Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but with at least one obvious topic missing
This is an excellent book, which is a wonderful start to programming in C++. As an initial teaching book, one would expect some topics to be left alone for the reader to get to later. However, there is one massive area left virtually uncovered - the Standard Template Library.
The STL is what makes C++ the strong language it is, and completely ignoring it is nigh-on...
Published on 24 Jan 2005 by S. D. Barnett-cormack

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent learning resource
... this is an excellent introductory text which does exactly what it says on the cover. If you lack any previous programming experience it explains the basic concepts clearly and concisely - it also reads well, with the author explaining more difficult concepts from a number of different angles. I have found that this book has given me a solid grounding in c++.Whether...
Published on 2 Nov 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent learning resource, 2 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: "Sams Teach Yourself C++ Programming for Linux in 21 Days" (Paperback)
... this is an excellent introductory text which does exactly what it says on the cover. If you lack any previous programming experience it explains the basic concepts clearly and concisely - it also reads well, with the author explaining more difficult concepts from a number of different angles. I have found that this book has given me a solid grounding in c++.Whether you are just beginning or already have some experience programming, you will find that this book's clear organization makes learning C++ fast and easy.
This book does not teach you how to use or install Linux, although a copy is included on the CD-ROM. There are plenty of other good books for that purpose (like the Sams Linux Unleashed series).
C++ (like the C language before it) is a standard language, so it is the same core language under Linux as on other platforms. In other words, the C++ you learn from this book applies to many different systems and compilers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but with at least one obvious topic missing, 24 Jan 2005
By 
S. D. Barnett-cormack "SamBC" (Lancaster, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "Sams Teach Yourself C++ Programming for Linux in 21 Days" (Paperback)
This is an excellent book, which is a wonderful start to programming in C++. As an initial teaching book, one would expect some topics to be left alone for the reader to get to later. However, there is one massive area left virtually uncovered - the Standard Template Library.
The STL is what makes C++ the strong language it is, and completely ignoring it is nigh-on inexcusable. However, it does at least mention its existence, so it's not too bad. In a similar vein, it would be nice to mention the C++-ish pointers, and casts, but if someone goes to learn about the STL, then they'll find out about these as well.
I still give this a good rating, however, as it is absolutely outstanding in all other regards. The style and level and so on are an example to all such books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good book for beginners, 6 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: "Sams Teach Yourself C++ Programming for Linux in 21 Days" (Paperback)
It is a good book, however for those, who doesnt have any programming expirience in the past. Authors explaining everything step by step. I found that first 4-5 days are really borring and i think it could assembled in 1 day. Despite this, you'll start to fill that you actually know something. Author, been an excellent C++ programmer, makes many good points through entire the book, which kept me from skiping chapters. I was never kind of person, who prefers to learn programming using book and thought that learning by reading code is a lot more interesting and efficient, however i changed my mind after reading C++ programming in 21 days. The book is not that much about programming for linux (apart from bonus week, which is 6 more additional lessons), but mainly teaches you C++ and a use of g++ compiler. If you primarily interested in Linux programming and already have some programming expirience, i suggest you buy other book, e.g. Sams Linux Programming Unleashed, which gives you examples in C rather than C++, but pays attention to Linux. The thing i didnt like and think will no be advantageous for newbie is that this book assumes that you already have knowldge how for example binary and hex works at the same time as explains staff assuming that you never seen computer before and author suggests you to read up on what he is talking about in some other book, rather than spending several minutes on explaining it. I give it four stars, because i have really learned many things while reading it, not only programming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Overly simple and low-level., 2 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: "Sams Teach Yourself C++ Programming for Linux in 21 Days" (Paperback)
I really dont like this book I have tried learning C++ with it and I think that I have failed miserably. That was until I got a different book. Bjarne Stroustrups book is excellent and he gives you the power to start doing things. As far as I can tell there is really no excuse for not includ instruction eon the Standard Template Library early in this book and I felt the explanations were opten overcomplicated as is often neccesary when a book is excpected to have 1000 or so pages. Give this a miss.
I must say, I suppose that the first chapters are well wirtten, but it really does go on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a MAGNIFICENT book, 29 Jan 2002
By 
Jan Verhoeven "fruttenboel" (Tilburg. NL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "Sams Teach Yourself C++ Programming for Linux in 21 Days" (Paperback)
Experienced programmers should -NOT- skip the first few chapters; these contain first grade guidelines for what programming is about.
To give an idea about the thoroughness of this book: the authors say: cooments are necessary, but if you need a lot of comments to explain the code, change the code.
Every chapter is readable. Is funny. Halfway the chapter, you might think you don't understand but at the end, in the quizzes, you understand.
Yes, this book is a recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

"Sams Teach Yourself C++ Programming for Linux in 21 Days"
"Sams Teach Yourself C++ Programming for Linux in 21 Days" by Paul Cevoli (Paperback - 21 April 2000)
Used & New from: 7.78
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews