Customer Reviews


130 Reviews
5 star:
 (99)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life changing
Like other readers I strongly suggest you view her TED talks - but this book is an amplification and detailed explanation of the talk - it really enhances what she's saying.
First, for those unfamiliar with Brene's work, she is a 'proper' academic, researcher, but working in the less common academic field of studying vulnerablilty and shame. Now before you decide...
Published 23 months ago by Rachel Irvine

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Repetitive
This book starts out well and is interesting, but like so many lifestyle-changing books, it runs out of steam quickly and just repeats itself. Overall I found nothing new here - a basic bit of CBT about changing how we view ourselves and how we present to the world; accept yourself as you are and "to thine own self be true".
Published 17 months ago by Blue Monday


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

66 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life changing, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like other readers I strongly suggest you view her TED talks - but this book is an amplification and detailed explanation of the talk - it really enhances what she's saying.
First, for those unfamiliar with Brene's work, she is a 'proper' academic, researcher, but working in the less common academic field of studying vulnerablilty and shame. Now before you decide this book isn't for you - just think about some of these things she's discovered.

As we get older, wiser and more bruised by life's events - a lot of us try to shut down our feelings of vulnerability so we don't get hurt any more. We also try to comply to society's stereotypes of our gender (these are completely different for men and women - as a woman I thought the social prssure to be thin, pretty and have a perfect home was bad - just read her research on men's straitjacket). The problem is with this, is that we numb all our feelings. So if you don't feel bad, you don't feel good either. She identifies that so many of us believe we can avoid unhappiness by forboding - who hasn't had a moment of 'everything is going well - disaster must be about to strike', rather than accepting that if bad things happen, the missing out on enjoying the preceeding good years won't help?

I'm explaining this badly - she does it really well, with honesty, vulnerability and humour. I urge you to try this book - I don't think you will regret it. It will change your perspective on life, your approach to parenting and contributes to a more joyful, less scared and angry middle-years period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is healing, insightful, reflective, inspiring, challenging and hopeful. For those wishing to lead a more compassionate, loving and forgiving life, with teachings and practices of how to have all of the above, while also having boundaries, knowing your worth and not allowing yourself to be a door mat, this book is a pathway to such enlightenment. A must have for those seeking and walking 'the path'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dare greatly and engage fully in your life, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being vulnerable is not a weakness, it requires great courage. Avoiding uncertainty, risks, and emotional exposure limits our lives. Fear leads to disconnection and lost opportunities. Our only choice is really to dare greatly and engage fully in our lives. It's only by showing up and letting ourselves be seen that we can make those unique contributions that only we can make.

In the book, Brené Brown explores what drives our fear of being vulnerable, how we are protecting ourselves from vulnerability, and - most importantly - how we can engage with vulnerability so that we can live our lives fully. As the book title says, this has consequences for how we live, love, parent, and lead.

Personally, I'm very interested in how the courage of being vulnerable can transform the way we lead. The most significant problems which people talked with Brené about stems from disengagement, the lack of feedback, the fear of staying relevant amid rapid change, and the need for clarity of purpose. She emphasizes the importance of taking direct action when blame and shame (bullying, public criticism & reprimands, reward systems that intentionally belittle people) is used as a management tool, because management by fear is very unproductive and totally unacceptable.

Brené provides a very well researched and important perspective on leadership, teaching, and parenting. I warmly recommend her book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars definitely a thought provoking book, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Daring Greatly should be a compulsory read for all teachers and Parents. Brene shows so clearly how the malaise of modern society has built up the fear and shame culture. An excellent book with so much good advice about how to improve your relationships and transform the way you live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Repetitive, 11 July 2013
This review is from: Daring Greatly: How the Courage to Be Vulnerable Transforms the Way We Live, Love, Parent, and Lead (Paperback)
This book starts out well and is interesting, but like so many lifestyle-changing books, it runs out of steam quickly and just repeats itself. Overall I found nothing new here - a basic bit of CBT about changing how we view ourselves and how we present to the world; accept yourself as you are and "to thine own self be true".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look at yourself. No, I mean really look at yourself., 29 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daring Greatly: How the Courage to Be Vulnerable Transforms the Way We Live, Love, Parent, and Lead (Paperback)
Reading Brené Brown is like talking to a fabulously wonderful grandmother (I know she's much younger than that) that has also researched the project with modern methods. She gets to the crux of shame and other stuff that we face daily and almost constantly. In fact all this happens at a rate that we have no time to analyze them. She does! And boy does it get to the bottom of several problems we face as human beings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars it gets seriously tedious and uninteresting after a while, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daring Greatly: How the Courage to Be Vulnerable Transforms the Way We Live, Love, Parent, and Lead (Paperback)
While the author does make some interesting points, it's hard to find them unders tons and tons of redundant and meaningless words and anecdotes.

I stopped reading half way, it gets seriously tedious and uninteresting after a while. Like many others have said, all the points in the book could have been summed in 50 pages or less.

Save yourself some money and time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must!, 26 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daring Greatly: How the Courage to Be Vulnerable Transforms the Way We Live, Love, Parent, and Lead (Paperback)
This book has the potential to change your life. An absolutely brilliant read and an absolutely must for the person who is seeking to understand patterns of behaviours and how they affect our every day lives. I have learned that stepping out and allowing myself to be vulnerable is indeed the key to happiness. Thank you Brene Brown!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brené Brown's Daring Greatly, 7 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I saw her TED-talks and simply had to buy her latest book.
She is candid, thorough and funny and this is a book I shall go back to many, many times.
A very courageous woman indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brene writes with such honesty and passion and this book is a life changer, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daring Greatly: How the Courage to Be Vulnerable Transforms the Way We Live, Love, Parent, and Lead (Paperback)
Brene taps into areas that we all need to understand in order to live our best lives.
This is such an honest book , and really will open up your understanding of how you think , how you live your life and how you are as a parent, mother, father, wife, ....... Read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews