Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I knew you'd be surprised
If it's a discography and blow-by-blow account of the progress of Zappa's musical career, you're looking in the wrong place.
If you like Zappa and want to find out more about him, then when you've finished reading this, you will love him and want to check out more of his music. And if you are a full-on fan of his, then this book will entertain in you in the same way...
Published on 8 May 2002 by Matt Westwood

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars As A Bona Fide Lunatic
As a bona fide lunatic myself I found this very interesting - Jerry, the lunatic who put his head against electricity meters to hear the hum. It's nearly as bad as turning the lights off on your dashboard as it makes the road ahead clearer.
Published 12 months ago by Dan Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I knew you'd be surprised, 8 May 2002
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If it's a discography and blow-by-blow account of the progress of Zappa's musical career, you're looking in the wrong place.
If you like Zappa and want to find out more about him, then when you've finished reading this, you will love him and want to check out more of his music. And if you are a full-on fan of his, then this book will entertain in you in the same way that his music does.
Apart from that, there's not much to say that hasn't been said before by other reviewers. Go get this book and spend a couple of happy afternoons with your feet up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A colourfully polished account of the great rock innovator, 22 April 2001
By A Customer
With the help of writer Peter Occhiogrosso, Frank Zappa details what made him the man he became before his tragic death. From his early school days and his passions for the likes of explosive paraphernalia and a wide range of music, the book provides a light hearted account of his life containing many hilarious anecdotes and theories. A true bargain... 'Freak Out'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dispatches from the Utility Muffin Research Kitchen, 20 Jan. 2000
By 
Peter Fenelon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This isn't a Zappa autobiography -- but it's as close as we're ever going to get. Basically it's Zappa's collected thoughts, rants, stories and tall tales about a number of issues, ranging from his childhood and early career via music -- the Mothers, his later bands, composing, the Synclavier, working with orchestras, life on the road, his hatred of Britain -- and heading off into the realms of religion, politics, "practical conservatism", the PMRC and a whole lot more besides.
If you do like Zappa's music, you'll love this book. The savage ironies and bizarre asides are all there. If you don't, it's a marvellous introduction to a whole new world of "stuff".
Zappa was contrary, contradictory, inflammatory, infuriating, funny and fiercely intelligent. It's highly appropriate that this book manages to be all of those things. A fine tribute to a fine man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grrrrrreat Googly Moogly, 13 Jan. 2003
Great Googly Moogly! I'm not even halfway through the book and its already up there in my all time top 5. He delivers his famous biting wit with complete professionalism. The book is so spastically funny, I've made my friends at college break down into about 5 minute fits of laughter by reading mere sentences from this book! It gives a superb insight into how Frank worked, and what he loved and of course what he hated (targets for his work :-D ), after all he was a satirical man with a satirical plan.
It would be a travesty to go through life and NOT read the book. Geeeet ittttt. You know you want to, and I know I want you to! You get what you pay for. And then some!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you expect and more!, 25 Jun. 2008
By 
L. Smedley "XtinaxFan" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Written by the man himself its the ultimate insight for fans into his life and personality. Peppered with drawings and hilarious stories and jokes you'll laugh all the way through!
He began this book with the sentence "I don't like books" but he is a master storyteller and I highly recommend this for fans - bookworm or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most of what you want to know about Frank, 18 Dec. 2012
By 
K. mundell (Lincs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cracking book full of most of what you always wanted to know about our hero but were too bemused to ask.
Sometimes reads a little disjointed but would you expect otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I always thought he had an excellent, economic turn of phrase that hit the point ..., 5 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Why were Zappa's lyrics maligned...? I always thought he had an excellent, economic turn of phrase that hit the point right on the money every time - and in this volume it's clear that he's a great writer. I recently read 'Them or us' and thought the same. Like other reviewers say - if you're after a discography or blow-by-blow of Franks' history then this isn't the book for you. Instead you have insights into the way his mind works and some profound truths about the music business in recent history. It's also very, very funny.
So funny at times that I scared my dog [an unmodified Evelyn].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating read, 3 Mar. 2014
By 
Mr. J. W. A. Thomson (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you're a Zappa fan you'll love the book as it catalogues his life from playing with mercury as a child to the quite bizarre people he met in later life. If you're not a fan then buy it anyway as a truly fascinating read about one of the more larger than life and sorely missed musical genius
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars As A Bona Fide Lunatic, 14 April 2014
By 
As a bona fide lunatic myself I found this very interesting - Jerry, the lunatic who put his head against electricity meters to hear the hum. It's nearly as bad as turning the lights off on your dashboard as it makes the road ahead clearer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book terrible condition, 15 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Frank Zappa Book (Hardcover)
i was torn as to what to rate this
the book is excellent of course -
but the condition was awful - really badly stained - the seller should have disclosed this
i would not have brought it from them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Real Frank Zappa Book
The Real Frank Zappa Book by Peter Occhiogrosso (Hardcover - Jun. 1989)
Used & New from: £23.26
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews