Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rule #141 - Only fools pay retail!
This is a great little precursor to "Legends of the Ferengi." Given the timing of this little treasure, it's a very good trek extra. As far as it being rules to live by, I don't know about that. For collector's sake, this is a pure must have! It's definitely worth the nominal fee. (Just don't pay retail) {ssintrepid}
Published on 16 Aug 2003 by K. Wyatt

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Amusing
This was bought as a Kindle download as a surprise laugh for my wife and although it only contains about 13o Rules of Acquisition it has provided some amusement and my wife recognises some of them from episodes of DS9.
Published on 12 Jan 2012 by Paul of London


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rule #141 - Only fools pay retail!, 16 Aug 2003
By 
K. Wyatt "ssintrepid" (Cape Girardeau, MO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ferengi : " Rules Of Acquisition " : ("Star Trek: Deep Space Nine " ) : (Paperback)
This is a great little precursor to "Legends of the Ferengi." Given the timing of this little treasure, it's a very good trek extra. As far as it being rules to live by, I don't know about that. For collector's sake, this is a pure must have! It's definitely worth the nominal fee. (Just don't pay retail) {ssintrepid}
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Satisfaction is not guaranteed, 14 April 2010
By 
AK (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ferengi : " Rules Of Acquisition " : ("Star Trek: Deep Space Nine " ) : (Paperback)
And 'always know what you are buying' - i.e. it is only the 70 revealed ones out of the total 285 - the rest seemingly fit only for the more advanced scholars of Ferengi lore.

They are brilliantly funny, a must have for any trekkie, and at the end of the day, as likely to make you successful in business as anything more serious on the topic such as The One Minute Manager. Quark even gives some useful advice, before the book launches into the rules themselves.

Go for it - you know you want to! And at the price per laugh it is actually a bargain - then again beware of free advice ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't you know your Rules of Acquisition?, 8 May 2010
This review is from: The Ferengi : " Rules Of Acquisition " : ("Star Trek: Deep Space Nine " ) : (Paperback)
You can find a complete list of the known Rules of Acquisition of Memory Alpha (and a list of those mentioned in novels on Memory Beta) but back in 1995 when the book was published you couldn't. Its still worth it, especially for Quark's introduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Must Have for any trader and of-course: TREKIE., 21 May 2005
This review is from: The Ferengi : " Rules Of Acquisition " : ("Star Trek: Deep Space Nine " ) : (Paperback)
"Once you have their money, you never give it back" or "no good deed ever goes unpunished". These are two of over 200 rules of those little gready guys, very alike the 20th century Humans.
The Book is a "must have" because it's funny and it's one of the most Star Trek series referenced literature: The Rules of Acquisition. So any Trekie should own one.
The missing fifth star goes for the poor paperback edition, and the printing aswell. I think it should have deserved a little more respect by the Publisher. I would have bought a Hard-Cover deluxe edition, after all it's the Holly Bible or The Tora or like other Sacred Book for Ferengi.
In summary: It's cheap(Ferengi heresy); it's a lot of fun; it's any Trekie collectors' "must have"; it's the secret book of any trader; it's the secret book of any CEO.
IRA: COME BACK, YOU ARE FORGIVEN SON!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DIY toolkit for Future Business Gurus!, 30 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Ferengi : " Rules Of Acquisition " : ("Star Trek: Deep Space Nine " ) : (Paperback)
Quark's Rules of Acquisition do not only represent the dogmas of Ferengi business models, they equally contain larger than life quotes and one liners that do not only make you think... but also make you smile, recognising that the rules are universally 'true'; eg. # 44: "Never Confuse Wisdom With Luck".
The Ferengi Rules of Acquisition are a witty and intelligent collection of greedy and unscrupulous business slogans, hence representing a true reflection of Ferengi culture and trade ethics.
Conclusion: 100% satisfaction at a more than reasonable price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small but effective, 14 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Ferengi : " Rules Of Acquisition " : ("Star Trek: Deep Space Nine " ) : (Paperback)
Small paper back book. Goes up to rule 285 and has a couple of extra blank pages for you to add any more rules that have been mentioned since the book came out. There is a forward by Ira Steven Behr from Quarks perspective. Then follows the rules of acquisition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ferengi : " Rules Of Acquisition " : ("Star Trek: Deep Space Nine " ) : (Paperback)
Great little book as i love star trek i did find did fault with the book one of the rules was not in it which is greed is good more is better but i like it great little book thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Feels like a cynical cash grab!, 21 April 2014
By 
Killie (Armadale, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ferengi : " Rules Of Acquisition " : ("Star Trek: Deep Space Nine " ) : (Paperback)
"The Ferengi Rules of Acquisition" by Ira Steven Behr is a rather short book which basically lists the various Ferengi Rules of Acquisition that have so far been revealed via the various mediums of Star Trek. That is basically it; this is quite simply a list with zero commentary on the rules beyond an amusing little introduction from Quark.

Yes some of the rules did make me laugh and smile but to be honest I think you can find them all listed for free on various websites and get the same amusement without handing over any hard earned cash. We don't even get to enjoy some new rules created to fill up the holes in the list never yet touched, these are all rules that you will probably have heard before if you are a Trek fan of some description.

The sad fact is that my favourite bit of the book was the introduction and I just wish that Behr had maybe tried to include some commentary from Quark for each of the rules. This would have added so much more to the book and helped to ensure I didn't feel like I was being exploited in handing over my money for a list. I suppose it is ironic that this rather weak cash grab of a book is exactly the type of thing Quark would have loved!

There really isn't much more for me to add to this review as there isn't really that much for me to comment on. I can't really recommend anyone buy it as there are plenty of resources online where you can find these rules for free. Personally, I just hope that "Legends of the Ferengi" another book by Behr adds a little bit more to the Ferengi mythos than this book did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ferengi : " Rules Of Acquisition " : ("Star Trek: Deep Space Nine " ) : (Paperback)
This is a good book for the what you pay. It doesn't have all the Rules Of Acquisition as there was only 72 (I think) known at the time of the end of Deep Space Nine, however online you can find up to about 150 or 200 on wiki now. I would recommend if you have this you will know the ones which are known for the tv series but also which ones which have been added since. there is even space at the back to add others if you want to... who knows, maybe there will be another star trek series and they will be added into that. But hey, Rom as Grand Nagus... The whole book could change ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pricey - For die-hard fans only, 12 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ferengi : " Rules Of Acquisition " : ("Star Trek: Deep Space Nine " ) : (Paperback)
Chances are you've visited this page because you're a die-hard fan, but just in case... this book is very small, there're not many pages, and contains about a quarter of the Rules of Acquisition. You'll read the entire book in about 10 minutes. It is thus very pricey for what it is.

That said, if you have no choice and you must buy it... the price quoted above is likely to be pretty good (relative to other shops), the preface by 'Quark' is funny, and what I said earlier is irrelevant.

I certainly have a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ferengi : " Rules Of Acquisition " : ("Star Trek: Deep Space Nine " ) :
5.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews