Customer Reviews


188 Reviews
5 star:
 (147)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An All-Time Crime Classic
This classic Christie whodunit has borne three different titles, which has been the source of some confusion. Originally published in England under the title "Ten Little Niggers" in 1939, it was retitled "And Then There Were None" for its 1940 American edition for obvious reasons. However, the English stage version of 1943 retained the "Niggers" title while the American...
Published on 1 Mar 2003 by A. Ross

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars didn't enjoy it as much as Poirot
Really wanted to re-read this story, it's OK, probably showing it's age now, didn't enjoy it as much as Poirot.
Published 1 month ago by Mrs P Rose


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An All-Time Crime Classic, 1 Mar 2003
By 
A. Ross (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This classic Christie whodunit has borne three different titles, which has been the source of some confusion. Originally published in England under the title "Ten Little Niggers" in 1939, it was retitled "And Then There Were None" for its 1940 American edition for obvious reasons. However, the English stage version of 1943 retained the "Niggers" title while the American stage version ran as "Ten Little Indians." Even more confusingly, the first film version, released in 1945, bore the American "And Then There Were None" title, while the three subsequent adaptations (1965, 1975, and 1989) took the "Ten Little Indians" title! The original offensive title comes from a Victorian-era music-hall song, which itself was a rip-off of an American song by Septimus Winner, circa 1868. All of which is neither here nor there, but only to help clear up any confusion. I would note that the most recent French edition bears the title "Dix petit negres", which somehow does not surprise me...
As for the actual novel, it's perhaps the ultimate whodunit of the "locked house" variety. Ten people are summoned to an island off the Devon coast, none of them know each other or their ostensible host. The story starts by showing the ten en route to the island and provides a brief character sketch of each as background. I have to confess that at first, some of the men kind of blend together, and it takes little time to keep straight who is who. Once on the island, the eight guests and two servants wait for their host, who never shows up. Completely cut off from the mainland, they grow restless until one of them dies. When another dies, it can be no mere coincidence, and they realize that one amongst them must be a killer. The rest of the book plays this cat and mouse game all the way out, leaving the reader guessing until the very end. Because of the number of characters, there's not a whole lot of depth to any of them, but the story is obviously plot-driven as opposed to character-driven, so that should come as no surprise. It's an incredibly elaborate (and thus slightly contrived) web that is woven, but great fun, especially in bleak, stormy weather!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 14 April 2010
By 
H. Barnett (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ok, first things first, I love Agatha Christie.
I literally can't get enough of her novels (specifically that wonderful little Belgian)
So when I say this quite simply trumps them all (yes, even Poirot's finest) you get an idea of just how incredible this book is.
It is, in my mind, the perfect set up for a murder mystery: ten people trapped on an island being killed off one by one! Let the games begin!
The solution is beyond belief, but whats more, the journey itself is full of shock and awe and will keep you reading long after you intended to put it down to do other things.

My only grievance with this is that having read it already, I can never again experience its sense of overwhelming mystery and suspense with fresh, unknowing, eyes.
I will never again read a mystery novel that can surpass its sheer perfection, and that is the great sadness that comes hand in hand with the joy of this book.
Prepare yourself before reading, you are in for a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some information, 20 Oct 2011
By 
PAM van Gorp "Book Lover PAM" (Amsterdam) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I just received an e-mail from Harper Collins in which they announced that the publication of "and then there were none" in facsimile has been cancelled. So for all the Agatha Christie fans who were hoping to have the entire collection this is bad news:-(

Just thought that this information might be helpfull to some of you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And then there were few better than this., 24 Dec 2004
By 
John Austin "austinjr@bigpond.net.au" (Kangaroo Ground, Australia) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Surely everyone in the world has read this book by now! Surely it tops the best-selling list of a best-selling author! Older readers may not recognize it by its current title, its original and a later replacement having been deemed too racist. Nothing racist, I hope, was picked in my school English classes, where I used it to help develop pupils' appetite for reading.
Agatha Christie's achievement is remarkable. She creates ten characters, all suspected of murder, who are lured to an island. She has them meet their deaths one by one as nominated in the nursery rhyme "Ten Little Indians" which is displayed in their rooms. She has each murder occur in a situation where almost all the other island guests might have had opportunity to commit it. As if devising all this were not enough, she also frequently takes us into the minds of the various characters - something that the whole nature of detective fiction usually prohibits. This construction is not only intricate but also compact; it is one of her shorter novels. Built on this scheme, the book must exclude Mrs Christie's regular sleuths, Poirot and Miss Marple. Instead, the dwindling number of island guests generate their own investigation.
So here is a book that offers double the pleasure that murder mysteries provide. As well as challenging you to solve the mystery, it also amazes you that so ingenious a mystery could be contrived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely un-put-downable!, 20 Aug 2002
By A Customer
A group of people find themselves invited to an island off the English coast. Their host is not present and a storm is fast approaching. After two people die, the guests quickly realise that what seemed like two accidents in succession is in fact the work of a killer on the island. I found this to be one of the most enjoyable and genuinely chilling mysteries I have ever read. Christie's handling of the narrative and the suspense scenes is nothing short of masterly, and she manages to conjure up an amazingly tense atmosphere. Thoroughly engrossing and beautifully written, this classic novel will leave you guessing literally until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Whodunnit Of All Time, 17 July 2006
By 
Mr. D. J. Read (Alnwick, Northumberland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
The title says it all. Agatha Christie is THE greatest writer, and this is her greatest book of all. If ever I could recommend a book to bring a reader into the crime genre, this would be it.

I wont go into the story, as many have already done that for me, suffice to say that, improbable as the story sounds, it is utterly baffling, and yet, when the truth comes out, the true genius is revealed.

But it is not just the sheer genius of the story. As a crime novel, this work holds something else, a dark, sinister, brooding atmosphere, as people begin to expire. We are treated to some internal reflections of the characters, though we have no idea from whom the musings come.

Another factor is the way she writes, so simply, with such simple descriptions as to encourage our own mental image, so each will have their own picture of the scenes. This allows one to consume this marvellous novel in a single sitting, and yet, also you do not want it to end, even as the death toll rises. Everything is perfect, characters, setting, those teasing clues, and a truly twisted villain, as the end will reveal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And Then There Was The Best Murder Mystery Story Ever !!, 6 Feb 2007
By 
This review is from: And Then There Were None (Mass Market Paperback)
Having been an avid Miss Marple and Poirot follower I was reluctant to read any Agatha Christie novel that did not 'star' the ingenius detectives. I decided to pick up this book on a car boot sale - not expecting to enjoy it. BUT HOW WRONG WAS I ???!!!

THIS BOOK IS AN ABSOLUTE MASTERPIECE ! The plot is incredibly simple, based around a childrens nursery rhyme, on a deserted island off the coast of England. There are no distractions to the story, the characters are credible and the way the deaths are strung together is perfection itself !! The usual twists, turns and surprise ending are evident here - but this one is a complete original ! Totally unpredictable !

This really is my favourite book !I have converted all of my friends and family over to Agatha Christie by introducing them to this book. How I wish I could forget the conclusion, however, so that I may read this book time and time again !?

No other Agatha Christie - in my mind - can compare. Move over Marple & Poirot........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A twist worth waiting for., 20 Jan 2001
By A Customer
As I usually read Poirot books by Agatha Christie I was unsure how good this book was going to be. I eventually decided to buy the book because I wanted a hardback copy of one of my favourite authors books. Once I began to read this book I could not put it down and I hurried to the end of the book. The final conclusion of this book was so unexpected and so perfect it had me thinking for days. I can thoroughly reccomend this book to anyone who is a fan of mysteries or anyone who simply enjoys an excellent read. This is definetly Christie at her thought provoking best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Joy To Read, 20 Aug 2009
There are any number of adjectives one could call upon to describe what an utter joy it was to read "And Then There Were None"

I'm a big fan of Christie in general. Not just Agatha Christie the writer but the whole idea of Agatha Christie. There is something quite wonderful about the Englishness that Christie's work eludes to. It probably doesn't exist anymore, and maybe it was the books of Christie, amongst others who exacted a myth of Englishness that was never actually there, who knows, but nonetheless, I like Agatha Christie's England! It is an England of trains and railway stations, gardening, manners, tea and country villages with village greens and pints of beer at the village pub! It is never better portrayed than in the presentation of the fictional St. Mary Mead.

St. Mary Mead does not feature here unfortunately, but all Christies usual English illusions do! "And Then There Were None" takes place off the Devon coast at the fictional Soldier Island (reputedly based on Burgh Island off the Devon coast) where ten strangers have been summoned to the house by the mysterious Mr Owens. Each is accused of murder, and slowly each one begins to die!

Its wonderful...

There is a moment I absolutely adore which really sums the novel up. One of the ten, Mr Blore is on the train and an eccentric old man begins a conversation with him. At the end of the conversation the old man before leaving the carriage addresses Mr Blore saying, "the day of judgement is at hand!" and Christie writes:

'Subsiding on to his seat Mr Blore thought to himself: He's nearer the day of judgement than I am.
But there, as it happens, he was wrong...'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully baffling, complex and unique mystery, 23 April 2009
This is my first (and it won't be my last after reading this) novel by Agatha Christie and I chose it because of the great recommendations it has received here on Amazon. And after finishing it I can agree with those who awarded it such great ratings because it was one of the best and most puzzling murder mysteries I have ever encountered.

The premise is simple enough, ten strangers stranded alone in an empty house on a small island off the coast of Devon and one by one they die. Christie has cleverly weaved the rhyme "Ten Little Soldiers" throughout the narrative and it leaves you with no clue about what is going on or how the murders could have ever been committed! It really does baffle you until you read the the last few pages where you begin to piece together what actually happened.

The writing is simple but sharp and each character is defined with a back story as well as characteristics and you often get a peek into their heads and find out what they are thinking but not once does Christie slip up and give away the fantastically drafted explanation as to what is going on. The thing about the ten characters is that any of them could have done it if they were clever enough but you also begin to think that perhaps someone outside of the group is doing it. Christie almost invites the reader to come up with their own guess as to what is going on, but you will be wrong! And she wants you to be!

The ending is completely ridiculous and far fetched but it doesn't matter because you believe it because Christie explains it so well and it's obvious that a lot of planning and care was put into setting it up and resolving the story. However the murderer is a logical choice, and you will think after the revelation "why didn't I guess that person was the killer?"

If you are a fan of murder mysteries read this now because you won't find anything as baffling or as clever as this anywhere. Give this a try and see if you can trump Christie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

And Then There Were None
And Then There Were None by Christie Agatha (Mass Market Paperback - 1 Nov 1989)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews