13 Dec 2000)
26.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews