Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars wonderful
Loved it! I'm a Buffy fan always enjoyed it, I would read it again and any one who's a fan of Buffy I would definitely get this
Published 10 months ago by lydia axton

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Volume Two: The Watcher's Guide to Buffy
I have all three Watcher's Guides and out of them all this is my least favourite. The material in this volume is less original than that included in the volume one and three. There is some useful material on how they went out about creating the show, while the cast profiles have insight, but the section about merchandising could perhaps have been replaced by something...
Published 11 months ago by Kindle Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Volume Two: The Watcher's Guide to Buffy, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buffy: The Watcher's Guide Volume Two (Buffy the Vampire Slayer Series) (Paperback)
I have all three Watcher's Guides and out of them all this is my least favourite. The material in this volume is less original than that included in the volume one and three. There is some useful material on how they went out about creating the show, while the cast profiles have insight, but the section about merchandising could perhaps have been replaced by something more interesting. In this day and age of hard sell and intense commericialisation, (look at the range of merchandise on Harry Potter, for example), it is practically inevitable that there will be 'Buffy' stamped on anything that doesn't move. As such, do we really need a whole section about merchandise?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buffy: The Watcher's Guide Volume Two (Buffy the Vampire Slayer Series) (Paperback)
Loved it! I'm a Buffy fan always enjoyed it, I would read it again and any one who's a fan of Buffy I would definitely get this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A follow up that's as good as what came before ..., 6 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Buffy: The Watcher's Guide Volume Two (Buffy the Vampire Slayer Series) (Paperback)
It seems that every popular show nowadays has some kind of episode guide/companion book hastily thrown together to go with it so its a delight to see one that is actually worth the price and even better, its as good as, if not better than Volume One. To any Buffy fans, this book is a must and even if you're not a fan of the show, dip in - its informative without being gushing and has some excellent colour stills of the cast and behind the scenes info - and you might find yourself realising that its more than just a 'kids show'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely matches expectations from the first Guide, 11 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Buffy: The Watcher's Guide Volume Two (Buffy the Vampire Slayer Series) (Paperback)
This companion to seasons three and four is detailed, with excellent synopses for each episode complete with notes on continuity, relationships etc, a good selection of photos from the set, the show and publicity shots, and an amazingly in-depth guide to how the show is put together with interviews with cast and representatives from most of the crew areas. Certainly value for money.
But as a Buffy/Angel fan (of the couple), I was disappointed. I felt that in both the section on romantic relationships and also in these sections of the episode guide, their relationship was played down, as if the writers let their knowledge of the end of season three colour how they wrote the relationship actually during season three. Some details of the 'Angel' crossover eps would also have been nice. In contrast to that, I felt that the Buffy/Riley relationship was played up to an extent not backed up by the show.
But buy it anyway, because the other stuff makes it worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Official Companion to Seasons 3 & 4 of "Buffy", 19 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Buffy: The Watcher's Guide Volume Two (Buffy the Vampire Slayer Series) (Paperback)
"The Watcher's Guide, Volume 2" is hard to rate because while it is superior to the vast majority of official (or unofficial) companion volumes to various hit television series, it does not seem to be as good as the first volume, which means it is still a great deal for fans of "Buffy the Vampire Slayer." There are three major and two minor sections to this volume, with focuses on seasons three and four of Buffy. First there is the Buffyverse, which recaps what we need to know from the first two seasons of the series in terms of the whats and wheres, covers the main characters with choice quotes from each, and includes an interesting section on "The Pain" which explores the rich pathos of the series. Section two covers the episodes from seasons three and four by providing plot synopses, choice quotes, lines cut from the original teleplays, continuity concerns, pop-culture footnotes, and updates on "The Agony and the Ecstasy" dealing with the aforementioned pathos. The third section provides cast profiles, which are really a hit and miss compilation, with most of the regulars receiving brief treatment and then interviews of varying lengths and value with the rest, most of whom are guest stars. The use of interviews continues throughout the fourth section on the production side of Creating Buffy. The last two sections deal with "The Bands of Buffy" and "Merchandising."
The first volume of "The Watcher's Guide" offered 300 pages and while Volume 2 taps out closer to 500 you do not really get the feeling you are getting that much more in terms of quality. When I look over this volume now I think I know why: It is not because the original team of Christopher Golden and Nancy Holder split up for him to do "The Monster Book" and her to do "The Watcher's Guide, Volume 2." It is because the second half of the book consists of interview transcripts and I think this comes across as being sort of the easy way out. There is some good information and stories in most of the interviews, but sure, a few of them are not worth the effort. You cannot fault Holder and her new cohorts Jeff Mariotte and Maryelizabeth Hart for being comprehensive, but taking more than one pass at each of these people might have been helpful. The main thing is that Joss Whedon's people are out there putting extra effort into these companion volumes and you are not going to find something for another show as good as this volume, whatever its problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, 15 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Buffy: The Watcher's Guide Volume Two (Buffy the Vampire Slayer Series) (Paperback)
This book is a must for any true buffy fan. It has cast info, ep guides and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a must have !, 24 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Buffy: The Watcher's Guide Volume Two (Buffy the Vampire Slayer Series) (Paperback)
i got wg2 for xmas and it's a brilliant read that contains interesting facts and gives you behind the scene info from the cast and crew :all in all a good buy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb08ec9e4)

This product

Buffy: The Watcher's Guide Volume Two (Buffy the Vampire Slayer Series)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews