Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book
If you are interested in Medical Mysteries and you want to be thrilled and kept interested, this is the book for you. I love how the use of imagery was injected which kept you wonder and eagerly looking for next thing to happen. Great reading, fun and exciting, and if you have a Kindle, it can be read to YOU.. Good buy, you won't regret.
Published on 17 Mar 2011 by V. Smith

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good to read... but!
I really enjoyed the story line for this book and it kept me going wanting to read more and more.. slightly intense at times and very interesting at others. however, my only issue is the fact how the lady soldier/police was constantly led by the doctor and following up on his suggestions instead of the other way around.at times i honestly felt she was a Mole and he...
Published on 22 July 2012 by SEOrocks


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 17 Mar 2011
By 
V. Smith "missvee" (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you are interested in Medical Mysteries and you want to be thrilled and kept interested, this is the book for you. I love how the use of imagery was injected which kept you wonder and eagerly looking for next thing to happen. Great reading, fun and exciting, and if you have a Kindle, it can be read to YOU.. Good buy, you won't regret.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good book., 24 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first Ken McClure's book I've downloaded and read - thanks to the recommendations from the Kindle forum users.

I love medical thrillers and this one is very good, right from the first page!

I will definitely be looking to read more books from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3 Days..., 15 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another blisteringly brilliant venture into the mind of Ken McClure.

What can I say that I've not uttered already?

I finished this book in 3 days, only ever setting it aside for life's necessities, like eating, sleeping and working.

I love how you are drawn into the scene within minutes of opening a McClure book.

Fantastic - I'm really looking forward to his next masterpiece :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good to read... but!, 22 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed the story line for this book and it kept me going wanting to read more and more.. slightly intense at times and very interesting at others. however, my only issue is the fact how the lady soldier/police was constantly led by the doctor and following up on his suggestions instead of the other way around.at times i honestly felt she was a Mole and he shouldnt trust her.. i dont know if this was the intention of the story or not... so i couldnt enjoy her persona at all... otherwise.. read read read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Terrible typographical problems!, 30 Nov 2011
By 
I. McConnell (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a great lover of Ken McClure's books, this Kindle edition (unfortunately, the dearest I've bought), is very problematic to read, because of unacceptable typographical issues, ranging from spelling mistakes, "rogue" superscript numbers and the most frustrating of all, mis-placed hyphens everywhere.

A good read spoilt by irritating distractions.

Had the proof-reader gone on holiday?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic read, 13 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THE SCORPION'S ADVANCE
Anyone looking for a gripping thriller then this has to be it. Ken McClures medical knowledge is second to none, as in all of his books, strong characters and believable scenarios make this a compelling and going on.
surprisingly up to date novel, even though I believe it was first published in 1986, I always find it interesting noticing the social changes since then, smoking ban for one, ( even for doctors )
Israel, the CIA and secret gene and dna research on leprosy and you have a pretty explosive mix. I thought this was a fantastic read and pleased to see it racing into the free charts. I hope we'll meet Anderson and his Israeli Captain again soon.
Highly Recommended. ( As always with Kens books ).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ken McClure should be more famous, 13 April 2014
By 
N. Hunt "nicolamill3" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like a 'who done it' with a medical twist, Ken McClure is the author for you. His books are well written with just the correct amount of medical detail.
You don't have to read his books in order as they are all excellent stand alone stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book, 19 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. W. Brown "william" (renfrew scotland uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
really good book well worth a read could not put it down would like to buy more of his books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 7 Jan 2014
As usual ken McClure has written another excellent book which keeps you on edge until the end. Look forward to the next book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing for most of the time, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a well-paced 'medical' thriller, for which you will need to know and understand the word 'plasmid', though it is carefully defined during the course of the novel. Having said that, whilst the hunt for the culprit(s) is intriguing and kept at least this reader guessing, the 'love interest' is less so and, in fact, rather predictable from the start. Five stars for the 'mystery', two or three for the developing romance - and the foreseeable last few lines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Scorpion's Advance
The Scorpion's Advance by Ken McClure (Paperback - 5 Jan 1998)
Used & New from: 2.21
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews