Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Want to give an Alien dinner to your friends?!
Being a fan of Star Trek and watching Mr.Neelix, the Talaxian on board the star ship Voyager for 7 seasons, preparing all sorts of dishes for his crewmates, I become interested in how to prepare it myself for my friends, in order to have a different dinner night, that by itself would create a nice conversation subject. I've searched and found the official Star Trek...
Published on 7 April 2005 by Pedro Veiga Grilo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars text to speech needed
very good book but very poor standards for text and speech for those who can not read this also apllies to all star trek kindle books
Published 12 months ago by Matthew Manson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Want to give an Alien dinner to your friends?!, 7 April 2005
This review is from: Star Trek Cookbook (Paperback)
Being a fan of Star Trek and watching Mr.Neelix, the Talaxian on board the star ship Voyager for 7 seasons, preparing all sorts of dishes for his crewmates, I become interested in how to prepare it myself for my friends, in order to have a different dinner night, that by itself would create a nice conversation subject. I've searched and found the official Star Trek cookbook. It was great to prepare Klingon, Vulcan, Talaxian, Bajoran, etc, food. Everyone loved it, even the non scifi believers.
If you tired of sorting out new dishes, here are your new ones, made out of everything you know but with different names and really different presentations.
Only four stars because there aren't enough photos illustrating the outcome of the recipes, but not a problem if you have just a litle imagination going on.
A must have for any kitchen lover or surprise new delicious flavours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mmmmmm!!, 27 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Trek Cookbook (Paperback)
This cook book (writen by Voyager's own Talaxian chef's alter ego) is full of tasty-sounding meals, desserts and snacks. It gives you good guidelines of ingrediants, and full instructions on how to make the delacacies. Submitted in this book, are favourite recipies by both the character's of Voyager, and their real-life counter-parts. The only problem is, you rarely have a lot of the exotic ingredints just lying around the kitchen! A good read, even if you find it too expensive to actually make anything!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book with recipes., 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Cookbook (Paperback)
I'v recently held a Star Trek Birthday Party at which I served:

Captain Sisko's Jambalaya
Counsellor Troi's Oskoid Salad
& Dr McCoy's Tennessee Beans

The recipes were easy to follow with lots of helpful information and the dishes were delicious.

There were vegetarian versions of the dishes I made and child-friendly/non-alcoholic versions too.

The only drawbacks are that there aren't many photographs to show you the finished dishes. I intend to take my own photos so I have a record. This put me off buying the book some time ago but this was a mistake - reading the recipe titles and descriptions gives you a good idea. You can't just flick through and pick a nice photo you have to read part of the description but that's not too hard and in my opinion worth it.

I am a gluten-free vegan and so have lots of dietary requirements but I found these recipes easy to adapt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars text to speech needed, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good book but very poor standards for text and speech for those who can not read this also apllies to all star trek kindle books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun for a trekkie, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Cookbook (Paperback)
I cant wait to try some of the recipes. The book is written in a fun way and gives hints on what they used in the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spotted this at the Star Trek convention, 31 Mar 2013
By 
Neil Rickard (West Wales, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Cookbook (Paperback)
I went to the London Star Trek Convention, spotted this cookbook on a stand, not priced and they were busy, so I went back later, but the had sold out. So, I ordered from Amazon, because they were to be gifts for friends. The book is quite extensive and a must for a Star Trek fan who also likes to cook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Trekkie fan, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Cookbook (Paperback)
As an inveterate Star Trek fan, this book was the ideal christmas present. No only do I get a StarTrek 'fix' but I get some cracking receipes to boot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars star trek cook book, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Cookbook (Paperback)
this book was really great, loved the reciepies they are real and can all be tried for real ! great fun idea for star trek fans everywhere !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More than just a cookbook!, 2 Jan 2013
By 
Kat Burns (Glynneath, Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Cookbook (Paperback)
I bought this as a Christmas gift for a friend of mine who is an avid Star Trek fan, and unfortunately a bad cook also!

The Cover of the book itself looks slightly faded, and would much appreciate a bit of an update, just to brighten all of the colors, but otherwise it's a perfect buy!

With enough of a back story to count as a reading book, and many recipes to attempt it works wonders, and will keep anyone busy!

If I had another friend who loved Star Trek as much, I would most definitely buy again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fine as a novelty gift, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Cookbook (Paperback)
Fine as a novelty gift, not many photographs/images and black and white only inside, was surprised by the amount of actual content though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek Cookbook
Star Trek Cookbook by William J. Birnes (Paperback - 1 Feb 1999)
11.28
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews