Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent work
This book is an excellent way to get familiar with using Active Server Pages (ASP) to link to databases. The real world example of creating an on-line store provides a way to visualise how to build an interactive web site using a database back-end. Do not let the e-commerce focus put you off, the content is generic to any database driven site. The style of writing makes...
Published on 18 July 2001

versus
16 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the Past
Ah, back to the good old dot.com days when all you needed was a rotating banner and watch the money come rolling in..... At 2 years old this book is quite simply outdated. Obviously it does not cover the most important programming developments in Commerce Server & Transaction server and completely omits Content Management Server. Its covering of Global.asa is...
Published on 3 Jan 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent work, 18 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself E-Commerce Programming with ASP in 21 Days (Paperback)
This book is an excellent way to get familiar with using Active Server Pages (ASP) to link to databases. The real world example of creating an on-line store provides a way to visualise how to build an interactive web site using a database back-end. Do not let the e-commerce focus put you off, the content is generic to any database driven site. The style of writing makes it easy to read and can be followed by a newbie to programming, or a developer with past Visual Basic experience. Overall - superb value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool, even for non-English reader, 15 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself E-Commerce Programming with ASP in 21 Days (Paperback)
Hi, I bought this book 2 weeks ago. I'm gonna finish it within 1-2 days. NO 21, but 15-16 days = so great this book is. The text, layout and everything is cool. I didn't have any experience with ASP before, now I really think I know a lot, not the most, but still enough for an excellent server-side Web Site. Thanks guys, thanks...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is what you are looking for, 3 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself E-Commerce Programming with ASP in 21 Days (Paperback)
I have reasonable Access experience, basic knowledge of Visual Basic and reasonable grasp of HTML. With this book I had an e-commerce site up and running in less than 3 weeks. My server is Linux/Apache/iASP/MySQL quite different from the tools used in this book, but it worked fine with some adjustments to the connect strings (as you would expect).
The book takes you through all you need from coding through to SQL and ADO manipulation of a database, even the validation of credit cards are covered. I strongly recommend this book to anyone who want to make ASP work for you without going through a million theory lessons first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An initial grounding on all components covered & more, 16 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself E-Commerce Programming with ASP in 21 Days (Paperback)
This book takes you through the basics of the areas covered, such as Access databases,Vbscript, ASP & SQL, and then goes on to demonstrate how it can all be put together to make a it work . With very little programming knowledge you can follow this book and employ some of the techiques . This book encouraged me to get into programming ( VBscript)and above all made it fun .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Step by step with Examples book, 8 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself E-Commerce Programming with ASP in 21 Days (Paperback)
I used this book for my project in 2003. It was my first experience with ASP coding.
The layout is brilliant and it has step by step how link a database, create SSL certificates, shopping cart and much more.
Because of this book i got a high grade in my project.
Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damn Good!, 23 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself E-Commerce Programming with ASP in 21 Days (Paperback)
This is an excellent book for both those fairly new to asp and those with a good grasp. it covers all aspects of setting up an ecommerce shop from programming to legal and security stuff. Buy It!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Did the job for uni, 13 Feb 2011
By 
L. Taylor (Leicester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself E-Commerce Programming with ASP in 21 Days (Paperback)
I bought this book to aid me with part of my uni course. It did the job what more can I say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sam's ASP E-Commerce in 21 Days, 18 Jun 2009
By 
N. Richardson "Lovebytes" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself E-Commerce Programming with ASP in 21 Days (Paperback)
This is an excellent book on ASP e-commerce. It covers all the aspects that I required. The book was an ex-library issue but was in very good condition and included the CD with the course content on it. Delivery was very prompt and well packaged. I am very pleased with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Damn Good!, 23 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself E-Commerce Programming with ASP in 21 Days (Paperback)
This is an excellent book for both those fairly new to ASP and those with a good grasp. It covers all aspects of setting up an online shop from programming to legal and security stuff. Buy It!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VFM (Value For Money) - worth every single penny, 6 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself E-Commerce Programming with ASP in 21 Days (Paperback)
This is the fourth SAMS book I have purchased. Three have been hidden away never to see the light of day again; one has pride of place at my workstation and is my first reference when dealing with e-commerce. I found the Wrox edition "Beginning E-Commerce with Visual Basic et al" a little too much on the "heavy going" side, whereas the SAMS 21 Days takes you through in nice manageable steps. Although not a complete convert to SAMS, this has restored some faith in them (although I am very much a Wrox fan).
Building an e-commerce site - get this book without delay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sams Teach Yourself E-Commerce Programming with ASP in 21 Days
Sams Teach Yourself E-Commerce Programming with ASP in 21 Days by Jonathan Levine (Paperback - 21 April 2000)
23.62
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews