Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


82 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't read this - study it!
I read this at a time when I was feeling as if I had no direction in life. After reading it I thought 'wow!' The only reason I felt low was because I chose to be - maybe not conciously but I chose this none the less. The second time round I actually studied it and put it into practice. I cannot even begin to say how much life has changed for me. I am now flourishing in my...
Published on 20 Aug 2004

versus
89 of 100 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is not an audio version of Unlimited Power.
I bought this to listen to in the car after reading the book and was very disappointed. Although the title suggests it, it is not an audio version of the book at all, but a set of rambling excerts of Anthony Robbins taken from seminars and short recordings.
The material is made up of some of the anecdotes found in the book, some of the introductory passages and an...
Published on 14 Aug 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars the words ripped and off spring to mind, 1 Jan 2004
By 
Reader (coventry, west mids United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Unlimited Power (Personal Power) (Audio CD)
a disappointing purchase in as much as the content was minimal, at just short of an hour, and consisted of snippets from a seminar. What content there is, is inspirational, but the blatant cashing in kind of detracts from Tony Robbins statement that he wants to help people. You do lose a little respect for the guy when you realise you have purchased a few scraps that were left on the floor of the editing suite.
Remember where you came from Tony!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strategies and a philosophy on living, 6 Sep 2000
This review is from: Unlimited Power (Paperback)
This is Tony's first book, wrote back in 1986, when Tony was a leader in the field of NLP.
This is two books in one.
Section one, deals with different "tools" you can use to get you going in the direction you want. Each chapter is dedicated to a single tool. Put in basic english - to the point. However, he does repeat himself over and over but "repitation in th emother of skill" he says.
The second part is about what you nad the people you care about want.
So the tools you learned will help you in the attainment of your goals.
Alot is driven from NLP (the whole book is NLP techniques) and the philosophy of Jim Rohn.
Tony has mixed both well.
Tip: - After a chapter write a plan were you will use what you learn.
There is a topic on eating/dieiting. Encourages a vegen diet - but have a read what he says. He puts across the "natural hygenie" programme. Taught by Maralyn & Harvey Diamond (Fit for Life - the most famous book they wrote). Tony worked for them before he came into contact wioth NLP.
Therefore, what he's learned from the Jim Rohn, the Diamonds and NLP has been put into a plan that you can use.
You shouild brake this book down sentence by sentence, then it makes more sence than simply just reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pay more attention!, 14 Feb 2004
By A Customer
Anthony Robbins has total self-belief. He is proud of where he has got to and of his achievements, but the reader hears just a little too much about these. He went from being an unhappy overweight underachiever to having a large company, a good relationship and all the success he could handle by transforming his life himself. Unlimited Power describes the process he designed to get himself where he is today, and shows the reader how to do the same. It is full of interesting ideas, with some exercises for the reader to try out. Does it work? I have no idea, but Mr Robbins would like you to try.
Anthony Robbins is American through and through, and so is this book. There's nothing wrong with that, but most of the people he mentions are American millionaires or politicians and I'm not sure how many people outside the US will have hard of them or know what they have achieved. Norman Cousins? Lee Iacocca? Who are these people?
The book’s poor production values constantly get in the way of the message. Spelling mistakes abound. These are sometimes entertaining, such as when someone is so angry he flies into a range, but are usually just annoying. If Anthony Robbins is so attached to his book and so passionate about it, why didn’t he get it proofread? My copy is printed on quite coarse, yellowish paper, so the pages just don’t look inspiring. There is also no index, which might have been useful.
An interesting read, but maybe one to get out of your local library before you actually buy it.
Jo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Book If you Want A New Life, 22 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Unlimited Power (Paperback)
This book is very insightful into a human being's soul. I consider it one of the best help books I have & it is worth all the money you pay for it. The book covers everything from the physical, emotional, physiological, psychological & spiritual aspect. A must have in any library!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 40 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A so-so advice book, 3 Jun 2006
I borrowed this book from the library after seeing an advert for Anthony Robbins' products on a shopping channel. I'm into self-help books and I heard good things about his products and read good reviews about this book, so I decided to have a look at it. I ended up being a bit disappointed though, because I thought it would be better.

Good points:

There are plenty of exercises for you to do, which I think is good because it's something practical you can do now. My favourite exercise was the goal setting one, where you make an inventory of your dreams and then set goals for achieving them and steps that you can take towards accomplishing them. I also like the technique of making images smaller, eg. making a negative image smaller and further away or fuzzy, so it loses its power.

The book was interesting, especially the part about how people process information and the direction in which people's eyes move when they're thinking about something.

Bad Points: Anthony did come across as bit opinionated at times, especially when he was talking about eating meat, eg. "But you should know you can be healthier and happier than you are now by deciding you no longer want to eat off the flesh and skin of other living beings." I understand that that is his opinion but lots of people have decided that they can be happy and healthy eating meat and everyone has that choice. It just feels like he's pushing vegetarianism at you a bit.

I don't know if the author has experienced actual clinical depression but he doesnn't seem to understand it. I think it's a good idea to distract yourself from your depression but changing you state by acting happy all the time isn't going to make your problems go away. I also found it disturbing that the founders of NLP went into a mental institution and pretended they were going to crucify a man who thought he was Jesus (to help him). It worked and he said he wasn't Jesus but it seems dangerous that two men who hadn't previously treated him, were allowed to just go in and do that. One of them is a Gestalt therapist, so they did have some experience with psychology but it could have been dangerous.

Also this book was written 20 years ago, so some of the information is outdated now.

My overall opinion is that the book has some good exercises and ideas but I don't think it's suitable for people with depression or other mental illnesses. The depression advice should really be left to people with qualifications and experience in mental health treatment. Like it says in the book, you can just read it, take the bits out of it that you like and leave the ones you don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's more than a book; it is a TOOL, 7 April 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Unlimited Power (Paperback)
I can not get over just how complete this book is. It covers all areas of life, and I guarantee that you can read this book forever, and still find something new. If you don't walk different, breathe different, communicate different after reading this book, than I think you may have missed the point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy CD version, 9 Aug 2013
By 
EAB (Nottingham UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unlimited Power (Personal Power) (Audio CD)
I have listened to a number of great, insightful writers on this subject and hoped that Anthony Robbins would add to my collection. However, I was so disappoined with this CD. It really is not worth the money. There are so many other positive, thought provoking audio CDs which are far superior to this. In addition to this it is only 1 hour long! Don't waste your money!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buy the book instead!, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unlimited Power (Personal Power) (Audio CD)
This audio copy is a brief summary of the book and although raises some ideas from the book doesn't go into any detail on any of them. If you buy this, you will listen to it once and want to read the book. Its an expensive preview!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely amazing, 28 May 2010
By 
A. N. Sutcliffe "Nigel" (Guildford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having read quite a few persoal development books recently, which were quite useful but not life changing, I was not expecting exceptional things from this long-established and respected book, but wow, I found it radically changed my attitude to myself and life, adding a great confidence to my outlook and actions. I would suggest to anyone, put it at the top of your list and re-evaluate and re-align yourself and your actions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Robbins Transcends Platitudes about Attitudes, 8 Mar 2006
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unlimited Power (Paperback)
Do you want to take control of your life, abolish your limitations and achieve your most elusive goals? Anthony Robbins teaches you how to do just that. You’ll learn how your brain processes information and how to manipulate that process to your advantage. You’ll explore the science of "Neuro-Linguistic Programming" (NLP), the study of human neurology, so you can analyze and duplicate your successes. Robbins uses NLP extensively, although many experts debunk it. He explains that the best path to success is to find an accomplished person, discover his or her strategies for becoming successful, and duplicate that process. He also weighs in on how to keep your weight down, communicate and eliminate bad habits. By the way, he cautions against skimming this book to separate the self-help wheat from the chaff. Instead, he encourages you to read every page and perform every exercise. This is not easy because he explains each concept at least two or three ways. However, Robbins has a big following and is clearly onto something; We think you might want to find out just what. This book is a good place to start if you seek a personal achievement makeover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unlimited Power (Personal Power)
Unlimited Power (Personal Power) by Anthony Robbins (Audio CD - 21 Aug 2000)
£8.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews