Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, interesting book.
The book is aimed at beginners, and leads them through a step by step guides to creating powerfull and exciting applications. Ideal for anyone with no programming experience.
Published on 25 July 2001

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars too simple by far
For anybody who intends to program anything involving more than one form (of the 'how many mpg did my car do?' variety) this book is too simple by far. Microsoft's own books on VB are far better for the beginner - the index of this book is woefully inadequate, and the content isn't much better... want to print a line in a graphics (picture) box and then print 'this is a...
Published on 16 Dec 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars too simple by far, 16 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself Visual Basic 6 in 24 Hours (Paperback)
For anybody who intends to program anything involving more than one form (of the 'how many mpg did my car do?' variety) this book is too simple by far. Microsoft's own books on VB are far better for the beginner - the index of this book is woefully inadequate, and the content isn't much better... want to print a line in a graphics (picture) box and then print 'this is a line' over it? best look elsewhere then, you won't manage that here...
A typical 'newbies are all suckers' book, you're better off learning to love the MSDN library!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I would give this zero stars if that option was available, 29 April 2002
By 
Mr. Nicol R. Clouston (Portsmouth UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself Visual Basic 6 in 24 Hours (Paperback)
As an experienced programmer (not VB) I was wanting a book that would give me a good intro to VB 6. This book was the Starter Kit version which came with VB 6 Working Model Edition. There are several problems: 1) the book was written befor VB 6 became available. As a result 2) the book does not match the software supplied. 3) There is no language reference. 4) There is no info on creating MDI applications 5) There is no information on creating Help Files. 6) The section on objects is an overview of objects (very brief) and does not tell you how to create your own - setting properties and methods etc. 7) The chapter on databases tells you a bit about how to connect to a database and read its records and vaguely tells you how to update it. 8) I actually had to refer to a VB 4 book to get some basic info (Visual Basic: A Complete Course). 9) Towards the end it refers to the reader as now being a skilled programmer but in reality you are at the level of just about knowing the alphabet but not knowing how to create and write words.
Altogether I found that this book is BAD and would not recommend it - even to beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good starter but............, 2 Oct 2001
By 
Simon Lewis (Bradford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself Visual Basic 6 in 24 Hours (Paperback)
Well this book certainly got me started in Visual Basic 6 but left me high and dry when I wanted to interigate an SQL server. If this is the type of thing you might want to do then you'd be as well to look for suplementary reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, interesting book., 25 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself Visual Basic 6 in 24 Hours (Paperback)
The book is aimed at beginners, and leads them through a step by step guides to creating powerfull and exciting applications. Ideal for anyone with no programming experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Teach yourself? You might as well!, 19 Mar 2005
By 
Mr. A. Hoang "my REAL wall" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself Visual Basic 6 in 24 Hours (Paperback)
I've read quite a few Teach Yourself books in the SAMS range and have never been disappointed. Until now.

Teach Yourself Visual Basic 6 is more poorly laid out than badly written but the layout is so bad with "New Term" boxes littered in the middle of pages, which serves to break the text up so badly that you soon lose patience. The new terms take up so much space and are explained in such airy language that you soon find yourself looking for any content.

The Q&A at the end of the chapters assumes that the book is being read by amoebae rather than sentient human beings. It is pitched far below any questions that a reader would genuinely ask and tells the keen reader nothing that you would really want to know. The exercises are vaguely set and serve to confuse rather than educate.

In short steer clear of this book there are much better guides to VB out there. If this is your introduction to programming you will leave very confused
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good beginners book, 28 Jun 2000
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself Visual Basic 6 in 24 Hours (Paperback)
I'm only half way through this book but I must say that I am very impressed. I have very little (pretty much zero) experience with object orientated languages, but this book explains things very clearly, and the book has a good pace to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excelent first step, 20 May 1999
By A Customer
This book is a great introduction to VB and would be good for people who enjoy a methodical approach to learning a computer language. The book has taken me 2.5 weeks to read and the examples are very good. It is best to have a PC with a copy of VB6 installed, so you can practice the exercises. VB6 Learning Edition is ok but you may need the Pro version I you want to progress further after the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Long winding with examples that don't exactly work, 22 Feb 2002
By 
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself Visual Basic 6 in 24 Hours (Paperback)
This book tries to explain the programming concept in simple terms, but most of the good work is lost in the constant repetition, which only serves to frustrate its readers. Once you get used to the book and finally start to write some simple codes (eg the Interest calculator example in Chapter 9), you'll realise that this book is not accurate. Tip: source a better book! I am.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb teaching tool, 23 Jan 2006
By 
Radiophonic Fretless "Tony" (Warwickshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself Visual Basic 6 in 24 Hours (Paperback)
I have just bought this book, as a teacher of A-Level Computing.
I noted that one of my best students was using it.
It is a superb text, teaching VB 6 at precisely the right level for A-Level students. With a VB 6 programming IDE thrown in, it is an absolute steal.
Any A-Level or undergrad student using VB would be mad to miss out on the opportunities and facilities made available with this book.
Go for it - or regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Misses Some Small Explanations But Good, 29 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sams Teach Yourself Visual Basic 6 in 24 Hours (Paperback)
Well a book for total beginners yes, execpt for a few instances of elipsis. For example, the book suddenly mentions runtime and designtime without just putting a little comment in brackets like (The time when the application is run). Fortunately i have recently migrated from Sams Teach yourself C++ in 21 days due to C++'s apparent complexity and plus the fact that i wanted to write GUI programs. It is for the total beginner. If your a master of MS office then you'll have to bare with the book telling you why there are handles on the command buttons and how to move objects, other than that the teaching style takes VB one step at a time. Great. So far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sams Teach Yourself Visual Basic 6 in 24 Hours
Sams Teach Yourself Visual Basic 6 in 24 Hours by Greg Perry (Paperback - 23 April 1999)
24.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews