Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tear jerker, 6 Jan 2008
This review is from: The Ship Who Searched (Paperback)
Make sure you have the tissues ready. I've read this several times and it's still a powerful story. If you enjoyed 'The Ship Who Sang' you'll love this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sentimental - but great, 5 Nov 2002
By 
clairefromwales - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Ship Who Searched (Paperback)
Yet more proof - if it were needed - of Anne McCaffrey's talents.
Yes this book is a bit lightweight, yes it's shamelessly sentimental and manipulative; but I defy you not to get a lump in your throat or a tear in your eye as you read about Tia in hospital.
Tia and Alex are very engaging leads and the development of their relationship is handled really well. (It's one of those occasions where hearing from both people's perspectives is perfect).
Not wanting to give too much away, it does leave you with some questions of real substance - is it the mind and personality someone falls in love with, or do they need a physical presence, or can that physical presence be one step removed....
Probably not one for the fan of serious sci-fi, but anyone who likes a happy ending will enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great brainship book, 16 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Ship Who Searched (Paperback)
This book has adventure, mystic and romantic combined in a great book. This the first person as far as I know that lived as a softperson before she become paralysed and becomes in a shell. Tia has more character than many of the other shellpersons, that never has been outside their shell. She unlike most other shellpersons know her parents. It's on a alien archeology dig on an airless world with her parents she starts to get paralysed.
Here it's a lot of alien creatures Tia and more people around her meet, from alien viruses, like the one that got her to alien animals. Her investments are interesting, often people have made sure to be safe from what humans can do, but not what can come from nature. I wish it was easy to find investments like that.
With a brainship Tia gets to fly in space, but some things are hard to do in a shell, like hugging her Teddy bear. This book has a romance that look impossible to succeed, but has an unexpected happy ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Shell ship series collaboration between Anne McCaffrey and Mercedes Lackey, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A well thought out development of the benefits and drawbacks of being a shell-person. A logical follow on to The Ship Who Sang.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Ship Who Searched, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book, I really enjoy the series as well. Anne McCaffy is a brilliant author who never fails to write a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars imaginative and inspired, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A wonderful premise if only this was an option I'd employ it for the elderly too - being that way myself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In the Ann McCaffery tradition, 23 Mar 2013
By 
K. Ames "Kayvee" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hypatia is a little girl left very much to her own devices while her parents search ancient sites on alien worlds. She falls victim to an alien disease which robs her of her mobility. The story tells of how she becomes the "Brain" of a space ship, and her adventures while searching for the origin of the virus that paralyzed her.
The story is in the tradition of the original series by Ann McCaffery and is a worthy successor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The ship series, always my favourite, 17 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always enjoyed this series from the minute Helva was launched. The unique concept and fun characters have ensured that this remains a timeless series.
Tia and Alex's story makes you laugh and cry. From Tia's precocious 7 year old self through her journey to womanhood via a shell. It is a fascinating and engaging story. I only wish there were more of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a triumph, 1 Mar 2013
By 
Trudy Pask (West Yorkshie. UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ship Who Searched (Baen Science Fiction) (Mass Market Paperback)
mccaffrey briliant once more. tear jerking nerve racking and funny all roled into one lovely mix of charactures. a must read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite "Ship who..."!, 2 Sep 2012
By 
Andrew Mcleish (Cambridgeshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ship Who Searched (Baen Science Fiction) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is probably just ahead of "Partnership" as my favourite book of this series. While the initial story of Tia herself is something of a manipulative tearjerker, and the plot not exactly ground-breaking, it was all handled with such precision and skill that you don't really mind being manipulated and the overall impression is quite amazing.

This remains my most read McCaffrey novel and I have re-read it too many times to count (even more than The White Dragon which was formerly my favourite and that is tatty and worn from use!). If you buy no other Ship book other than the Ship Who Sang, buy this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ship Who Searched (Baen Science Fiction)
Ship Who Searched (Baen Science Fiction) by ANNE MCCAFFREY (Mass Market Paperback - 1 Aug 1992)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews