Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiration from the inside, outwards.
An understated revelation into the compelling search for meaning to life, which Frankl believes lies within the meaning we find in our suffering. His case is very persuasive. I was changed by the book. While a Jew from concentration camps, he sometimes borrows Christian imagery to make his point, and his message is ultimately and purposefully universal. This is...
Published on 26 Oct 1998

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Promotion of Logotherapy
A more adequate title would be "Introduction and Promotion of Logotherapy". I did find interesting and enriching Viktor Frankl's objective report about how the human psyche adapted itself to the dreadful concentration camps, his considerations about how Suffering isn't necessarily a fatality and how life can be a sum of small but meaningful whys. Nevertheless, the...
Published 10 months ago by David Fernandes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A definite "must have". . . . . . ., 17 Jun 1999
By A Customer
Wow - what an exceptional book written by an exceptional man. If you read this book and still feel in despair because the waitress was too slow serving you, or your food was too cold at lunch time, you need to read it again. This is a story of the absolute "will" of the human spirit. If we have meaning to our lives, we can overcome anything. Victor Frankl is an absolute shining symbol of that human spirit. To overcome the horror and absolute hell on Earth of the Nazi Death Camps is itself a monument to the spirit of man but to then go on and help others grow and become more at peace with themselves through Logotherapy is absolutely amazing. Reading this book helps you put your life into perspective and helps you see the trivialities of the things that we sometimes spend too much time worrying about. I got soooooooooo much from this book and I will be reading it again. My advice - quit whining about things, don't buy the stuff off the T.V, just read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delivers what it promises!!, 14 Nov 1998
By A Customer
I picked up this book because it is referenced in so many other books and I had to read for myself what all of the hype was about. Now I understand. Through Viktor Frankl's words you will experience what it was to have suffered a fate worse than death - or so I thought before reading this book. This is a book that will change your perceptions and paradigms. It is one of those books that you will pick up and not put down. Afterwards, the way you see yourself and your life will change forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful and gripping, 30 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man's Search for Meaning (Mass Market Paperback)
It has been a long time since I read a book cover to cover in a matter of days but that was the case with 'Man's search for meaning'. I would highly recommend it for both those with an interest in concentration camp life and as a taster of existential therapy, in particular logotherapy. The former part of the book brought forth a myriad of thoughts and feelings for myself, including but not exclusive to; horror, suspicion, moments of epiphany and elation. This book is a matter of fact account of Frankl's personal experiences and is ultimately an uplifting story of human spiritual triumph in the face of overwhelming callousness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Humbling is not the word.., 26 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man's Search for Meaning (Mass Market Paperback)
Honest, painful, humbling..I could go on.
Its hard to know whether Victors training as a psychiatrist or his genetics or both, contributed to his ability to see the wood from the trees. What he experienced & was still able to do, was incredible.

I've just read on here, some comments about people who complain about material goods they are sold..the solution, send them a copy of this book & life will regain its clarity & perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 22 Nov 2011
By 
A. Costello "inatree" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Man's Search for Meaning (Mass Market Paperback)
Victor Frankl went through hell, but he came out the other side with a new kind of therapy and an outlook on life that everyone would benefit from learning more about. l wouldn't describe it as a life changing read for me, but the wisdom he imparts is substantial and his experiences harrowing. It's the kind of book you have to read more than once, because l think as people we take things for granted all too easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live-changing, 29 Oct 1998
By A Customer
Viktor Frankl changed my outlook years ago and I am now training the next generation in logotherapy. Wonderfully spiritual and needs to be read more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational - one of the most unusual self-help books ever, 24 Feb 2010
By 
John Hopper (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man's Search for Meaning (Mass Market Paperback)
An excellent, fairly short, but very inspiring book. The author's experiences in Auschwitz concretised his belief that the fundamental purpose of life is the search for meaning and that each person's search is unique to him or her. Finding this meaning can enable one in even the most trying circumstances to find relief and salvation in an inner spiritual (but not necessarily religious) world. A wonderful eye-opener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Promotion of Logotherapy, 17 Feb 2014
By 
David Fernandes (Portugal, Lisbon) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Man's Search for Meaning (Mass Market Paperback)
A more adequate title would be "Introduction and Promotion of Logotherapy". I did find interesting and enriching Viktor Frankl's objective report about how the human psyche adapted itself to the dreadful concentration camps, his considerations about how Suffering isn't necessarily a fatality and how life can be a sum of small but meaningful whys. Nevertheless, the constant self-flattering, the boring detailed description of logotherapy and the bashing of Freud's psychoanalysis, made it hard for me to finish the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man's Search for Meaning (Mass Market Paperback)
The meaning of meaning of life written in a meaningful way. Every reader, possibly every person who's able to read, should become familiar with this book before dying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a must for any one needing inspiration in the face of adversity, easy to read and awe inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Man's Search for Meaning
Man's Search for Meaning by Viktor E. Frankl (Mass Market Paperback - 1 Dec 1997)
Used & New from: £5.62
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews