Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Advanced
Don't buy this as your first introduction to dramatic writing. But if you've read Syd Field and the others, this one will take you way beyond. It might be daunting, but it will sure open your eyes to the demands of writing good drama.
Published on 12 Feb. 2001

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING: Modern classic -- scandalous edition
This concerns the BN Publishing paperback edition ISBN 978-9562915861:

The people at BN Publishing, may they roast forever in literary purgatory who ever they are, have a web site with the claim 'Improving People's Life'. They improved this playwrights classic by spacing lines and paragraphs the way we do it on the web: no indents, just a blank line between the...
Published on 10 May 2012 by Whiplash Willy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING: Modern classic -- scandalous edition, 10 May 2012
This concerns the BN Publishing paperback edition ISBN 978-9562915861:

The people at BN Publishing, may they roast forever in literary purgatory who ever they are, have a web site with the claim 'Improving People's Life'. They improved this playwrights classic by spacing lines and paragraphs the way we do it on the web: no indents, just a blank line between the paragraphs. Then they added some odd looking formatting of headings & sub-headings. Plus typos, typos and... typos. Here and there the lines also break in funny places across the page. It's all rather sad, sloppy and annoying, though no major crime, perhaps. What in my opinion is way beyond annoying... they have quietly REMOVED WHOLE SECTIONS of the original text -- in other words, chopped the thing up and decided what we don't need to read. Or, probably, how to make money... Shame on them. Just stay away, please.
Also available these days is the Touchstone/Simon & Schuster edition -- ISBN-10 0-671-21332-6. That's got the text Egri wrote.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Advanced, 12 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Art of Dramatic Writing: Its Basis in the Creative Interpretation of Human Motives (Paperback)
Don't buy this as your first introduction to dramatic writing. But if you've read Syd Field and the others, this one will take you way beyond. It might be daunting, but it will sure open your eyes to the demands of writing good drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Woody Allen Recommended This Book, 7 May 2008
This review is from: The Art of Dramatic Writing: Its Basis in the Creative Interpretation of Human Motives (Paperback)
Woody Allen said of Lajos Egri "I still think his 'The Art of Dramatic Writing' is the most stimulating and best book on the subject ever written, and I have them all." (Part One, 'Woody Allen - A Biography' by Eric Lax).
This is how I found out about Egri's book and were I to try to give it the full praise it deserves I'd quickly run out of superlatives.
Even if you have no intention of getting into writing I would recommend this work because of the way it will transform your understanding not only of plays, but all narrative art forms. You will put down the book enlightened, empowered and aware of how little many supposed authorities in the field of writing (especially in higher education) grasp about the fundamentals of play-, novel- & screen-writing.
For someone who wants to be a writer this work will prove invaluable. I won't go into the specifics of Egri's approach (which involves the distinction between an idea and a premise and the narrative's role in the 'proving' of premses) since it wouldn't be possible in the space available, but urge you to get a copy now.
Will Taylor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr. Egri's Masterpiece, 12 Mar. 2009
By 
Harry Boyd "history lover" (Rhode, County Offaly, Eire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Art of Dramatic Writing: Its Basis in the Creative Interpretation of Human Motives (Paperback)
Excellent fundamental advice and instruction for a creative writer. Easy to read, with interesting metaphors and motifs for any aspiring composer of dramatic stories.
The author brings his experience directly to the audience. His prose is both authoritative and inviting. Any relevant questions pertaining to the 'art of dramatic writing' are answered in an engaging manner, easily identified and explained in simple detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable advice from a genius, 24 Mar. 2006
This review is from: The Art of Dramatic Writing: Its Basis in the Creative Interpretation of Human Motives (Paperback)
I must have nearly 20 books on the subject of writing fiction. But two books stand out; this and Egri's other book - The Art Of creative Writing. They are miles ahead of anything else I've read. Buy them, read them and reread them again and again... and you will be become a better writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rewarding if you make it to the end., 24 Aug. 2009
By 
This review is from: The Art of Dramatic Writing: Its Basis in the Creative Interpretation of Human Motives (Paperback)
This book is not for the faint-hearted and definitely not for the writers who are just starting out. It is harder to get into than the Pentagon and is heavy going throughout. If you want simple instructions on how to write an exciting script then this definitely isn't for you. It is however a great stepping block from the 'simple stuff' if you are a seasoned scriptwriter and really turns some of our ideas about writing inside-out. I do recommend this book if you are studying scriptwriting at an advanced level, otherwise, leave well alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality, 23 July 2007
By 
P. Carmichael "pcarm" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art of Dramatic Writing: Its Basis in the Creative Interpretation of Human Motives (Paperback)
If you want to understand how to write drama for theatre, films or tv you will not find a better book. I'm currently reading it for the second time because it can be quite hard work at first. There have been mountains of books written on this subject but Egri's is the best despite being penned more than half a century again. A must for anyone serious about writing drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic still relevant today, 16 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A classic by Lajos Egri which I have come to late (both for it and for me). Of course, reading in the 21st century, you have to make some allowances for a text that was first published in the 1940s - I found the mock Q & As with an anonymous earnest playwright a little reminiscent of government-sponsored information films of the 40s and 50s, and nostalgically amusing for that - and you have to ignore the ingrained sexism which is also of its time, and the general tone of top-down pedantry; but it is a mark of how good this book is that it is possible to swerve around all of these historic relics and still find a good route map to effective playwriting.

I found the chapters on Premise and Character especially useful - refreshing rather than illuminating for someone who has read other guides to writing drama, but worthwhile for all that, and very practical if a mite prescriptive. The case studies too are generally well done, not least Ibsen's 'The Doll's House', a particular favourite of Egri's which he returns to frequently to illustrate points of character development and stagecraft. It's such a good example that I am now re-reading the play to study it further and enjoy it again.

The subtitle of 'The Art of Dramatic Writing': Its Basis In The Creative Interpretation Of Human Motives summarises Egri's basic thesis very well - the 1940s fascination with psychology post-Freud is evident - and it more or less stands the test of time.

Don't make this the only book you read if you are serious about writing plays, but by no means neglect it.

Reviewer David Williams blogs regularly as Writer in the North.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful info, but you might prefer something more modern, 21 Jun. 2000
By 
HLT (Wales, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Dramatic Writing: Its Basis in the Creative Interpretation of Human Motives (Paperback)
Don't be fooled by the recent publication date of this edition: the work dates from the 1940s. I found the style to be hard going and the examples to be somewhat trite, and I confess that after I read my copy, it ended up in a charity shop. If you consult Egri's entry on Wikipedia (as of today, at least!), you will find a link to the first chapter which will help you decide for yourself on its likely relevance to your needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars DON'T BUY FROM THIS SELLER, THE BOOK IS A FAKE COPY! NOT REAL BOOK!, 6 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Appalling!! I'm not talking about the text itself nor the author obviously but about the way this so-called "book" was published. I'm not exaggerating when I say that it looks like some one did a copy/paste job from a PDF of the entire text and printed it for cheap somewhere. I think this is a total scam, exactly like buying a knock-off or a fake DVD copy sold on the street. The whole book is packed with typos, the fonts changes all the time - small, big - whole sections of the actual text are missing, paragraphs are jumped, no page numbers... in brief, this HAS to be fake... it is impossible that a real, legitimate publisher would allow such a piece of garbage being published in such horrible quality. I have asked the seller to send me a full refund ASAP! DON'T BUY THIS BOOK FROM THIS SELLER!! IT'S A FAKE!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of Dramatic Writing: Its Basis in the Creative Interpretation of Human Motives
£7.81
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews