Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pity the Nation
As a former UN soldier in Lebanon this was a very true account of what happened.
Many say that Mr Fisk is unaware of many aspects of the war but his account from a soldiers point of view is exact.
Many of my friends died trying to keep peace in that beautiful country but we still continued until our country was pulled out to go elsewhere Mr Fisk saw what the...
Published on 1 Nov 2005

versus
2 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Longing for bad old days
Robert Fisk has made a wide reputation reporting the Middle East, but it has increasingly rested on his criticisms of the policies of the British and American governments. While this criticisms are clearly shared by many of his readers, they have more and more clouded his objectivity and the veracity of his reporting. I have also been increasingly struck by a growing...
Published on 26 Oct 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pity the Nation, 1 Nov 2005
By A Customer
As a former UN soldier in Lebanon this was a very true account of what happened.
Many say that Mr Fisk is unaware of many aspects of the war but his account from a soldiers point of view is exact.
Many of my friends died trying to keep peace in that beautiful country but we still continued until our country was pulled out to go elsewhere Mr Fisk saw what the country went through at the hands of the invaders and their allies they flattened the country and the people of west Lebanon it was no wonder the people fought back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 25 Mar 2003
After reading the September 2000 edition of this excellent book I wrote the following:
"Robert Fisk has spent the last 25 years in Lebanon. He brings the skills of a dedicated reporter, the objectivity of an outsider and the knowledge of a local to the subject. The most compelling thing about this incredible book is the quantity and quality of eye witness testimony. Robert tells the story as only one who has been there can. Another striking thing about this book is Robert's desire to be exact and precise. Everything is cited and referenced.
If you hold a bias for one of the many sides in this sorry conflict you will probably find yourself nodding vigorously sometimes and shouting angrily at others.
Those with an open mind will just be horrified. Regardless of the ebb and flow of politics and war it is always the poor, the weak the silent that suffer. Robert gives them a feint voice."
I've recently been given this edition (Nov 2002) and was curious to see if there were any differences. The text of the book remains the same as the previous edition however the prologue is new. Other changes apart from the new cover include larger print and improved quality paper.
In short if you have the September 2000 edition there is little to be gained from buying this newer edition. If you don't, then buy and read this incredible book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, 26 Feb 2011
By 
PAUL MCCUE (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I found this book well-written and full of insight. Anyone who has followed the recent history of Lebanon will know that it is difficult not to take sides, the nation's fate arouses strong passions and it is therefore hard to be dispassionate when reporting on it. Fisk, to my mind, generally manages to record the events without overly stamping his own views on the subject matter. Yes, it is sometimes clear where his sympathies lie, but it is not all one-sided as at least one other reviewer would have us believe. If more people in the west read Fisk's book, they would surely understand better and share his concern for the people and the state of Lebanon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for this interested in recent Middle East History., 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great book by Robert Fisk giving an unbiased insight into the Lebanese Civil War.

Roberts writing is truly unbiased and tells many of the horrors of the Lebanese Civil War. From the atrocities carried out by Lebanese factions to those carried out under the watchful eye of the Israelis during their '82 invasion of Beirut and the difficult job of UNIFIL, the United Nations Interim Force In Lebanon.

The book journeys from the British Mandate in Palestine to the Syrian Intervention and subsequent occupation that bought about a relative if not unstable ceasefire via the Palestinian refugee camps to those homes now occupied by modern day Israelis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oustanding, all the prasie that Robert Fisk has is justified, 23 Aug 2003
I don't think I've ever read a more compelling book. If only Messers Bush and Blair would read this book. I have bought 3 copies for friends and I am I sure that I will buy may more. Bring on the forthcomming 'Night of Pwoer'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Longing for bad old days, 26 Oct 2003
By A Customer
Robert Fisk has made a wide reputation reporting the Middle East, but it has increasingly rested on his criticisms of the policies of the British and American governments. While this criticisms are clearly shared by many of his readers, they have more and more clouded his objectivity and the veracity of his reporting. I have also been increasingly struck by a growing arrogance that has made his own presence more and more part of what he writes.
Pity the Nation is one of many books about the Lebanese civil war. It is better than many but has its faults, particularly in not coming to terms with the Christian side of the story. Like many of his colleages, Fisk was based in west Beirut and preferred to concentrate on that side of the city. There is also the odd misunderstanding of culture and events, probably due to Mr Fisk's lack of knowledge of Arabic.
The new edition of the book rather disappointed me in that it did not give enough weight to the efforts of the Lebanese to move beyond the war. I even detect a kind of longing in Mr Fisk for the bad old days, which after all, made him famous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Propoganda Tool, 28 Feb 2008
By 
Andrew Paul Duncan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book starts on an extremely distastefull note. To have someone justifiably accused of antisemitism giving a sentimental appraisal of Auschwitz with the only intent of using it as a criticism of Israeli conduct is disturbing. Then The potted history of Palestine serving to bolster a feeling of Prejudice and favouritism. Classing Yad Vashem as a tool of propoganda to me is unforgivable. you will enjoy this book if your sympathies already lie with Palestinians. Forget lebanon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pity the Nation
Pity the Nation by FISK (Paperback - 1 Oct 1991)
Used & New from: 2.73
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews