Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars continuously thought provocative
this book is truly amazing in a very tragic way. her life is taken away from her in a sense that she really has no control over what she does or who she becomes. She is too young to realise the dangers that hollywood success can bring. For a girl of her age is is astounding that the things that happened, happened. I personally related indirectly to a lot of the what went...
Published on 21 Oct 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Still waiting for refund
I paid an extortionate amount for this book

In total i paid around £17.00 and when it arrived it has a printed price on the back of the book for £4.99.

Surely this is a rip off and shouldnt be sold for such a high price considering it was only £4.99

Still waiting for a refund and very unhappy
Published 9 months ago by Elena


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars continuously thought provocative, 21 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Little Girl Lost (Mass Market Paperback)
this book is truly amazing in a very tragic way. her life is taken away from her in a sense that she really has no control over what she does or who she becomes. She is too young to realise the dangers that hollywood success can bring. For a girl of her age is is astounding that the things that happened, happened. I personally related indirectly to a lot of the what went on. These pressures do exist outside hollywood but it is only in the spotlight that they are brought to peoples attentions. Drew is a very brave girl, now women and it is great to see how far she has come. I think a sequel to show the difference between then and now is in order. Well done Todd Gold for portraiting a very scared but strong individual. You really made this a book one which i couldnt put down ***** 5 star quality!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down!!!, 28 Nov 2002
This review is from: Little Girl Lost (Mass Market Paperback)
I thought this book read like a fiction novel, it is amazing that a little girl actually lived through all the tragedy that she did. It did tend to get a bit confusing sometimes as it jumped from year to year and you were constantly trying to remember what age she would have been in a certain chapter.
Overall, a very good read which actually brought me to tears once or twice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening and Terrifying at the same time..., 6 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Little Girl Lost (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is brilliant. It was written by Drew when she was a mere 15 year old in the last few days of her final rehabilitation. It is englightening to hear the real story after all the gossip and tales you hear about her and her life. You come away understanding her and feeling very sympathetic towards her. I am an avid Drew Barrymore fan now!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is amazing, 21 Dec 2003
This review is from: Little Girl Lost (Mass Market Paperback)
When some people hear of Drew Barrymore's childhood,they judge her immediately but this book is a great insight to what Drew felt when she went into rehab for drink and drug porblems at 9 years old. It is a powerful story of a young girl's struggle to deal with new found fame. I think this book is fantastic, especially because it is written by Drew Barrymore when she was 14 years old!!! This is not a book that has been written by someone who does not know her and has guessed what she has been going through.It is a great story that will have you laughing or crying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real survivor, 13 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: Little Girl Lost (Mass Market Paperback)
Drew Barrymore captured the hearts of the world, as the adorable wide eyed seven year old Gertie, in ET, in 1982.

Barrymore was born into the acting profession, coming from a long line of acting talent extending back nearly 200 years
Faced with an abusive father, the execrable and vicious degenerate John Drew Barrymore( it is shocking to read of the physical and emotional abuse he subjected the little girl to) , a mother who was not always there, and nasty schoolmates, she drifted into the company of an older crowd and began her descent into drugs and alcohol by nine, when she began drinking alcohol, began smoking marijuana by ten (offered it by a friend's mother),and was snorting cocaine at twelve. She also craved the approval of boys on whom her self-esteem depended.
This is her story of why she took refuge from her unhappy young life in parties, alcohol and drugs, and her difficult and painful rehabilitation. but she succeeded. I found myself really feeling Drew's pain and empathized with what she went through.
Drew wanted to be an actress by five.
I really admired how she told her abusive pig of a father to get out of her life, when she was eight, after achieving success in E.T
She also tells of her work on movies such as Firestarter, Irreconcilable Differences,Babes in Toyland and Far From Home.
Drew talks about the support given to her by Steven Spielberg who she says gave her the best advice she ever been given on acting : "Drew, you can't act your character, you gotta be your character."

She made it though and in by 16 had cleaned up her life, to go on to a string of successes in a series comedies and dramas . By the late 90's her bubbly personality made such movies as Ever After, The Wedding Singer. Charlies Angels and Never Been Kissed a lot of fun and charming to watch.
It is a sad story of a child whose life was marred by what no child should go through, but who overcame her self-destructive habits and proved those who said she was burned out at 13, so wrong. How she repaired her life is incredibly inspirational. Drew is offering advice to young actresses entering rehab these days: ""If you don't pull it together for yourself, no one else will," she says in the March issue of Vogue. "That's coming from a person who had to try it all ... and who still loves to have a good time."

Remember this book was sritten when Drewwas only fourteen years old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, heart filling., 3 Jan 2007
By 
This review is from: Little Girl Lost (Mass Market Paperback)
I always wandered why Drew had wrote this at just 14 years old. And how she managed to make such a wonderful story. Because of her problems, which a lot would not have gone through as bad as Drew did.

I read this last year! With sharing resembalance with her, i knew i would get into this wonderful story easily. And i was right. Just reading it made me realise the child we all knew once, the child that got into drugs, began smoking/drinking at such a young age. Then the woman we see now, a stronger person that beat it all by growing up. (Good for her). Just reading the book makes you picture what life must have been for her in her younger years, horrible and painful, then it made me realise my life compared to hers, which was very alike when both of us were young. It got me that hooked that i felt i even knew her, her life. It is certainly very well written and i definitely reccomend any Drew fan that shares a lot of her past problems to read this. It will make you realise that oneday, you will become a stronger person, like Drew is now. I also feel that reading these stories has made me become stronger, more of a better person. And it's all because of Drew! Writig a story of her terrible problems was the best thing to do, something that will always want you to read over and over again. Well it is quite hard to explain fully, but read the book and you will very much understand the feeling of just reading it.

Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BOOZE,DRUGS & DREW, 23 Jun 2008
This review is from: Little Girl Lost (Mass Market Paperback)
I FINISHED THIS BOOK IN 2 DAY'S. It is a heart rendering story of a CHILD who takes you on a rollacoaster ride with your emotions. I must admit to having a lump in my throat quite a few times & the odd tear was shed as I read page after page. Who were these so called adult's that supplied a CHILD with alcohol & later drugs? As you read the book it is clear that what was missing is a father figure. Her dad was also in a downward spiral of booze & drugs. I really think that her mother tried her best to give a young Drew all that she could. Alas she had ambitions too, which added to the feeling of isolation that she surely have felt @ such a young age. At last Drew gets into a program @ a clinic,( wonderful caring people ) this she finds hard to adjust to as we all would I suppose. When we think that is it, BANG she goes on a booze & drugs spree that ends up with Drew in jail. My heart sank like a stone. I will not say anymore only that this is a must read for Drew fans & none fans alike. maybe your CHILD could be saved by her mistakes. It is a book written by a CHILD who has grown into a beautiful, kind & one of the best rom/com actors of today.-----ALEX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So, you think money buys happiness?, 10 Oct 2004
By 
AyJay (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Girl Lost (Mass Market Paperback)
They say that money can't buy happiness, and Drew Barrymore proves it. This is one of the most heart-rending books I've ever read.
Drew shows wisdom beyond her years as she invites the reader to look at her relationship with her mother, her non-relationship with her father, and her desent into drink and drugs. Follow Drew's sad real life drama as she goe's into and back out of rehab. What was the backlash on her career? Her relationships with her 'friends'? Her suicide attempt?
This book is so good I had to buy copies for my friends. I just couldn't believe she wrote 'Little Girl Lost' when she was just 14 years old. Honestly, just trust me me and buy a copy. This book will give you the courage to face up to life's trials.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breath Taking, 13 May 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Little Girl Lost (Mass Market Paperback)
although i am only on chapter five i am absolutely hooked, all the storys i have heard about this modern day shirly temple are completely distorted and hearing it from her point of view sets the record straight. i have laughed, cried and related with the actress and i feel like i know her. I would recommend this book completely. todd gold is also a great asset to the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I feel like i know her!, 24 July 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Little Girl Lost (Mass Market Paperback)
I found this book to be a real tearjerker! It is amazing what this young woman has gone through, and she is still as strong as ever. The book makes me realise not everything is as it seems, it was written well and one of the most exciting, compelling and amazing books i have ever read. If you have the chance to buy it, do. If not, you are missing out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Little Girl Lost
Little Girl Lost by Drew Barrymore (Mass Market Paperback - 2 Jan 1990)
Used & New from: £5.58
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews