Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars11
3.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 August 2001
When Ramesses fufilled the dream of uniting all of Egypt and creating peace in Egypt but then died his decendants did not strengthen the law of Ma'at upon Egypt, therefore allowing the three lands of Egypts to split up. A few thousand years after Ramesses death Pharoah Pia, a wise and peaceful ruler, has allowed the decay of Egypt and since he is in the south tribes from the north of the Delta have decided to take Egypt from the control of the Nubian king. Now Pia has to rise from his slumber and with his wife fight against the opposers of Ma'at to win back his country, but it won't be easy, as the rebels leader is an enemy worthy of Pia. Although the book contains parts where there are long parts they are needed as they represent the authors belief of mixing facts with drama. The amazing life of both the Pharoah and his opponent give us the knowledge to know everything about Egypt and its rulers. It is a brilliant followup to the Ramesses series and must be read.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2000
Seems Christian and his publishers are cashing in on the popularity and interest in Ancient Egypt. Not exactly an epic, rather a 'labored' coming together of notes and data. It pales in comparison with the Ramses series. It would have been less annoying if the publisher had bothered to employ a couple of prooof reeders throughout the series of books by the same author!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2007
I brought this book because it has loads to recommend it: written by a leading archaeologist, incredible subject matter, and nice cover (yes, I can be that shallow) - what could go wrong? Well, three things: the characters are flat, wooden, unconvincing and uninteresting, the plot is formulaic and goes into a repeat-pattern spin half-way through (one damn city after another), and lastly the anachronisms! These last are no doubt to bridge that gap between the Ancient world and our own, and make events assume an immediacy otherwise impossible, but for me they shattered the illusion of the whole: all we got was tacked on, safe, nice conservative morality a la Disney. I have no doubt Christian Jacq is an astute academic, but he cannot write involving and engaging novels if this is anything to go by- where is the art and humanity in all its convolutions, or even just drama and atmosphere? By the end I was irritated by this lazy and uninspired book. What a shame!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2000
The 5 Ramses books are thrilling, and are a roller coaster ride. This is really tame, has been written too quickly, and feels as if it has been written by an assistant in the style of Jacq.
Read the other 5. This is for die hard fans only
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2009
As other reviewers have commented, this novel comes as a very disappointing effort from Christian Jacq. The plot is weak, while potentially interesting characters are undermined by dialogue that contrives to be both dull yet far too colloquial. The whole novel lacks style and gives the impression that it was written in a hurry. Some of Jacq's earlier novels took years to write. It's not just the initial writing, but the revising and the attention to the smallest details that give a novel readability and style. My own book In All His Glory which is also set in Ancient Egypt took over three years to write and revise. As a result, it reads smoothly yet forcefully. It has impact. Unfortunately, the same cannot be said of "The Black Pharaoh".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2010
Although the novel deals with an attempt by a Libyan prince to take Egypt by force from the ruling Nubian Pharaoh, not a lot seems to happen! No big battles as the Pharaoh retakes the country, in fact nearly all the cities give up without a fight. I know the ancient egyptians were a very religious people and that they believed in magic but the preternatural senses of the animals around the Pharaoh as well as every city being a sacred one and the device that the Pharaoh was protected by the gods rendering him capable of getting a city to surrender without bloodshed became rather annoying. Having read and enjoyed the Ramses series this was a disappointment!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2000
I'm disappointed!!! After having read all five adventures of Ramses I was really looking forward to reading the Black Pharaoh. It turned out a slap-dash job in comparison. Apart from having no action what-so-ever as all of the Black Pharaoh's conquests were achieved without him having to do anything (and I thought they were going to war!!!). Some of the vocabulary used gave no authenticity to the story, they were too modern. Perhaps it was bad translation I don't know. Maybe Jacq thought he could make easy money off this one after the success of his Ramses books. A complete waste of time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2005
This book is what sparked my love of both the author's books and an interest in exploring many of places that were depicted within.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
the mysteries of ancient Egypt come alive as you read compulsive reading could not put it down,i was there all the way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2001
If I would have read this book before I went to Egypt, in 1995, it would have put me off for life. It has no structure & the plot is very weak. I suggest that Jacq's reads Wilbur Smith's book 'River God'. A well researched & excellent book. I have another suggestion - employ a good proofreader as there are several flaws.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.