Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not light reading
I bought this for a bit of a laugh. I always wanted to dress up as a Klingon, enter a busy bar on a Saturday night and ask the barman for a prune juice, then headbutt the first bloke who gave me a funny look whilst telling him (in Klingon of course) that his mother has a smooth forehead.
Now, as soon as I get the costume I can, and a whole lot more. It's not easy...
Published on 2 Dec 2004 by C. Wadsworth

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of fun
This is a standard paperback. Written almost like a Teach Yourself book and has a good dictionary section. Not being from Kronos I am not sure how accurate it is but it is a fun item for Star Trek fans and fine at the money.
Published on 9 Dec 2011 by Paul of London


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not light reading, 2 Dec 2004
By 
C. Wadsworth "anyankathevengeancedemon" (Bradford, West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Klingon Dictionary: English/Klingon, Klingon/English (Star Trek) (Paperback)
I bought this for a bit of a laugh. I always wanted to dress up as a Klingon, enter a busy bar on a Saturday night and ask the barman for a prune juice, then headbutt the first bloke who gave me a funny look whilst telling him (in Klingon of course) that his mother has a smooth forehead.
Now, as soon as I get the costume I can, and a whole lot more. It's not easy though. Don't expect to read from cover to cover and be able to speak Klingon like Worf and Martok though. That just ain't gonna happen...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Klingon Dictionary: Milestone in Trek Fan Culture., 9 July 2002
This review is from: The Klingon Dictionary: English/Klingon, Klingon/English (Star Trek) (Paperback)
You know you are a Star Trek fan when:
1) You wear your own uniform.
2) You make your own Jumja Sticks.
3) You learn to speak Klingon.
The first two are pretty easy: All it takes is some courage and a butter/sugar combination.
The third point is a little more tricky. Klingon (or Klingonese) is an actual language developed by some cunning language experts at various American Universities combined with the content of the first six Star Trek movies and early TNG episodes.
The next logical thing to do with the Klingon language was to make it available for Star Trek fans and so Mark Ocrand (who is now seen to be one of the founding fathers of the Klingon language) put together a Klingon Dictionary and published it with Pocket Books.
The book itself is quite old now and has sections dedicated to 'common phrases' and an actual dictionary section. The main body of the book however, actually teaches you how to pronounce tricky Klingon words and deals with things like Verbs, Nouns and even numbers.
The Dictionary is amazingly well put together. It is to all intents are purposes, the foundation to an actual, real life language.
Language is important. It is one of the aspects that makes a culture unique and the Klingon language is a wonderful example of how Star Trek can build its worlds effectively. (It's just a shame that they don't stick to it properly.)
The Klingon language used to be a very important part of Star Trek fan culture and the Klingon Dictionary used to sell by the ton. However, these days not many fans are bold enough to go all the way and learn the Klingon language. So if you are a Star Trek fan, why not go all the way and buy the Klingon Dictionary and learn the language of one of the most diverse alien cultures of the Star Trek Galaxy? Failing that, learn the basics: It makes a great talking point at parties!
So if you are into Star Trek, you really should buy this book. Even if you have no intent on learning the language, it is an important part of Trek fandom and should be sitting up there with the Star Trek Encyclopedia and the Ferengi Rules of Acquisition.
An audio version is available and read by Michael Dorn as well as a Klingon version of 'Hamlet' by the Klingon Language Institute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek dead? Hell no, 16 July 2011
This review is from: The Klingon Dictionary: English/Klingon, Klingon/English (Star Trek) (Paperback)
Some people might say that star trek is dead, but thanks to the internet we can still have treasures like this.

It is not a book that you can read cover to cover and know how to speak Klingon, instead you pick up little bits now and then and make choking noises as you walk round your house.

It might be something that never read properly, but never the less, its a nice piece in every collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of fun, 9 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Klingon Dictionary: English/Klingon, Klingon/English (Star Trek) (Paperback)
This is a standard paperback. Written almost like a Teach Yourself book and has a good dictionary section. Not being from Kronos I am not sure how accurate it is but it is a fun item for Star Trek fans and fine at the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dictionary, 12 Oct 2013
By 
P. A. Hudson "pam" (suffolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Klingon Dictionary: English/Klingon, Klingon/English (Star Trek) (Paperback)
ordered for my son,he was delighted,he and his friends are learning to speak klingon i think the dictionary is helping
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not a bedtime read but great companion, 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Klingon Dictionary: English/Klingon, Klingon/English (Star Trek) (Paperback)
I have always been interested in different languages and when I found that I too could learn the language of one of the most well-known alien races in the Alpha Quadrant I had to buy.

This is so much more than a dictionary providing a lot of support with grammar and pronunciation, areas that are rather more complex than originally anticipated. I would recommend that the dictionary is used in conjunction with a good friend as no-one can learn a language from reading a book alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another present, 17 April 2013
By 
S. M. Howard - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Klingon Dictionary: English/Klingon, Klingon/English (Star Trek) (Paperback)
My husband is a life long Star Trek fan and this was bought to make up a 60th birthday present package. For all Klingon devotees this is a handy book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Book., 24 Feb 2013
By 
P. Grayson (Beverley, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Klingon Dictionary: English/Klingon, Klingon/English (Star Trek) (Paperback)
I bought this for a friend for Christmas. I thought by now that my friend would have been sending me email message`s in Klingon, but not so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TALKING KLINGON, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Klingon Dictionary: English/Klingon, Klingon/English (Star Trek) (Paperback)
this was a christmas gift for a friend who thinks it's "out of this world" he now talks klingon all the time (which is rather amusing)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Almost fluent., 8 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Klingon Dictionary: English/Klingon, Klingon/English (Star Trek) (Paperback)
I was a bit disappointed initially that it didn't have some of the phrases I was more familiar with nut then realised that a lot of that was later Next Gen and DS9 canon. Good book, well composed, not a deep read, something that you dip in and out of as you need to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Klingon Dictionary: English/Klingon, Klingon/English (Star Trek)
£9.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews