Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, diverse and well researched
Money-laundering can often seem an esoteric, victimless crime .... sufficiently detached from the original actions to be fairly irrelevant. This author is a passionate believer the opposite is true and his book is very much a manifesto for world governments to wake up to the scale and effects of the problem.
The book is arranged as a series of very detailed...
Published on 11 Dec. 2002 by Benedict Carey

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where was the proofreader?
It is an interesting, informative, albeit out-of-date, book. The main problem with the Kindle version is the appalling number of typos and mistakes. It goes beyond simple spelling errors to poor grammar, sentences that have no verbs, dittography, use of both the definite and the indefinite article to define the same noun, sentences that end without completion. It really...
Published on 5 July 2012 by Maecenas13


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, diverse and well researched, 11 Dec. 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Laundrymen: Inside the World's Third Largest Business (Paperback)
Money-laundering can often seem an esoteric, victimless crime .... sufficiently detached from the original actions to be fairly irrelevant. This author is a passionate believer the opposite is true and his book is very much a manifesto for world governments to wake up to the scale and effects of the problem.
The book is arranged as a series of very detailed descriptions of large scale criminal enterprises and the investigations and stings to bring them down.
It isn't really about money-laundering specifically, but about the crime and criminal enterprises that both rely on and support money-laundering activity. That makes some sense, as the author is keen to stress, money laundering is the life blood of most other crimes as well as a crime itself and to understand it properly we need really to understand where the money is coming from and the consequences of the criminals succeeding in their laundry.
What the book doesn't do is give away much technical explanation of what money laundering is or how it is carried out. Just enough is provided to understand the nature of most of the operations detailed, and how they came to be exposed. More might have been interesting, but probably would have made the book a bit turgid.
What is given are wonderfully researched and engagingly written essays about some very well known operations (Brinx Matt, Central American drug cartels) and some remarkably interesting lesser known ones (Saddam Hussien disposing of his Kuwaiti spoils).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, extremely well-written and thought provoking, 19 Nov. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Laundrymen: Inside the World's Third Largest Business (Paperback)
This exposé on money-laundering was certainly an eye-opener. Written in an anecdotal, but knowledgable, style, Robinson manages to find the hidden stories of the launderers, and weave an extraordinary picture. Having finished reading this book, I now feel something of an authority on a subject I previously had no knowledge about. I thoroughly recommend this, even for those of you who have reservations about the subject - it's an engrossing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where was the proofreader?, 5 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is an interesting, informative, albeit out-of-date, book. The main problem with the Kindle version is the appalling number of typos and mistakes. It goes beyond simple spelling errors to poor grammar, sentences that have no verbs, dittography, use of both the definite and the indefinite article to define the same noun, sentences that end without completion. It really distracts from the overall reading experience. As the book progresses they get worse. Could someone please proofread the text and upload a decent version?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars review of The Laundrymen, 7 Feb. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Laundrymen: Inside the World's Third Largest Business (Paperback)
Money-laundering is a fascinating and complex topic.However,this book was written in a way that made it very easy to understand. The book was very involved,and although easy to understand you do have to take your time reading it. But it was throughly enjoyable. I would recommend it to anyone interested in this subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not An Exciting & Glamorous Topic As Marketing Suggests, 23 Sept. 2013
By 
Mr. Peter T. J. Horam "Reasonable Man" (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is marketed in such a way that would make you think the world of money laundering is exciting and edgy. However, reading this book reveals it's actually far more mundane and dull than the reader has been led to expect. It's about as exciting as a list of financial transactions - which is mostly what it is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Light entertainment, 29 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is full of poor grammar, spelling mistakes, typos, etc. which is pretty odd. Also, there is no index and I think the book is now out of date. Apart from the mention of some Russian dealings in this millennium everything "stops" in the nineteen nineties.

Regardless, I found it a fun and informative read and while I was aware that money laundering was big and widespread, this book shows that its much bigger and more widespread than I had thought.

An updated version to include all the Russian dealings since around 1991 would be most interesting, if not a bit scary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 30 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Laundrymen: Inside the World's Third Largest Business (Paperback)
As someone who takes a keen interest in true crime I found this book to be utterly fascinating. Before I read The Laundrymen I didn't really know much about money laundering, but Mr Robinson's book provided me with an eye-opening deluge of information on the subject. With clear, concise examples of the principles, and true-life examples, Robinson explains just why money laundering is so important to the criminals - and to the law enforcers who are trying to defeat them.

This book was an absorbing, gripping read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oldie but a goodie, 12 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Laundrymen: Inside the World's Third Largest Business (Paperback)
I am a legal professional and I wanted an easy entry in to this area again.

It gives plenty of examples, the mechanics of ML in an accesible manner.

I think I read this about 20 years ago but it still seems to be relevant.

Essential reading either if you are in law enforcement or want to avoid getting caught!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good book with a fair amount of revealing facts., 17 Nov. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Laundrymen: Inside the World's Third Largest Business (Paperback)
I found this well-written book very interesting and informative. Robinson shows in a fine way how truly complicated the "dark" economy has become.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 89) Very good value Would use again, 9 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At 1 p a bargain ( ok postage £1.89)
Very good value
Would use again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Laundrymen: Inside the World's Third Largest Business
The Laundrymen: Inside the World's Third Largest Business by Jeffrey Robinson (Paperback - 1 Jun. 1998)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews