Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction
This book is pretty good for those who are moving from a hybrid o-o language such as VB6 to a real o-o one. Even if you have a basic understanding, it does teach you the correct way to "think" about objects before coding them. It introduces us to basic UML, such as class diagrams and "use case", which is what developers need. I haven't got time to know UML inside out, so...
Published on 17 Mar 2003 by Jennifers Daddy

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It didn't last very long
A few positive thoughts:
* This book can be read very quickly
* This book has pictures in it which helps break up the text
* A lot of the explanations of concepts are done very intuitively and well
* Introduction of UML as a language-neutral implementation of the concepts is good
A few negative thoughts:
* The author's prose style is...
Published on 25 Mar 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction, 17 Mar 2003
This review is from: The Object Oriented Thought Process (Sams Professional) (Paperback)
This book is pretty good for those who are moving from a hybrid o-o language such as VB6 to a real o-o one. Even if you have a basic understanding, it does teach you the correct way to "think" about objects before coding them. It introduces us to basic UML, such as class diagrams and "use case", which is what developers need. I haven't got time to know UML inside out, so a basic understanding is what I need. It's to the point, so I was able to read the whole book in one weekend. It doesn't pretend to be a programming text book as such, but does do exactly what it says in the title e.g. makes you think in objects.
It is a bit odd though when it keeps referring to other books all the time.
Apart from that, for a cheap book this is pretty good to get you on your way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good place to start, 29 Jun 2007
By 
Lendrick (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A few years ago as a mainframe (COBOL) programmer coverting to OO programmimg I found this an excellent introduction to the approach.

Probably not for the experienced; but beginers should find it a good place to start
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good, but not excellent, 17 April 2002
This review is from: The Object Oriented Thought Process (Sams Professional) (Paperback)
I wanted to write a review of this title as an antidote to the reviewer who paints it as being wafer thin and the reviewer who makes it sound better than it is.
All in all, I think this is a good book - given its scope. It seeks to explain simply and in plain English the essential concepts - mostly basic, but touching on the more advanced ideas - underpinning the basis of Object Oriented Programming (OOP).
As such, it succeeds admirably. The author is experienced as a programmer and writes well. He does not try to burden the reader with difficult concepts and gets the absolute essentials well. Where he doesn't go into detail he refers the reader on to other books which do.
Note, however, that this title doesn't aim to examine OOP in depth. This was never the author's intention and so he can hardly be faulted for that. Rather, what Weisfeld is trying to do (and, I think, he succeeds about 90% of the way) is to get people unused to thinking in an object oriented way into the necessary mindset. As a result, I was fairly pleased with this book. A careful (and easy) read confirmed what I knew and cleared up most of what I didn't of the basics.
Where I would criticise the book - and why it only gets 4 stars rather than 5 - is in its execution. As the first reader hints, this title could perhaps have been 10-20% longer and explained some key extensions of OO thinking in greater depth (i.e. UML and the implementation process are both covered in a very cursory way) . And while I'm happy to go to other books after having read this, I felt it would have been better to have these "extensions" more tightly integrated into this title.
After all, the purpose of reading this title is to explain the conceptual "Why" of Object Orientation, and that includes the implementation issues as well as a (clear) description of the concepts.
Overall, a good book and useful for those who don't know much about object orientation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It didn't last very long, 25 Mar 2004
By A Customer
A few positive thoughts:
* This book can be read very quickly
* This book has pictures in it which helps break up the text
* A lot of the explanations of concepts are done very intuitively and well
* Introduction of UML as a language-neutral implementation of the concepts is good
A few negative thoughts:
* The author's prose style is extremely repetitive - a bit like being taught in a primary school: To do ABC we do XYZ. In other words, doing XYZ will bring about ABC, or to put it another way, ABC will achieve XYZ. What we are basically saying is that XYZ-ing is the best way to ABC. This gets annoying. I got a strong impression that the author was trying very hard to fill up the pages. If you've ever read the O'Reilly book on Information Architecture you'll know what I mean.
* The text doesn't appear to have been edited at all. It's littered with typos both in the body and the code samples.
* The pictures merely aggregate the text inside really dodgy clipart - they never actually add anything to the explanations. Some of them are laughably gratuitous. Once again I got a strong impression of page-filling.
* The target audience is unclear. There are lots of code samples in Java (with many typos and syntax errors). This is fine if you already know some Java syntax, but the book's supposed to be about the OO thought process, not Java.
* Many of the concepts aren't dealt with in much detail at all. This isn't a problem in an introductory text as long as there's enough to make them understandable. In some instances I could tell that the only reason I got what he was saying was because I had read about it before - less repetition and more content would have gone down really well to nail down certain concepts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction for developers from non-OO background, 15 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Object Oriented Thought Process (Sams Professional) (Paperback)
Moving from RPG to Java meant that I needed to make a fundemental shift in my way of thinking. This book provided a excellent introduction to OO concepts, jargon and UML. Although experienced OO developers may find this book too easy, for a beginner I could find none better. I actually enjoyed reading this book and afterwards I felt like I wasn't going to start my new job completely green.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Leaves you feeling cheated, 21 Mar 2002
This review is from: The Object Oriented Thought Process (Sams Professional) (Paperback)
This book tempts you with some intriguing concepts, and then instead of explaining in detail just refers you to other well known books.
All in all an easy to ready overview of the concepts, but nothing more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good no non-sense book, 20 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: The Object Oriented Thought Process (Sams Professional) (Paperback)
I think this is one of those books that does pretty much what it says on the tin. If your already into OO it might not go far enough but as a beginner or someone who as toyed with OO it provides a good foundation.

It uses Java code to illustrate the examples - don't be put off by this - just run with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the money, 30 Nov 2005
No, this book does not explain the OO thought process. It shows that there are classes and objects and inheritance and so on but it does not explain how to write good OO code. Instead the examples in this book are faulty and misleading; the author did not really bother to think thoroughly about his examples. And most of the text and pictures in this book seem to be for filling purpose only. The author repeats himself all the time and many of his sentences as well as some chapters say nothing at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Object Oriented Thought Process (Sams Professional)
The Object Oriented Thought Process (Sams Professional) by Matt Weisfeld (Paperback - 23 Mar 2000)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews