Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you buy only one Trek book buy this.
If you have even a remote interest is Star Trek you will love this. I bought not realising it was part of a trilogy of books and to be honest it is better than the the other two. The plot keeps you entrigued and when you feel that you are getting tierd of it a new twist is introduced. The most intrieging aspect is the Borg/Romulan allience which must be read to be...
Published on 26 Jan 2000

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but very hard to follow at times.
I was really looking forward to reading this book. An alliance between the Romulans and the Borg?! Cool! However it is simply not that good. It starts off reasonable but as it goes on, it is very hard to follow and simply doesn't fit in in the Star Trek universe. Kudos to the writers for their effort but it is not as good as one may hope.
Published on 19 Jan 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you buy only one Trek book buy this., 26 Jan 2000
By A Customer
If you have even a remote interest is Star Trek you will love this. I bought not realising it was part of a trilogy of books and to be honest it is better than the the other two. The plot keeps you entrigued and when you feel that you are getting tierd of it a new twist is introduced. The most intrieging aspect is the Borg/Romulan allience which must be read to be believed. The part Spock plays in book is excellent especially the part about the Borg. If you want to read Avenger you must read this to understand the plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Return (Star Trek S.)., 21 Mar 2006
I love this book. It is so fantastic. Time just flew by when I read this book. It traveled quite far with me to on a few very long flights and coach journeys. I must admit, as a man of science, I was surprised with some of the stuff Mr. Shatner was coming up with, it just made it all the better. Moreover, you do not need much imagination for this book, Mr. Shatner does it for you with his exceptional discriptions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 6 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bill Shatner knows how to write a brilliant story and he knows what each character would do or say just like in the television series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligently-constructed slice of Star Trek future history., 14 Sep 1999
By A Customer
This is a cracking read. OK, so it's a Bill Shatner ego trip of the highest magnitude, but I guess we should be able to indulge him by now! The action rips along at a fair old pace, and there are unanswered questions littered along the way ("how could that happen?", "why'd he do that?"), but when it all starts falling together, it's pretty stunning. The revelation to Spock on the Borg homeworld (I won't spoil it) is absolutely jaw-dropping. It's all very familiar and very self-consistent, which all makes for a satisfying and exciting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Entertaining (Audio Book Review), 10 July 2014
Having read and enjoyed the novel I thought I would check out this tape version (my car still has a cassette player!). It basically follows the novel with a few cuts (For example losing Bones-shames as he's my favourite character) and runs about 3 hrs or so.
Shatner reads it himself. As you might expect, its entertaining in his usual style, but his impressions of the other characters are bad (Picard) or none-existent (Riker). However, you can usually get past this as the post production/sound is very good.Real effort has been made hear. Music plays in the background and sound effects (e.g. bleming up) increased the entertainment factor, allowing for repeated listening. I may be wrong but it doesn't seem to be available on CD despite the reading being broken up in chapters ala a cd. Defiantly check it out if you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Story, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like the star trek universe then this should appeal to you, it links the old and past better than generations ever did, there are nice links with the first movie and the Borg. decent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Star Trek Universe on another dimension, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Return (Star Trek) (Hardcover)
The Star Trek Generations movie ended, Kirk was dead (again), but if you ever wondered what happened after the Enterprise D crashed and they all went home for a few pints of synthehol, read this book. I starts during the Star Fleet clean up operation of Veridian 3, afterall you can imaging the mess crashing a Galaxy class starship would make!

Without giving it all away, the story moves quickly an tracks the mistery of why Kirks body is stollen and taken off world by unknown attackers and how this one act threatens the very existance of the Federation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Book., 24 Feb 2013
By 
P. Grayson (Beverley, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Return (Star Trek) (Hardcover)
I bought this because it is part of (I believe) a nine book series by William Shatner. It is an alternative version of the Star Trek First Contact story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE RETURN, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Return (Star Trek) (Hardcover)
the return, best star trek book written, should be made into a movie.
read it you will not be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Return by William Shatner, 20 Aug 2012
This review is from: The Return (Star Trek) (Hardcover)
Great read, grips u from the begining. Shatner has excelled in a fantastic series of books, cant wait to read the next book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Return (Star Trek)
The Return (Star Trek) by William Shatner (Hardcover - April 1996)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews